We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place rocks!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

A group of 7 of us stayed here over easter bank holiday and I have to say it was a brilliant experience.I have never stayed in a hostel before and was very surprised to say the least. The hostel is clean, bright, extremely well staffed and to have access to a fully kitted out kitchen was so much more than i expected... Im informed that there are other accomadation options rather than the dorm type rooms on other levels of the building ie. family rooms and twin/ doubles onsuite. So perfectly suited to couples who are looking for a short break on a budget Cant wait to come back very soon...
Might even make dinner for u again !!!!!! :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginanoname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
There are newer reviews for Kinlay Hostel Galway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

Great location in the heart of Galway City and close to Eyre Square. The bunk beds were hard to manage since my group was older. The heat did not come on in our room either of the nights we stayed there, although I was told that it would be fixed after the first night. The shower was so hot (not adjustable) we had to stand in the fringes of the water and splash ourselves to avoid being scalded. Reception at that time was several floors above street level. It appeared that a new reception area on the ground floor was under construction and that will be an improvement. The lobby area was always filled with a lively bunch of college age adults but the hall on our floor was relatively quiet. Only a block from where the bus to the Aran Island ferry departs.

Room Tip: Rooms with ensuite baths are available.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioTravelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Kinlay house has a perfect location, so close to all the shops and pubs. It is very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful with recommending day trips and doing bookings a day in advance. I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly_s_nz_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Excellent rooms, excellent security, excellent facilities, only one small problem.
We stayed for one night in the Easter break, there was a group of 67 teenagers rumnong around behaving like animals all night, I have no problem with people enjoying themselves but banging on doors and shouting and swearing at four in the morning can be a little annoying! I asked a member of staff to sort them out but he admitted he was powerless 'there are 67 of them, I can't be in more than one place at one time' Moral of the story, if you want a good night and a good nights sleep stay in a hotel!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawk1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank O, General Manager at Kinlay Hostel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am of course very disappointed that your stay was interrupted by this noisy group. My staff and I were all very upset that this incident happened as we always strive to be the best in the country.

I was aware that this group booked to stay with us, and as a precaution I rostered extra security night staff to monitor the corridors and ensure little or no noise from rooms. Unfortunately on this occasion the group were not respectful towards other guests, and noise could be heard in the early hours of the morning as you rightly mentioned.

As you said, our security staff are very good but the odd time even they can't get a group of that age to have manners. Please be advised that we do not tolerate behavior like this under any circumstances, and the group were asked to leave the hostel at 9:30 the next morning despite the fact that they were booked for a second night.

Your are very kind to comment so positively on our facilities and rooms. Yes - we have upgraded the entire hostel from top to bottom over the past few months and we are all very proud of the finished result.

Please contact me directly the next time you are in Galway and I would be delighted to see you back in Kinlay again as my guest, and I'm sure you will have a fantastic experience.

Kind regards,

Frank O'Connell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at! Excellent position: right in the central street of Galway city centre. Unbeatable value for money. Suitable for young people visiting the gorgeous city of Galway.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Nobody from the street is coming in to steal anything or be a nuisance, for sure. Travelers are required to show security passes and ring in after 11; very safe and secure. Shout out to Eva and Niamh for a warm welcome and friendly advice on the area; the staff will help you any way they can. Great location and good vibes all around.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p3rp3tua1m0t10n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My favourite thing about this hostel was the lovely receptionist, Niamh (or however you spell it, the cute blonde girl). She is LITERALLY the most friendly girl in the industry I have ever met, you need to hold onto that one!!!!!!! She helped us with everything and was just so pleasant!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashleeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 46 in Galway
901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#6 of 59 in Galway
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlay Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay Hostel Galway

Address: Merchants Road | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Price Range: £20 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kinlay Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Eyre Square in the heart of Galway City, the multi award-winning Kinlay Hostel has now also been listed as 'Top Choice' by the Lonely Planet Guide 2017. With a mix of cosy private rooms and bright, spacious dormitories, we can cater for large groups as well as solo backpackers and all rates include complimentary continental breakfast as well as free high-speed WiFi, free computer usage, free luggage storage, free printing and free city maps. Guest facilities include a comfortable chill-out lounge with pool table & TV, a fully-equipped kitchen open all day for your use and a spacious dining room. At Kinlay Hostel, your happiness is our main priority and our dedicated reception team are on hand 24 hours a day with helpful hints and expert insider knowledge to ensure that you make the most of your time in Galway. Not only are the city’s best bars, shops and restaurants right on our doorstep but with daily tours to the Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and the Aran Islands leaving from outside our front door every morning, Kinlay Hostel is the ideal base from which to discover the magical charm of Galway City and the west coast of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kinlay Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing