We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like abandoned”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Like abandoned”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Very good location, in the center of the town. However, it was like a storyline from the 60s, with crumbliness furniture, humid atmosphere and rust on metal objects. Βreakfast was a joke, "clean my room" almost meant "straighten thoroughly dirty linen", and, one day, we found our room unlocked, after the visit of the cleaning lady. The staff was divised to very polite and rather rude people. What we have to say to the manager is that, doing a renovation and properly educating the emploees of all posts, so that they know how to do their job, will save you more money than it will cost you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    199
    142
    72
    56
See reviews for
67
229
37
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The location of the hotel and breakfast was perfect. Liked the coffee/tea facilities in the room. And the lack of working ventilation in bathroom didn't ruin overall experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamwebicycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times, lovely hotel, great location and fairly priced. Wouldnt stay anywhere else in Galway when I visit

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Right up the street from Eyre Square. Very helpful staff. They didn't mind a large group or lots of noise, which was great as we provided both. Big rooms, cheap. Didn't make the breakfast but I heard it was good too.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Be warned: Noisy hotel, due to stag/hen nights and integrated night club. Their booking process involves an email to this effect, to deter attempts at refunds etc. Booked three months in advance, and found I'd been allocated a smoking room. Enquired about this, and was told non-smoking rooms require a remark in the "Special Requirements" field when booking. Dingy overall look, jaded furnishings, smell of cigarette smoke throughout halls, etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randomdiversion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galway hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

If you want a simple hotel but with a convenient City centre location, this is pretty much it. If your stay is short, you plan to be out most of the time and you want to be next to the City centre and the docks too, then this maybe it. It's a great location if you are walking from the station too! No bells and whistles .. no posh decor .. in fact it could do with a refresh, though very functional.

Rooms are very big .. too big maybe, especially if you want to watch a 15" TV across the other side of the room.

No parking on site, but you can double park to load/unload the car. A multi-storey 400m away provides your cars overnight restng place.

Breakfast service is fast and the menu brief. Coffee is good. The bar is a bit dingy and the menu typical pub grub .. but not bad. Service again in here is very good and child aware!

The only oddity for us was that the room service charge (@ €5 per head), needs to be paid in cash on delivery to the room!!! Bizarre!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Nice hotel could do with some minor repairs. Our handle was loose and still hadn't been repaired when we checked out. I stayed for two nights very close to plenty of shops and pubs depending why you are there. Staff very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janjomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#28 of 45 in Galway
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 45 in Galway
608 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#29 of 45 in Galway
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#27 of 45 in Galway
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
860 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: Victoria Hotel Victoria Place | off Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing