We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but reception area outdated”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 19 December 2013

stayed for one night, very central to Eyre Square, double room was lovely, returned to the hotel after our night out and descided to have a drink in the bar, had to wait for 15 minutes, a lot of people waiting for drinks, some left disgusted. Barman finally arrived.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarePersonSpeedy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here for one night, location absolutely in the heart of this great city. Galway to me is the best city to visit in Ireland. Along with Westport, in Mayo these two places are a must see for all even us Paddy's.
Hotel is a later outdated but it makes up for service and the size of the room. The staff are wonderful and have that west of Ireland charm that's even endearing to a Dubliner like myself.
The people in this city are wonderful and so warm and hospitable. Visit the 'City of the Tribes' and you will not be disappointed. The countryside Connemara is a must visit place for all with its ruggedness and beauty, a place for all types be it walkers, drivers, photographers etc.
Big thumbs all round to all and if you like my review please click on the like button below. Anybody would like more info please get in touch

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank ShaneDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

arrived on Sunday afternoon to be greeted by very nice receptionist,stayed on 4th floor,very clean room with all the usual facilities,went to the xmas market and did some shopping,had an early dinner and returned to the hotel,all going very nicely!! decided not to go back into town but to have a quiet night and have a drink in the hotel bar,went downstairs to be barked at by the receptionist now on duty that the barman cant get into work until 9 o clock so the bar wont open until he decides to come to work!!! whos running this hotel,such a shame that a good first impression can be so easily destroyed by 2 members of staff who dont know the 1st thing about customer service!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here at the weekend, it was a last minute booking and delighted with the location for a saturday night so paid a high price for a double room. I didnt have high hopes after reading reviews here but I have to say it was ideal, smoking room was clean, fresh and spacious, lovely bathroom. Staff were really nice and we even popped into the residents bar quite late and had great craic with other guests and the barman. I would definately stay here again and recommend it to friends and others, there is an old world charm to this hotel but also everything you might need for a great break away in the centre of the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Don,t know what people are looking on the downside for, We had 2 brilliant twin rooms at the Victoria Hotel ,stayed Monday 4th Nov, nothing wrong with our rooms, clean, bright, lots hot water, soft towels and the breakfast was lovely and hot. The Receptionist ,was informative and polite, we had a great stay, would book there again anytime

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanbcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here for one night and to be honest it was one night too many. The hotel is old, worn, tired and very very dated. The positives were that the room was large and the bathroom and bed linen was clean, the restaurant was brighter than the rest of the hotel and the breakfast was very nice indeed. The bar was dark and smelt musty, the reception was also dark and the carpet all over the hotel was full of stains. The hair dryer in our room fell into two separate parts on the floor when I took it off the hook, the tv reception was bad I could go on but I think you get the picture!!!! It was also in my opinion over priced at €99 for the both of us, and it certainly isn't a three star more like a one in my opinion.

Room Tip: Great location if you can cope with the rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheefra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We arrived to find an inattentive receptionist. On the way to our room we noticed broken wall lights in the corridors, cracked corridor windows, and bare wires hanging from the ceiling.

Once in the room the quality did not improve. There were, broken wall sockets, damp on the wall, and a strong draft coming through the window.

I wouldn't pay to stay here.

Thankfully the staff did allow us to leave without loss of deposit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#31 of 46 in Galway
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forster Court Hotel
Forster Court Hotel
#24 of 46 in Galway
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#18 of 46 in Galway
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#30 of 46 in Galway
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#6 of 46 in Galway
2,076 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#28 of 46 in Galway
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: Victoria Hotel Victoria Place | off Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: £58 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing