We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay there”
Review of Adare Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adare Guesthouse
Ranked #40 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay there”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Unless you want to pay for the Adare Manor, you should stay with these two lovely folks. They're wonderful people who run a charming, very updated, quiet, cute B&B. Just stay with them, you can't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    53
    12
    15
    7
See reviews for
39
70
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Adare Guesthouse is a beautiful house and garden in a excellent location, and with its delicious breakfast it had the potential to be our best B&B experience in Ireland.

Unfortunately, it was ruined by very rude owners, who instead of apologizing for an inconvenience, responded sharply to our concerns that it was "just not possible". The extremely rude reaction of both members of the owning couple left a very sour taste in the mouths of our entire party, and was by far our worst B&B experience during our two weeks in Ireland (indeed, our only bad experience).

Our issue was with our showers in the morning - 2 of 3 showers in 2 separate rooms turned freezing cold after only a few minutes. As all showers started hot, clearly this was not user error. We mentioned the problem to the owners when leaving, so that no other visitors would have the same problem (we were finished getting ready, so were not looking for them to fix anything on the spot). The severe response we encountered was shocking. Loudly insisting that "that's not possible" and that we must have done something wrong, the lady huffed down to the water heater and reported back that there was no issue, and kept insisting so at the top of her voice until we left the B&B. As we only mentioned the issue to help the next guests, as well as help the owners avoid potential negative reviews such as this one, all we wanted was a "thank you for letting us know, we'll look into it" or a mild apology. Honestly, this was the worst customer service I have experienced in years of traveling around the world.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerCL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Lovely place to stay . We were greeted by a nice lady the room was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent would stay here again. Great location for the town. We were only in Galway for one night lovely place

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

After arriving a little earlier than check in about 1pm,i think check in is at 2pm on wards so we decided to park up and go for a coffee the hostess pointed us in the right direction getting in to the heart of what Galway has to offer ,Just a short 3 minute walk across the park took us to Galway town.We couldnt believe just how close we were to all the pubs bars and restaurants this area has to offer..the guest house is a little hard to find so make sure you have your sat navigation on! its in a cul de sac residential area of town and very quite..
Room was spacious and spotlessly clean.The only issue i would have is that the shower didnt have very much pressure but not a major issue.The bed was comfy and we slept very well.
The breakfast here is very good and the choices are excellent.We choose from a menu of around 9/10 choices the full Irish, bacon, egg ,sausages black and white pudding, hash brown tomato, toast and freshly made brown bread and fresh coffee ,of course you could have all the healthy choices of fresh fruit cereals and muesli etc but after a night in Galway we needed the "soakage" option..lol!!
All in all to sum up the Adare guest house clean friendly house and as my title states location location location and for sure when we visit the great city of Galway again soon we will surely be staying at this establishment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzieyoung1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I visited Adare in July of 2012 for 3 nights. The B&B has a excellent location, just a short walk from Galway town. It is next to a park and on a cul-de-sac, so it stays fairly quiet. The room I stayed in was tidy and comfortable, but it was under the stairs. Depending upon the consideration level of your fellow guests, this could be an issue. Breakfast was plentiful and very good. A nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12thNight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Very clean place, very lovely owner - it is a bit pricey, but the breakfast is truly delicious, you have parking, free wifi, and there is a sense of being in a hotel more than in someone's house. Very good central location - I would definitely highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latte0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbellaw, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This B&B is very near to Galway town centre, but in a quiet residential cul-de-sac with it's own parking spots. There are fine sitting and breakfast rooms.

Our room was large, as was the ensuite. The room was clean at first sight, but noboby had cleaned underneath the bed in a very long time. The ensuite, like the furnishings, was quite worn and dated, and had no extractor fan.

Breakfast was average for an Irish B&B.

All the above flaws could be overlooked were it not so expensive at 55 euros per head.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 57Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Inishmore House
Inishmore House
#29 of 188 in Galway
161 reviews
1.0 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 188 in Galway
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 188 in Galway
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#16 of 188 in Galway
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ash Grove House
Ash Grove House
#26 of 188 in Galway
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
The House Hotel
The House Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adare Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adare Guesthouse

Property: Adare Guesthouse
Address: Adare Guest House 9 Father Griffin Place, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Adare Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adare Guesthouse Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing