We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel.. Great DJ..A Trip to remember..”
Review of Eyre Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eyre Square Hotel
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Ireland
2 reviews
“Great Hotel.. Great DJ..A Trip to remember..”
Reviewed 26 February 2010

The staff greeted us at reception with a smile and were generally very friendly. Our room was quiet spacious and spotless and the TV has a good selection of channels. We went to the bar for a drink and decided to dine there too. The chubby bar man was very attentive and chatty. The food was scrumpious and we were stuffed to the gills. We were due to venture down the town but we were enjoying the music the DJ was playing so much we decided to stay. We spent most of the night dancing and mixing with the locals. This is a great place to stay, eat and party. Galway's No. 1.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJBigAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    187
    165
    76
    88
See reviews for
90
240
38
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
littlered1982
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2010

From the moment we arrived the staff were very unfriendly and barely acknowledged us. The reception staff hardly had a personality between them and were very unhelpful. We arrived on the Friday evening and it was late Saturday evening that the first staff member spoke to us.The room was very minimal for the price paid and at breakfast there were about 8 staff on yet no one approached us to inform us it was table service, they just continued to let the customers walk to the buffet in the corner, we were just ignored until we asked what we were to do. When booking we were informed that the hotel is situated near a niteclub and that we may experience "some disturbences", it actually felt like we were trying to sleep in the niteclub. It was so loud that from our room we were able to enjoy the Thirtieth Birthday Celebrations of a man called Alan. So would like to wish Alan a happy birthday and wiuld like to advise the manager of the hotel to highlight some of the imprtant points of customer service to his staff including smiling and actually doing what your paid to do.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlered1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galway hotels

tipperary
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Booked into hotel at about 4 in the evening. Placed my bags in the room and was instantly shocked at how you can clearly hear the people in the next room talking like they were in your in your room. Thought hey relax maybe they are just noisy people get over it.

left to get food drink etc came back later that night to discover it isnt just the walls that are paper thin the floor offers no cover for the noise from the night club below which incidenatlly i was not informed about. Noise was so bad I decided it would be better to check out and get another hotel at 11:00 at night than attempt to come back later and try and sleep as it would be the same as placing you bed in the middle of a club and telling them to turn up the music and you then proceeding to try and sleep through it. As I said in the title it pays to be deaf.

All in all super location right in the heart of the city but if you have any form of decent hearing its not for you . if you are deaf or planning to arrive back to hotel once nightclub has closed then maybe but there is better accomodation along the same location which is even less expensive with friendlier staff and an all round better bet I wouldnt recommend the eyre square hotel to a cat unless its one with no ears.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Right off Eyre Square this hotel is so convenient to everything. Nice receptionist found me a smoking room well away from the nightclub.
Bistro menu in the evening- Good value. Again very pleasant waiter offered to substitute veg or potato for standard option of chips.
Nice bar and adjoining coffee shop open in the daytime. Spacious room with plenty of heating and good size bathroom. Multi channel TV and Tea and coffee making facilities.
Breakfast cooked to order- Not a Bain Marie in sight! Hotel run a loyalty card system. Special rates €10 euro for 24 hrs in multi story car park nearby. Train and Bus station close by. Easy walk. Recommend highly.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hecoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

First of all the location is excellant , bang smack in the centre of the city , Breakfast was very good , should leave coffee and tea avaible on couter for refils but great selection . However the hotel experience was ruined by the fact that . 'even though i had requested one of their quieter rooms ' we were kept up awake with music so loud from club next door till 3am , it was so loud that neither me nor my family member in next door room get any sleep till about 3 am . I rang down to complain but was told it would stop soon . Obvilously this is a regular experience for them . They need to do some serious sound proofing . Next day as we checked out ( never to return ) we mentioned it to manager on duty who listen , said sorry but that was it . Remember this was a requeasted quiet room i dread to imagine what a normak room is like at the week end .

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Doesn't look fantastic from the outside and the hall and stairs and a liitle outdated. the rooms are modern , clean and very comfortable. the reception staff were friendly and they handled a group of 15 lads very easily. breakfast was buffet but served to you so the bacon was a bit leathery but other that that it was fine. would recommend

Helpful?
Thank Iris-eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2009

The location is great. The bar and regular bartenders are great. That's the end of the positives and not nearly enough to convince me to go back or recommend this hotel. The staff at reception is aloof and inattentive. The rooms are small and outdated. The noise from the club next door, from the street and from inside the hotel is unacceptably loud. Some minor improvements to prevent slamming doors and reduce noise transmission through the windows would go a long way to improving the experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yddub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Galway
Imperial Hotel Galway
#25 of 45 in Galway
606 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 45 in Galway
857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#32 of 45 in Galway
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#28 of 45 in Galway
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#27 of 45 in Galway
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eyre Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eyre Square Hotel

Property: Eyre Square Hotel
Address: 35 Eyre Square | On the Corner of Eyre Square, Beside the Main bus and Rail Station., Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eyre Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eyre Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eyre Square Galway
Hotel Eyre Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing