We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Friendly and ideally located.”
Review of Adare Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adare Guesthouse
Ranked #37 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Perfect location in Galway. Hosts couldn't be friendlier. Value for Money is excellent. Home cooked breakfast was excellent with a host of tasty options. Lovely clean and spacious ensuite room. Only place to stay when visiting Galway.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Perfectly located close to all the Galway action - although this meant it was noisy on a Friday night. Breakfast was terrific - freshly cooked to order & extensive. The family was very friendly and helpful with suggestions. Nice touch of complimentary btled water and chocolate on arrival for each guest. But it is quite big and busy and a little run down, so the actual accommodation is "basic". I found the bed and pillows uncomfortable & water pressure low. Price was quite reasonable, so I wouldn't complain too much. U get what u pay for!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I booked our rooms at the adare guesthouse because of the reviews on trip advisor. I am glad I did. The rooms were neat and clean, the breakfasts were made to order and the staff was very accommodating. We were within walking distance to the city center and the docks. Galway is a very busy place for many of the late night hours. The adare is close enough for convenience but far enough away to have a quiet nights sleep. My teenagers only complaint was that there was not enough hot water for their showers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Unless you want to pay for the Adare Manor, you should stay with these two lovely folks. They're wonderful people who run a charming, very updated, quiet, cute B&B. Just stay with them, you can't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Adare Guesthouse is a beautiful house and garden in a excellent location, and with its delicious breakfast it had the potential to be our best B&B experience in Ireland.

Unfortunately, it was ruined by very rude owners, who instead of apologizing for an inconvenience, responded sharply to our concerns that it was "just not possible". The extremely rude reaction of both members of the owning couple left a very sour taste in the mouths of our entire party, and was by far our worst B&B experience during our two weeks in Ireland (indeed, our only bad experience).

Our issue was with our showers in the morning - 2 of 3 showers in 2 separate rooms turned freezing cold after only a few minutes. As all showers started hot, clearly this was not user error. We mentioned the problem to the owners when leaving, so that no other visitors would have the same problem (we were finished getting ready, so were not looking for them to fix anything on the spot). The severe response we encountered was shocking. Loudly insisting that "that's not possible" and that we must have done something wrong, the lady huffed down to the water heater and reported back that there was no issue, and kept insisting so at the top of her voice until we left the B&B. As we only mentioned the issue to help the next guests, as well as help the owners avoid potential negative reviews such as this one, all we wanted was a "thank you for letting us know, we'll look into it" or a mild apology. Honestly, this was the worst customer service I have experienced in years of traveling around the world.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerCL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Lovely place to stay . We were greeted by a nice lady the room was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent would stay here again. Great location for the town. We were only in Galway for one night lovely place

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

After arriving a little earlier than check in about 1pm,i think check in is at 2pm on wards so we decided to park up and go for a coffee the hostess pointed us in the right direction getting in to the heart of what Galway has to offer ,Just a short 3 minute walk across the park took us to Galway town.We couldnt believe just how close we were to all the pubs bars and restaurants this area has to offer..the guest house is a little hard to find so make sure you have your sat navigation on! its in a cul de sac residential area of town and very quite..
Room was spacious and spotlessly clean.The only issue i would have is that the shower didnt have very much pressure but not a major issue.The bed was comfy and we slept very well.
The breakfast here is very good and the choices are excellent.We choose from a menu of around 9/10 choices the full Irish, bacon, egg ,sausages black and white pudding, hash brown tomato, toast and freshly made brown bread and fresh coffee ,of course you could have all the healthy choices of fresh fruit cereals and muesli etc but after a night in Galway we needed the "soakage" option..lol!!
All in all to sum up the Adare guest house clean friendly house and as my title states location location location and for sure when we visit the great city of Galway again soon we will surely be staying at this establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suzieyoung1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Corrib House Guest Accommodation
1 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 189 in Galway
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Abacus Guest House
Abacus Guest House
#31 of 189 in Galway
212 reviews
2.3 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#11 of 189 in Galway
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inishmore House
Inishmore House
#26 of 189 in Galway
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adare Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adare Guesthouse

Address: Adare Guest House 9 Father Griffin Place, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: £86 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Adare Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adare Guesthouse Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing