We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinlay Hostel Galway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Lorient, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hi I just come back from my Irish Trip. And during my Holidays there, I lost my iPhone in this Hostel. I contacted them directly, they keep it preciously and send it to me quickly.
Thank you Kinlay staff, You 're my best sleep remember in Irland.

Hope to see you soon
Pierre Henri DUFAY
FRANCE

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHD273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    127
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
34
59
121
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

For 88 euro we had a comfortable room for four in the middle of Galway. The staff was friendly and helpful, there was easonable and quick laundry service, luggage storage, people from all walks of life, and a great location. Wifi in the room was spotty, and the decor feels dated but if you are considering a hostel then those things are probably secondary to value, comfort, safety, and location. There are many reasons Kinlay is frequently cited as a the best hostel in Ireland.

Room Tip: It's a hostel. All the rooms are pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hostel is really good! Got to Galway and had no reservations booked beforehand but the staff was really friendly and promptly solved the problem!
The accommodations are comfortable, silent, cleam and spacious enough, which is perfect after a day walking around. The hightest point for me was the breakfast though. Just amazing, it's worth every penny invested: The variety of food is great, they even offer scones, wich was new for me (at least in a hostel). Very hotel standard!
.
The location is also very handy, just behind the train station and near from all the popular spots of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Facility was nice (fast wi-fi, free printing, nice breakfast). The staff was helpful. However, allowing drunk idiots running amok yelling in the hallway at 2-5 AM (!) or hosting a drinking party that resulted in people urinating in the shower stall or puking in the toilet without flushing made the stay unpleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank San_J0aquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank O, General Manager at Kinlay Hostel Galway, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so upset to hear that this was your experience while staying with us. As you can see from the 5 star reviews we usually get, what you experienced is certainly not the norm. Unfortunately on this occasion there were a couple of guests who were not very considerate of others. Please be advised that we do not tolerate behaviour like this, and these individuals were dealt with accordingly.
I would like to invite you back to stay with us again and I guarantee that you'll have a very different experience. Next time, you will experience what we have become famous for - A welcoming homely atmosphere, great service & top class facilities

Kind regards,

Frank O'Connell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here for five days with some friends while touring the UK. I've slept in hostels all over Europe and this is one of the best I've ever been in. Excellent free continental breakfast, beds and service were great. Secure and clean, nice rooms, a well-stocked common area with lots of instruments and comfy couches. The staff are knowledgeable and friendly. The showers are at a good temperature - it's little details that start to matter after long enough on the road!

I left some money in the hostel accidentally and the owner went FAR out of his way to get it back to me. I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Having only stayed in a handful of hostels while traveling, this one was definitely one of the best. We had started initially with only 1 night, but working with the staff, we stayed 3 nights. An extended family of 6, we shared a private dorm room, and it worked fairly well. The bunk beds were quite comfortable, and we had a large window which overlooked nice apartments, and it was generally quiet. Bathrooms were always clean, and showers were great. Breakfast was better than most hostels-kitchen was easy to use, and the free computers were nice to have. A nice social living area was provided, and the staff was always super helpful...even helping us dry some clothes at no cost. Good location, easy to walk everywhere, and take tours. Nice pubs for dining and listening to music with the locals were close. Good coffee bar on the street level.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fuller0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This hostel was amazing from the moment we walked in. Initially we only booked one night and extended our stay to three nights. Extremely comfortable environment, run incredibly well and extremely clean. Having the lockers under the bed was so convenient.

This hostel felt like a hotel. Would stay here again and recommend it over any other hostel in Galway.

Staff were so helpful when we wanted to extend our stay by a night which happened twice. So helpful by giving us advice on travelling and helping answers questions we had.

I wish hostels were like this and run like this everywhere! I definitely wouldn't look twice at any other hostel in Galway

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlay Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay Hostel Galway

Property: Kinlay Hostel Galway
Address: Merchants Road | Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kinlay Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the corner of Eyre Square in the heart of Galway City, the multi award-winning Kinlay Hostel has now also been listed as 'Top Choice' by the Lonely Planet Guide 2017. With a mix of cosy private rooms and bright, spacious dormitories, we can cater for large groups as well as solo backpackers and all rates include complimentary continental breakfast as well as free high-speed WiFi, free computer usage, free luggage storage, free printing and free city maps. Guest facilities include a comfortable chill-out lounge with pool table & TV, a fully-equipped kitchen open all day for your use and a spacious dining room. At Kinlay Hostel, your happiness is our main priority and our dedicated reception team are on hand 24 hours a day with helpful hints and expert insider knowledge to ensure that you make the most of your time in Galway. Not only are the city’s best bars, shops and restaurants right on our doorstep but with daily tours to the Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and the Aran Islands leaving from outside our front door every morning, Kinlay Hostel is the ideal base from which to discover the magical charm of Galway City and the west coast of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Kinlay Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing