We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget accommodation”
Review of Corrib Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Corrib Village
Ranked #40 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Galway
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great budget accommodation”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Great for budget accommodation- if you just want someone to sleep/shower this is great. Rooms are very basic but fine. The continental breakfast of juice/tea and coffee/cereals and toasts is good value start to the day. Quite a long walk from town (maybe 30 minutes) so take comfortable shoes- the shuttle bus is good but runs a limited service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorribVillageGalway, General Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you for your positive review of Corrib Village. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Karl Reinhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    28
    43
    17
    18
See reviews for
21
31
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Filthy bathroom and cold water in the shower!

We booked the en suite but got "standard room" email confirmation instead. The hotel staff claimed it was not their fault. We got a room with a shared bathroom. Very unpleasant surprise.

No info about the check-in time (neither on the confirmation that I received nor Corrib Village website). It turned out to be 4pm !!

The staff are friendly but they don't know what they are doing (sent us to a room that was occupied, called the tour company to check our pick up time but asked for the wrong tour).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emilia_Kor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galway hotels

Wexford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just to put my review into context, I'm a Galway girl living in Wexford & I wanted to pop home for a few days with the kids and needed a budget option. I have 4 kids and we're too many to turn up on my family's doorsteps. Full house rentals were working out too expensive so got a 4 bed in Corrib Village for 315 for 3 days,which isn't bad for 5 of us & it would have taken 6! :)
The gentleman I met at reception after a very long stressful journey from Wexford couldn't have been nicer and was very helpful. The parking for the apartment was around the corner and on the far side of the building so it was quite a walk with little ones & bags with just me to lug it all. You have to walk across grass - was very wet when we stayed - they could really do with putting in some pathways from the car parking areas.
It's obviously student accommodation and every single door in the apartment requires your access card (they can issue multiples) except for the loo. This was awkward with small children all the doors did stay open except one - predictably the room I was sleeping in and left my handbag and card in it! The door closed itself, requiring a climbing in the window from outside situation! It is very basic, functional with no frills. If you're going to be out all day - like we were - it's just fine. There was a TV sitting area / Kitchen with fridge, oven, hob, kettle, microwave, toaster etc - so everything you'd need. I did wonder how you'd stick it for a whole college year though.

It is indeed a bit of a walk from town, but there's a really nice walk by the river taking you through the NUIG campus. We didn't walk it the whole way but I'm sure it would eventually come out by the Cathedral which is pretty central and would cut out walking most of Newcastle. There's a games room (2 pool tables, one wasn't working and the other had no white ball - be warned you need to go to reception and pay a refundable deposit of €10 for cues, there was no sign up to say this. After much pulling and dragging of kids I wasn't too happy about this and the girl in reception was none to friendly about it either, and completely blanked me when I suggested a sign might be helpful! There is a playground, but it's a bit old and was pretty desolate in the rain with massive puddles everywhere. We had breakfast in the apartment so couldn't rate the restaurant which opens in the mornings only.

It was Race Week when we was there & on our 2nd night, there was obviously a race-going group in the apartment above us. There were multiple very noisy arrivals from about 2am and with much shenanigans during that time. I asked them to be quiet a few times but don't think they saw or heard me. Finally at 4am or so with a very drunk girl wailing in the hallway directly outside our door, I will admit I wasn't overly sympathetic to her. I'd had enough, so I rang security. They arrived within 5 minutes and everything settled down after that. Mercifully the kids slept through it all but I wouldn't really recommend Corrib Village for families. If the management are reading this, a block for just families or quieter groups might be a good idea? I'm giving it four stars because (most of) the staff were really nice and how many places could you find accommodation for a family of 5 for €105 a night?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorribVillageGalway, General Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you for your detailed review of Corrib Village. It is great to hear that you were happy with several aspects of your stay and, in particular, that you found it to be good value for money. The accommodation offered is indeed basic but we believe that this is reflected in our competitive prices.

We are sorry to hear that other guests impacted negatively on your stay. However, we hope that you found our security staff to be efficient and prompt in dealing with the issue.

In terms of your comments regarding the Games Room, please be assured that we have now put a sign in place to inform guests that a refundable deposit is required for the use of cues.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback, which we will take on board in an effort to improve our services to future guests.

Kind regards,

Karl Reinhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The rooms were clean & functional (though strangely the bathrooms seem to be designed to be hosed down after student nights & our toilet made a very odd honking nose when flushed!)!

Free wifi.

Free shuttle bus into Eyre Square (else it's quite a walk). Arrive *early* for this, else the driver may not let you on.

Staff in the reception office were all friendly & helpful (we needed directions on check out & they went out of their way to help).

Room Tip: Turn up for the shuttle bus early. Our driver was quite grumpy that we "only" arrived 5-1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neevio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorribVillageGalway, General Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you for your positive review of Corrib Village. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found facilities to be clean and functional. In terms of our shuttle bus service, it does operate on a first-come-first-served basis. We do, however, offer a taxi freefone in reception and there is also a regular, public bus service to the city centre in operation which picks up just outside the entrance to Corrib Village. Thank you again for your valuable feedback, which you can be assured will be passed onto our team, and we hope to see you in Corrib Village again in the future.

Kind regards,

Karl Reinhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed here as part of an organised group of 20+ young people. We were very warmly received, and staff seemed accustomed to the constant stream of our young people who'd misplaced their bedroom keycards. The accommodation is basic, but exceptionally affordable. I would recommend to large families who perhaps are on a tight budget and would appreciate being able to rent apartments that sleep 6 comfortably. The kitchens are reasonably equipped and you'd be able to prepare a family meal with ease. Also a great alternative to hostelling for independent travellers. On the grounds there is a launderette, small shop (more friendly staff here) a games room and a restaurant. There are also plenty of open space, a swing park and tennis courts for children and teens to get some space. A complimentary shuttle bus is also available at half hour intervals between the campus and the city of Galway; although this would be a pleasant walk on a nice night. All in all, if you are looking for something simple and prefer to save your budget for trips, meals and activities, this might be just the ticket.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowLovelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorribVillageGalway, Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are delighted that you were satisfied with so many aspects of your stay. At Corrib Village, we do welcome large group bookings as our on-site facilities are suitably equipped. It is great to hear also that you found your stay to be good value for money. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to perhaps welcoming you back to Corrib Village in the future!

Kind regards,

Máire Bríd Ní Ghionnáin
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

i stayed in corrib for 2012 college year the accomodation is quite expensive and the rooms are quite basic while still of decent size the maintance is good a quick but the security staff were too strict on parties etc. i would recommend for 1st years meeting new people.

Room Tip: ensuite apartments have a freezer and dishwasher which the non ensuite dont.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conorhickey0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorribVillageGalway, Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you for reviewing Corrib Village student accommodation (September – May). Due to its location on the NUI Galway campus and the fact that we also organise free events throughout the academic year for residents, it is indeed a great place for students to meet new people. However, we welcome not only first years, but a mix of undergraduate, postgraduate and international students. Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Máire Bríd Ní Ghionnáin
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

i had a single room with shared bathroom and dining room and believe me this is one reason i could meet new people and the place is slightly far from the city but you can walk it in 20 minutes or take a taxi for 10 euros, housekeeping is good and the best thing is that it is really quiet and peacefull

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorribVillageGalway, Manager at Corrib Village, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Corrib Village. It is indeed a great place to meet new people! Although located slightly outside of the city centre, we do offer a free shuttle bus service for guests’ convenience. Should you wish to return to Galway in the future, we would be more than happy to welcome you back to the village!

Kind regards,

Máire Bríd Ní Ghionnáin
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.9 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,520 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 54 in Galway
590 reviews
2.7 mi away
Corrib View B&B
Corrib View B&B
#126 of 185 in Galway
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 54 in Galway
200 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sleepzone Hostel Galway
1.1 mi away
Western Citypoint Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corrib Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corrib Village

Property: Corrib Village
Address: | Upper Newcastle, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Corrib Village 3*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corrib Village is the ideal base for exploring the West of Ireland and experiencing all that Galway city has to offer. Located on the grounds of NUI Galway, at the edge of Connemara and only a FREE 10-minute shuttle bus away from the hive of activity that is Galway city centre, it's the perfect option for an activity-filled break away! Corrib Village offers basic, no-frills, affordable accommodation for both individuals and groups, who can choose to book on a room-only or B&B basis or opt for an entire, self-catering apartment. For those wishing to stay in Corrib Village on a nightly B&B basis, a light continental breakfast is included, which is available from 7:00am to 11:00am in the on-site café. Those who opt for an entire, self-catering apartment (which can accommodate up to 6 people) can enjoy the additional benefit of a living area with a fully-equipped kitchen and a TV with seating area. All bedrooms are supplied with clean linen and fresh, soft towels. On-site facilities include a tennis court, a soccer court (extra charge applies), a coin-operated launderette, a shop/deli,FREE parking, FREE Wi-Fi, a barbecue area and a FREE shuttle bus service to/from the city centre. A tour booking service is also available. For family trips, cots and highchairs are available by prior request (extra charge applies). One of the biggest attractions of Galway itself is the array of vibrant and cultural festivals that take place during the summer months, such as the Galway Arts Festival, the Galway Races, and the Film Festival. It's the place to be during the summer! So, don't miss out on your chance to soak up the atmosphere...stay in Corrib Village and experience it all without breaking the bank! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corrib Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corrib Village Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing