We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but did not live up to others reviews...”
Review of Menlo Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Menlo Park Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I booked at Menlo park specifically after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. It's a nice place, but far from the best. The location is okay, but probably too far to walk to the center. The hotel was nice, and the room too, but the hotel is older, and could use some work.... The bathroom was a nightmare, first off, I wasn't impressed by the seperate H/C taps- it's inconvenient especially for anyone who wears contacts, or washes their face at night, but that is all very secondary to the offensive odor. There is a restaurant and bar on site, but there was a larger party in house, and apparently they were kind of controlling the place, too unruly in the evening to have dinner there, and then in the morning the "full breakfast," which I paid in advance for, left a lot to be desired since it was catered specifically to the group, and pretty much disappear once they left. Overall, it wasn't so bad that I wouldn't stay at Menlo Park again, but it definitely wouldn't be on the top of my list, or a place I'd really look forward to staying at in the future. Seems far to small to be considered a "conference center," and WiFi is spotty.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. it is true that we do have groups staying in the hotel and your feedback has been passed to the restaurant. We have just been awared the Failte Ireland award for service excellence for the second year in a row and part of this process is to use feedback in a pro active way to make sure any issues are dealt with effectively - in this context the restaurant manager has re-iterated with staff that individual travellers should be given particular attention should a group be inhouse.
In relation to the mention of an offensive odour I am afraid I have no idea what this may be - again we received an award in late 2009 for our accommodation standards and we pride ourselves on this. I wonder did you mention this at the time ?
I am glad that you mentioned that you would consider staying with us again and should you decide to do so, please let me re-assure you that I am confident you would enjoy your stay.
We can allocate you one of our newer rooms with mixer taps!
- have also checked out our WIFI boosters as a result of your feedback - thanks again.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,172 - 1,178 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2010

My boyfriend booked a surprise trip to Galway and brought me to the Menlo Park Hotel. From start to finish it was fantastic. From the moment we arrived with free parking right through to check-in, the rooms, the food, the staff, there was nothing I was unhappy with. Our room was lovely, very clean and beautifully decorated. We ate in the bar the first night and the restaurant the second, both the food and the service was second to none. While all aspects of this hotel more than met and exceeded expectation, it's biggest asset were the staff. They were outstanding and really made our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublinperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

Thank you ! - we hope that our staff will welcome you again soon!
You have identified one of our "tag lines" from our new brochure -
True value is to offer an really good product at a reasonable price and in truth that is what we
strive to do !

A sincere thanks again -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

I use this hotel on a regular basis for conference basis. I use the hotel mostly due to its central location. While they call themselves a conference centre I found the hotel to be lacking in this regard. The meeting rooms are located adjacent to the bar so there can be alot of disruption from other hotel users. No supply of flipchart or projector which is standard in any other hotel we use. However, the staff here are second to none! From front of house to porters they are all friendly and very efficient. If they could supply the basic conference needs this hotel would be excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, General Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

Thanks for your feedback. I want to assure you that we do have all of the services you might need for your conferences. We offer PA systems/microphones, staging, flipcharts, projectors, podium, TV & DVD.
We work with our clients to furnish them with whatever their needs may be and also work to their required budgets by agreement. In this way we can offer excellent facilities at reasonable prices.

Our "Service Promise" is
"Our friendly professional team are dedicated to providing excellent service"

and I am pleased that you have identified this as being so.

We will be delighted to discuss your needs for your conferences and address any issues which you feel need to be addressed. As you may be aware we have a variety of rooms available for various uses from 10 boardroom to 350 theatre style.
Please know that the door is always open here to discuss your specific needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Most excellent in every way, friendly yet efficient.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eagle48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

Thank you ! - You made our day when we received this and again today !
This response has been less than efficient - have just begun to work more with Tripadvisor and am gaining more insight into how it works and am now delighted to be able to respond to our guests. We look forward to extending a warm welcome to you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

I stayed here recently for a conference which was being held in NUIG. The location is not that central, so you need to be prepared to drive, or to walk about 15-20 mins from the city centre up a busy road. Nevertheless, once there it is comfortable, well-run and friendly. Breakfast is very good, and the bar and lounge are fine. The bedroom is perfectly warm, roomy and comfortable. My only bedroom quibbles would be (1) I could not draw the curtains - they could only be closed over or furled up. (2) The bedside ligt was dim and I did not see a bedside switch for the other lights. Apart from that, I was very happy.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richardbouvetisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, General Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

Thank you so much for your helpful feedback and for the positive comments.

We are just finalising our investment in our bedroom re-furbishment and putting up new wall to wall curtains! New lamps have already been put into many of the rooms.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Got a good deal on a double room for 2 nights. Also got upgraded to one of their new rooms which was lovely. Lots of nice luxury touches in the room. Unfortunately can't comment on the breakfast as we had to leave too early both mornings we stayed but we did have a lovely meal in the bar lounge o the last night. Located a wee bit out of town but well within taxi or walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ultrarunner73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, Guest Relations Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

Thanks for the review - yes we have 16 superior rooms and you can get good deals and upgrade at good prices still ! We have a free phone for taxis which is handy or a 10 min walk to town for the energetic !

We look forward to welcoming you back. Galway Arts festival is a good time to come
12th - 15th July !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

This was our third stay at the Menlo Park and it will not be our last, the location of the hotel is excellent just 15 mins easy walk to the city center, the staff are second to none, always helpful, and always ready to have a chat and share a joke no matter how busy they are, the rooms are very well appointed and spotless, the housekeeping staff do a fantastic job.The food is really good and reasonably priced and very well presented, if you visit the bar at the weekend there is live music and craic, A special thanks to Ailish she is a great asset to the hotel, looking forward to our next visit, thanks again to all at the Menlo for making our stay so enjoyable, Regards Gerry & Mary

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stewartgerry7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMGalway, General Manager at Menlo Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

Dear Gerry and Mary,

Ailish was delighted to get your message and she and the rest of us look forward to welcoming oyu back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.8 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
376 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,040 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#10 of 46 in Galway
526 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menlo Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menlo Park Hotel

Address: Terryland | Headford Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#4 Business Hotel in Galway
#5 Family Hotel in Galway
#7 Luxury Hotel in Galway
Price Range: £63 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Menlo Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent service and a friendly atmosphere are key to the success of this 4 star hotel. It offers 81 quality rooms with 20 superior rooms. Food and beverage facilities include bar/carvery and full restaurant with the best of local produce.Meeting facilities onsite - only 10 mins walk from Galway centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Menlo Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menlo Park Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing