We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinlay Hostel Galway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Rented a two person room with a friend. The room was great - very clean. We stayed only one night but it worked out fine. The location was fantastic, as it was a short walk from "downtown". All together, good value and I would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gstrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    127
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
34
59
121
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here with a group this past weekend. The place is phenomenal. I was in a 6 bed dorm that had its own bathroom and sink. Beds were typical hostel beds, but extremely comfortable. Never once did I feel unsafe or unclean. Everything was spotless. The security at night also made me feel very safe. Great selection for breakfast too! For a hostel this place has everything you would expect from a four star hotel, for a fraction of the price. Close to everything in the city, including the bus stop for the Aran Islands Ferry connection. Highly recommended. Will definitely be visiting again very soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcg2893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Sited very close the town centre and bus station, what I could say about this hostel... everything perfect!
A nice place to stay, well designed forniture, clean room (I was in an ensuite dorm room at weekend and both days the room has been cleaned) and big lockers under the bed, with a good breakfast, a nice kitchen, and helpful people at the reception! Free PC for internet access, free locked luggage storage. Also the shared bathroom was well cleaned each day.
I'll know where to stay, If I'm in Galway again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Intripgato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This place is a welcome change from your typical hostel. The rooms are a little small and the bathroom situation isn't ideal (the rooms have ensuites, but the shower didn't have curtains and water tended to end up everywhere), but otherwise it's a brilliant hostel. The lounge area is very spacious and very comfortable, the kitchen is huge and very clean, the breakfast is good (in addition to the usual bread and cereal, there are scones with jam and cream!), and the beds are comfortable and clean. The location's great and the hostel generally is well-maintained.
Definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen_Ni823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingle, Ireland
Level Contributor
268 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Nicest hostel I've stayed at so far.

Rooms were a bit cramped, but it was full of my own friends so it wasn't too bad. We liked the no partying policy past 11 pm in the rooms to cut down on noise.

Booked through hostelbookers with no issues for a cheaper rate.

Literally a 5 minute walk from downtown tourist Galway and 8 min from the train or bus station.

Would recommend this for any traveller of any age (even families).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have stayed in this hostel before, and last night I stayed there again,
in a private room this time... And the price was very good.....
I had a lot of space, there was a double bed and a bunkbed as well.
The location is great, right in the middle of Galway City, and right next to
the busstation, which is really handy.
The personnel there is very friendly and helpful, and there is free breakfast
in the morning.
I surely will stay there again, and I would really recommend this hostel to
everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinHennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a superb hostel, right in the centre of Galway. On arrival I was greeted at reception by Maria, who welcomed me like a long-lost friend, offered to carry my bike panniers up to reception and got a colleague to literally lift my touring bike up two flights of stairs to the bike store.
All of the staff are unfailingly polite and attentive. The dormitory was spotless and I was amazed to see a staff member cleaning tables in the dining area even at 10 at night.
The breakfasts are worthy of a first class hotel and when you go to wash your dishes at breakfast-time there are a couple of staff members there who insist on doing it for you.
The whole ambience of the hostel is such that people/guests really matter. For example, there are four computers for free internet use, musical instruments for guests to pick up and play and in the shower room there is attached to each shower head a body-wash/shampoo dispenser for guests' use.
On one of my three days there in September, feeling like a rest from cycling Ireland, I decided to do a day's bus tour to the Cliffs of Moher and the Burren. There were brochures for about three companies, but Frank on the hostel reception desk insisted I took the Galway Tours one. Was he right!! It was the best day tour imaginable thanks to the expert, hugely informative and totally cheerful driver/guide Gary (see separate Tripadvisor feedback).
I can't recommend Kinley House, Galway, strongly enough and travellers I subsequently met who had been lucky enough to stay there echoed my sentiments exactly!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 51 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlay Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay Hostel Galway

Property: Kinlay Hostel Galway
Address: Merchants Road | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kinlay Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Eyre Square in the heart of Galway City, the multi award-winning Kinlay Hostel has now also been listed as 'Top Choice' by the Lonely Planet Guide 2017. With a mix of cosy private rooms and bright, spacious dormitories, we can cater for large groups as well as solo backpackers and all rates include complimentary continental breakfast as well as free high-speed WiFi, free computer usage, free luggage storage, free printing and free city maps. Guest facilities include a comfortable chill-out lounge with pool table & TV, a fully-equipped kitchen open all day for your use and a spacious dining room. At Kinlay Hostel, your happiness is our main priority and our dedicated reception team are on hand 24 hours a day with helpful hints and expert insider knowledge to ensure that you make the most of your time in Galway. Not only are the city’s best bars, shops and restaurants right on our doorstep but with daily tours to the Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and the Aran Islands leaving from outside our front door every morning, Kinlay Hostel is the ideal base from which to discover the magical charm of Galway City and the west coast of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kinlay Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing