We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not going back, too low maintenance.”
Review of Salmon Weir Hostel

Salmon Weir Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salmon Weir Hostel
Ranked #39 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Not going back, too low maintenance.”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

The room reaked of mold, nothing seemed really clean. The wall to wall carpets are gross. When we requested another cover for the bed we were offered one that had been on the common room floor. Eww. It's fairly central and the employees are sweet, but that's about it. Noisy at weekend nights.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    21
    23
    14
    19
See reviews for
4
19
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Excellent hostel, good location, very welcoming and helpful staff, warm and homy. Cheap and nice for a good stay in Galway! common areas are very homy and the atmosphere is great. Rooms are small but clean and people are respectful of other's sleep. Overall very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed here with 2 friends for 2 nights. When we first got there, they had got our booking wrong. We booked a 4 bed room, and instead were put in a 6 bed room. Absolutely tiny room with 3 bunk beds, which we were sharing with extremely rude people who did not speak a word of English. After asking about the booking we were refunded 20 euro, but had to stay in that room - we purposely stayed out late to avoid the awkwardness of the room. The second night we were put in the room we booked, which was better. However, there is a 3am curfew, and no door keys, so you have to ring a doorbell every time you wish to go into the hostel which was very annoying. The only positive thing was the location - very close to town. Also the staff were very awkward people.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 831Chicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galway hotels

Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We arrive (girlfriend and I) all excited about our weekend trip away to Galway, so we decide beforehand to go all out and get a private room just for two people. We arrive to a excuse for a roof over your head! not to mention none of the locals could tell me where the place was in the first place! Terrible place so my advice to all holidaymakers is that there are plenty of other places to stay and PLEASE do not waste your money here! After a long argument with staff we got our money back and went elsewhere

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeJoe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I stayed there two nights with a friend. The room was tiny, there was three bunk beds but I don't think 6 people would have been able to stand in the room at the same time, especially if they had any suitcase... The matresses were very bad, you could feel all the bumps in your back, and the beds were noisy. The shower wasn't great, it was changing temperature all the time. The hostel in general wasn't very clean. The staff was quite nice but I can't say it was great service: On our second day the girl, who had checked us in less than 24 hours before, said we had only booked for one night. We said no, two nights and that we both paid for two nights when we arrived. So I asked her a few times if she was looking at the right booking on the computer, she ignored me and called her manager, who didn't really get what was going on... after 2 minutes they realised they were looking at someone else's booking! I think it is way to expensive for what it is, and there is no breakfast! I paid less for better before.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonyme87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We last minute booked a night at the Salmon Weir after our previous booking was cancelled due to renovations. Sally was incredible friendly and helpful during during our stay. Location was great for the reasonable price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIAMI, FL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Very nice staff and facilities, cramped dorm, i slept well though.
No breakfast included, wchich sucks,
Location is very central,close to bars and restorants
Very nice atmosphere, there are guitars and people get together during the evenings in comon areas o chat and drink,, if you are lucky , jam sessions.
The only thing i really hated it, it was the curfew at 3:00 am,
apart of that, it´s a good place to stay

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BACKPACKERYOHOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 45 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodquay Hostel
Woodquay Hostel
#32 of 50 in Galway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Lough Inn
#153 of 186 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 50 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleepzone Hostel Galway
0.3 mi away
Barnacles Hostel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salmon Weir Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salmon Weir Hostel

Property: Salmon Weir Hostel
Address: Saint Vincents Avenue | Woodquay, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Salmon Weir Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing