We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!”
Review of Eyre Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eyre Square Hotel
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Tullamore, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Visited Eyre Square Hotel off the street one Monday night. The bar was not packed but the welcome ensured we stayed longer than antisipated. Daniel the bar man was engaging with every customer and when he heard we were golfers he supplied us with local knowledge of all the golf spots. At one stage he even left and returned with helpful information for our holiday. Excellent bar man who knows how to look after his customers. I will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    188
    165
    76
    88
See reviews for
91
240
38
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I was in Galway recently for a night out. We stayed in this hotel. It was great value and in a great location. Considering the price we paid, the hotel was lovely, great service, delicious breakfast and best of all great location.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayHugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here March 2014 as part of a stag weekend, location couldn't be better, girls on reception and breakfast wait staff were delightful to deal with but unfortunately the night porters definately needs to learn some serious manners and public relations skills....with them charging €140 for a twin room on a sat night you really need to get a better all round product.....Beds are no more than 2 star standard, tv in room was an 1980's style portable, interior decor again was only of 2 star standard, for the priced being paid they could at least provide a better quality tv and bottles of mineral water at the very least or maybe even offer free parking.......residents bar was a total disaster, on the fri night we were told that they would serve til 3.30 but @ 3 the night porter decided that was it and he wasn't gonna serve anymore, and on the sat night again we were told that would go to 3.30 but upon our return to the hotel @ 2.30 we were told that they" didnt want to" serve anymore and that we couldn't even get a drink to take to our room, at the same time the other night porter was being quite rude and aggressive towards other patrons in the hotel lobby!!
Have stayed in other hotels on same street and found them to be far superior in terms of value for money!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here on a sat night, the forster court which is less than 50metres away is a far supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerBriBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galway hotels

Omemee, Canada
Level Contributor
314 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We read the reviews and my husband and I were very nervous about staying at the Eyre Square Hotel. We found it just fine. Our room was very larger... the biggest one we had in Ireland. The room was clean (I think they use very strong cleaners), maybe a little outdated, but we are travelling to enjoy the country, not our accommodations. It is right downtown. The hotel is a short walk to all of the history and pubs of Galway. The staff were very accommodating, getting us a room well before check-in time. We took the early ferry back from Inis Mor and they provided us a room before 11am. This was very helpful as we dropped our bags off and went to explore the city. We had a great time in Galway.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I booked this hotel due to its fantastic location but was sorely disappointed. Must have been my worst hotel experience in Ireland. Bed was uncomfortable, mattress was literally in tatters, bed linens were clean but torn and the service was appalling. The first night drunk guests were banging on all other guests' doors well past three in the morning and were being quite aggressive. Hotel staff did nothing to remedy the situation, despite myself and neighbouring rooms calling down to complain. I was offered a different room the next day, which considering the fact I was leaving that day was odd to say the least. Service at breakfast was slow and not very friendly, coffee was quite really not good at all. Considering the price this hotel charges I was not prepared for such a bad experience.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay at this place, which I would heartily recommend you do not, you hear street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 070OKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisville, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Nice enough hotel. Great location, not far from train station, which is the way we travelled from Dublin to Galway. We did change rooms because the first one was right across from the elevator and it was noisy. Elevators were tiny, and there were a couple of "hen parties" occupying the hotel, so it was pretty crazy in there, but that's Galway for you. Best party town in Ireland, even for us old folks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkjdwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed in the Eyre square Hotel for two nights with my partner. I payed 49 euro per night which is an absolute steal. Spotless clean, extremely friendly and helpful staff. Warm rooms and hot water at all hours. The location is fantastic. Right in the middle of eyre square but it still remains quite at night which I was surprised with. Overall a great stay and would reccomend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms 209 was at the back of the hotel so it was quite at night. Everything worked and spotless clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 45 in Galway
606 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#32 of 45 in Galway
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,821 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#27 of 45 in Galway
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#29 of 45 in Galway
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eyre Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eyre Square Hotel

Property: Eyre Square Hotel
Address: 35 Eyre Square | On the Corner of Eyre Square, Beside the Main bus and Rail Station., Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eyre Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eyre Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eyre Square Galway
Hotel Eyre Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing