We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Outstanding hostel”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This place is a welcome change from your typical hostel. The rooms are a little small and the bathroom situation isn't ideal (the rooms have ensuites, but the shower didn't have curtains and water tended to end up everywhere), but otherwise it's a brilliant hostel. The lounge area is very spacious and very comfortable, the kitchen is huge and very clean, the breakfast is good (in addition to the usual bread and cereal, there are scones with jam and cream!), and the beds are comfortable and clean. The location's great and the hostel generally is well-maintained.
Definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen_Ni823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    130
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
35
60
124
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
298 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Nicest hostel I've stayed at so far.

Rooms were a bit cramped, but it was full of my own friends so it wasn't too bad. We liked the no partying policy past 11 pm in the rooms to cut down on noise.

Booked through hostelbookers with no issues for a cheaper rate.

Literally a 5 minute walk from downtown tourist Galway and 8 min from the train or bus station.

Would recommend this for any traveller of any age (even families).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have stayed in this hostel before, and last night I stayed there again,
in a private room this time... And the price was very good.....
I had a lot of space, there was a double bed and a bunkbed as well.
The location is great, right in the middle of Galway City, and right next to
the busstation, which is really handy.
The personnel there is very friendly and helpful, and there is free breakfast
in the morning.
I surely will stay there again, and I would really recommend this hostel to
everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinHennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a superb hostel, right in the centre of Galway. On arrival I was greeted at reception by Maria, who welcomed me like a long-lost friend, offered to carry my bike panniers up to reception and got a colleague to literally lift my touring bike up two flights of stairs to the bike store.
All of the staff are unfailingly polite and attentive. The dormitory was spotless and I was amazed to see a staff member cleaning tables in the dining area even at 10 at night.
The breakfasts are worthy of a first class hotel and when you go to wash your dishes at breakfast-time there are a couple of staff members there who insist on doing it for you.
The whole ambience of the hostel is such that people/guests really matter. For example, there are four computers for free internet use, musical instruments for guests to pick up and play and in the shower room there is attached to each shower head a body-wash/shampoo dispenser for guests' use.
On one of my three days there in September, feeling like a rest from cycling Ireland, I decided to do a day's bus tour to the Cliffs of Moher and the Burren. There were brochures for about three companies, but Frank on the hostel reception desk insisted I took the Galway Tours one. Was he right!! It was the best day tour imaginable thanks to the expert, hugely informative and totally cheerful driver/guide Gary (see separate Tripadvisor feedback).
I can't recommend Kinley House, Galway, strongly enough and travellers I subsequently met who had been lucky enough to stay there echoed my sentiments exactly!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Excellent facilities, great location, clean rooms and bathrooms. Only problem is that I found it not at all social. People in the dining/living rooms keep quietly to themselves and are reluctant to even acknowledge an invitation to check out a local bar. There's supposedly a pub crawl every evening at 8pm. Waited at the meeting point from 7.45 to 8.30, no pub crawl.

I guess it was great because it made me do my work instead of going out drinking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarrah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Group of 4 girls stayed here and had an amazing time, the hostel is in a perfect location 5 minute walk to shops bars and restaurants 3 minute walk from the bus station. It is more like a hotel than a hostel with a big common room and kitchen area the staff are very helpful and friendly. Everywhere is clean and much cheaper than staying in a hotel, would highly recommend this hostel and will definitely be staying here again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jas1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I only stay in Kinlay Hostel when I visit Galway. Customer service & satisfaction is their first consideration. A five star review is not enough. Kinlay Hostel Galway deserves 6 stars out of 5!

It is spotless, friendly, and convenient. They make the little things happen, like free wifi with a strong connection. Don't bother with a hotel, Kinlay Hostel Galway is way better.

In the heart of the city it is beside Eyre Square Park, and close to all buses and trains.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 243Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 50 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlay Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay Hostel Galway

Property: Kinlay Hostel Galway
Address: Merchants Road | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kinlay Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Eyre Square in the heart of Galway City, the multi award-winning Kinlay Hostel has now also been listed as 'Top Choice' by the Lonely Planet Guide 2017. With a mix of cosy private rooms and bright, spacious dormitories, we can cater for large groups as well as solo backpackers and all rates include complimentary continental breakfast as well as free high-speed WiFi, free computer usage, free luggage storage, free printing and free city maps. Guest facilities include a comfortable chill-out lounge with pool table & TV, a fully-equipped kitchen open all day for your use and a spacious dining room. At Kinlay Hostel, your happiness is our main priority and our dedicated reception team are on hand 24 hours a day with helpful hints and expert insider knowledge to ensure that you make the most of your time in Galway. Not only are the city’s best bars, shops and restaurants right on our doorstep but with daily tours to the Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and the Aran Islands leaving from outside our front door every morning, Kinlay Hostel is the ideal base from which to discover the magical charm of Galway City and the west coast of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Kinlay Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing