We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, staff and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Kinlay House Galway is a minutes walk from Eyre Square in the centre of Galway. It is walking distance from anywhere you want to go in Galway and the staff were all friendly, helpful and polite. The rooms, showers (and linen!) are cleaner, more comfortable and spacious than the average hostel. The shared areas are also clean. There is a lobby with a lot of seating to relax in and a few computer terminals with free internet access (although they were occupied every time I tried to use them). The kitchen is also clean and has all the equipment you need for self-catering. The breakfast provided is cereal, toast, jam, juice and coffee and is included in the price. I would book in here again although I would book online and in advance to get even better value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzeejessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

Well located and a good base to expore Galway and surrounds.

Receptionist Neve was so welcoming and helpful.

Rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. Signage upon entering the corridor set hostel expectations that guests will act respectfully during sleeping hours.

Electronic keys make the set up very secure.

Social areas are well set up, with comfortable couches and a separate dining area. The stainless steel kitchen is clean.

There's free wifi and 5 computers for those that don't have a portable device.

A decent breakfast of cereal, toast and juice is provided and staff are on hand to clean up.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sipe2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I did a lot of research on the different hostels in Galway before I came here to stay overnight. By research I mean I actually came to Galway, went to the different hostels and checked them out. I decided on staying at the Kinlay Hostel about half a block south of the southwest corner of Eyre Square. It was a good choice. On a scale of 1-10 I would rate it a 9. I have had a pleasant stay here and when I come back to Galway again I will certainly stay here again. I can’t see wasting a bunch of money on an expensive hotel room when I can enjoy a comfortable and very convenient location when I stay here at the Kinlay Hostel. I booked for 2 days and really wouldn't mind staying 2 more but I have reservations in Doolin and Cork.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side a bit noisy if you leave the window open a bit for fresh air. Those on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sojourner1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed here with friends on a trip away. Hostel is centrally located just off Eyre Square. Upon arrival we were greeted with a smile by the reception staff. Hostel has everything you need including hangout area with free computers/wifi, games, musical instruments. There's also a giant dining area and a TV room upstairs. Bathrooms and bedrooms were spotless and rooms were cleaned every day.

All in all, perfect stay and will definitely return to this hostel! :) Top notch! :D

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamezGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

At first glance from the ground, this hostel didn't look like much. However, I was immediately greeted by a friendly and fun staff. Not only did they assist me with maps of Galway and the best spots to hit, but they remembered my name each day. With great music playing in the lobby, free access to Wifi, a kitchen, and musical instruments -- this isn't just a place to sleep. No, it is a place to make new friends and to enjoy living life as it was meant to be.

Room Tip: If you don't mind sleeping in a room with interesting strangers, then pick the 6-bed rooms. My r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

This was a wonderful hostel in Galway. The lift was undergoing maintenance when I visited, so taking your luggage up the four or so flights was a mission, but worth it in the end. The staff were beyond amazing, assisting you with anything from your advice to where to eat that evening. The decor is fun and eclectic and the staff provide musical instruments that rarely go unplayed!
Definitely will come back to stay next time I'm in Galway!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I was studying abroad in Ireland last fall and when I went to Galway, I was so thankful I chose to stay at the Kinlay House! The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the hostel was clean and secure. I wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else! It's location was excellent - right in the middle of the town.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
4.9 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 46 in Galway
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barnacles Hostel Galway
0.1 mi away
Galway City Hostel
Galway City Hostel
#7 of 60 in Galway
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlay Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay Hostel Galway

Address: Merchants Road | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Price Range: £19 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kinlay Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Eyre Square in the heart of Galway City, the multi award-winning Kinlay Hostel has now also been listed as 'Top Choice' by the Lonely Planet Guide 2017. With a mix of cosy private rooms and bright, spacious dormitories, we can cater for large groups as well as solo backpackers and all rates include complimentary continental breakfast as well as free high-speed WiFi, free computer usage, free luggage storage, free printing and free city maps. Guest facilities include a comfortable chill-out lounge with pool table & TV, a fully-equipped kitchen open all day for your use and a spacious dining room. At Kinlay Hostel, your happiness is our main priority and our dedicated reception team are on hand 24 hours a day with helpful hints and expert insider knowledge to ensure that you make the most of your time in Galway. Not only are the city’s best bars, shops and restaurants right on our doorstep but with daily tours to the Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and the Aran Islands leaving from outside our front door every morning, Kinlay Hostel is the ideal base from which to discover the magical charm of Galway City and the west coast of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Kinlay Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing