We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Great location as it's near all of the pubs and shops. Good value, comfy bed, nice staff and good selection for the breakfast buffet. The front desk will stamp your parking ticket for the parking garage down the street for €2 off. I would stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chase C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
There are newer reviews for Victoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 577 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 24 February 2014

stayed here in oct last, good value and very central...................... will be back sometime this year.......... lovely bar with good staff .........just around the corner from the train station.......

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My partner and I were gifted an overnight stay in this hotel as a Christmas present from his mother. We were both very excited about our first overnight away from our almost two year old son as she was babysitting as well! We arrived on a bright and sunny afternoon and stepped into what can only be described as the dingiest and most unimpressive hotel I personally have ever been in. We did check in and go up to our room, where, although the bathroom was clean, the wall paper on the walls was ripped and peeling in places, the window was painted shut, the floor/carpet was stained, the light fixtures and lamps shades were falling off/apart the material on the chairs was filthy and ripped, all of the furniture was I serious need of replacement...I could go on but you get the idea. I don't usually writes reviews or tend to complain. I'm in hospitality as a profession and I can assure you, other than the very nice girl at the front desk, there was nothing hospitable about this hotel. We promptly made a booking elsewhere and they did refund us no questions asked, which in itself speaks volumes. I highly recommend the owners review their hotel accommodations and begin to upgrade, otherwise I can only imagine the reviews will not improve if they do not!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Alexandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Totally Disgusting experience. The bed sheets were soiled (Human feces) On telling the night manager, he did change the sheets. However the following morning when we reported the incident to the receptionist, she had nothing to say on the matter and hardly offered an apology.
On top of this we had to wait for more than an half an hour to be served our breakfast and once again the complaints fell on deaf ears. Overall a horrific experience, not in any way appeased the the way in which our complaints were dealt with. To add insult to injury on returning home I send an email of complaint to the hotel which was never acknowledged . I found the entire experience very distasteful and stressful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nennytina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

No complaints at all with this hotel. For the location the price was excellent. The room was very basic, however it was comfortable, big in size, tv worked and shower was good. Room was clean.

Right beside the eyre square shopping centre, 2 mins walk from shop street, 5 mins from quay street.

Perfect for what we're looking for.

Staff here were excellent, easy check in / out and very friendly & professional

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DaveL312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Visible dirt on bed linen,rust/limescale on shower head,mould on windows and ceiling.smell of mould in rooms and no heating at night.tiny rooms.staff not friendly.only benefit is location.very disappointed with price/value for money.will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank j_m2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

stayed for one night, very central to Eyre Square, double room was lovely, returned to the hotel after our night out and descided to have a drink in the bar, had to wait for 15 minutes, a lot of people waiting for drinks, some left disgusted. Barman finally arrived.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarePersonSpeedy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#30 of 46 in Galway
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 46 in Galway
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#29 of 46 in Galway
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#32 of 46 in Galway
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: Victoria Hotel Victoria Place | off Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: £60 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing