We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this Hotel, it is fantastic.”
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galway Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Love this Hotel, it is fantastic.”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I have been going to this Hotel for the past 10 yuears for Christmas, and it is fantastic, reason for returning so much, I find the Hotel spotless and , the staff are so helpful and friendly and we have gotten to know them personally , The Food in the restraunt is beautiful and i am amazed that someone thinks otherwise and they were annoyed becauase a teaspoon was not on their table,I think that is a rediculous comment to make, The rooms have been renovated and i think are lovely, The restraunt has also been done up and the area of the hotel is really good. I would highly reccomend this hotel Dan the manager is so nice and friendly and couldn;t be more helpful.Christmas at the Hotel is like being at home it's so warm and friendly and cosy, you are treated very well and want for nothing, plenty of food and wine mulled wine and finger food are all at large, This is the best Hotel i have stayed in for attentivness cleanliness and food, unfortunetly i can't go this year for Christmas but will for sure be back the following year. I hope to get a break in between. An excellent place to stay, I would like to also add that the breakfast is the nicest i have had in any hotel, there is so much too choose from.

Room Tip: Choose a room over looking the seafront
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annobyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Ann,

Thank you most sincerely for your repeat custom over the years and thank you also for this super review. The team and I are thrilled to view your positive feedback – you have made our day!

Your positive feedback regarding all aspects of the hotel is most welcome and I use feedback such as yours to aid me when it comes to motivating and encouraging the team to perform to the highest level consistently. I am so lucky to have such a wonderful team here in the Galway Bay Hotel who are so focused and dedicated when it comes to delivering top class service consistently.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Sincere regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,958
    577
    263
    76
    44
See reviews for
819
1,019
105
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Checkendon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Good quality, well appointed hotel located on the beach at Salthill, a faded, slightly run-down suburb of Galway. The service was excellent and the facilities were as expected of a 4 star hotel. In common with other reviewers, we found the food, especially in the bar, very good and the Lobster Pot restaurant was certainly worth experiencing. Rooms were well equipped though the decor is rather dated and the main dining room is vintage 80s. Only niggle was that the tour and conference parties tended to dominate the place and it was really hard to get a table in the restaurant at a reasonable time. Highlights were the chowder in the bar (and the bar itself - great atmosphere), the upstairs 'conservatory' area + terrace which we would have used had the weather been better. Only negative was the overall 'feel' of the hotel which in line with the decor was a little old fashioned.

Room Tip: Rooms 203/5 had sea views and were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear ‘Andy P’,

Thank you kindly for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently and thank you also for taking the time and effort to review the hotel following on from your stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here with us and your positive comments regarding the excellent service, the hotel facilities, the well equipped bedrooms, the hotel bar with a great atmosphere and the excellent food throughout the hotel are most welcome. You mention the Chowder you received in the bar as being a highlight for you and I have to say that we receive this comment very frequently from hotel residents and indeed local guests who dine here regularly. All on our culinary team pass on a sincere thank you!

We are a 14 year old hotel with a classical look and feel throughout all areas. This classical look and feel is commented on in a most positive manner on a very regular basis by guests of the hotel. The hotel has undergone a complete and comprehensive refurbishment programme over the course of the last couple of years and throughout this programme we were very anxious to retain this warm classical look and feel as the overwhelming majority of guest feedback indicates that we should not move away from it.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the near future.

Kind regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Have stayed at the Galway Bay Hotel for the last few years usually in March or June and can't recommend it enough. The staff are friendly, helpful and very professional, it seems their aim is to meet your every need. The resturant food is lovely with a great outlook to the sea view if you ask. The rooms and beds are comfortable. The lounge is comfortable and relaxing with the bar nearby. The location of the hotel is exellent on the prom with a bus stop outside.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear ‘Patricia b’,

Thank you most sincerely for returning to the Galway Bay Hotel on so many occasions and thank you also for your very positive feedback.

Your positive feedback regarding the location of the hotel, the bedrooms, the comfortable beds, the food and the team are so welcome and greatly appreciated. You mention that it seems to be our aim ‘to meet your every need’ and this is very true. Our Hotel mission is to meet and exceed the expectations of all of our guests. We address this as part of our structured in house training programme called Exceeding Expectations and this is an in-depth approach to training all of our team when it comes to our mission of Exceeding the Expectations of all of our guests. As part of this training programme all on the team attend a structured daily training session in each department – with the major focus being on customer focus. This is managed by our Human Resource Manager and also by each of the respective Department Managers. This has subsequently led to a number of most prestigious awards which the hotel has received over the years and the most recent are, Deloite Best Managed Company Award in 2010, 2011, 2012. Best Four Star Hotel in Ireland three times over the last 11 years – awarded by CIE tours International. Galway City Chamber of Commerce Award for Best Customer Service in 2011. Also, only recently it was announced that the Galway Bay Hotel is the proud recipient of the European Quality Mark of Excellence, recognizing excellence in all areas of the hotel – we are the only hotel to receive this in Europe in 2012 and it is awarded by Failte Ireland and the European Centre of Competiveness – something we are really proud of. That being said we are always looking at ways to change and improve our product.

Thanks you again most sincerely and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Sincere regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Great location. Short bus ride to historic downtown. Attentive service. Variety of regional food prepared with imagination by real chefs. Great value with meal plan. Clean. Excellent beds, updated bath. Great walking on boulevard out front. Very breezy this time of year. Large comfortable lobby. Nice pool. Very satisfied

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CWoodford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear ‘CWoodford’,

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time and effort to review Galway Bay Hotel following on from your recent visit here and thank you also for choosing to stay here on your recent trip to Galway. Your feedback on all areas of the hotel are most welcome and rewarding for all on the team. We certainly do put huge effort into delivering excellence in all we do. Your feedback regarding the food product which you received is most rewarding to all on the culinary team and all have requested that I pass on to you a sincere thank you – you have made their day!

I am delighted that you took the opportunity to walk on the promenade, which is on our door step – maybe next time you will have the time to dive in to the sea at the diving board!! We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future and again thank you most sincerely.

Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Very bad service in restaurant.Floating things in the drinking water for which the waitress apologised by offering a free coffee ! My son got violently sick after eating mussels on the same night. Will never return there and I am not given to exaggeration.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Teepeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear ‘Teepeetee’,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel on your recent trip to Galway and thank you also for your valuable feedback. I am terribly sorry to learn that your son fell ill, I and all on the team here do hope that he has made a recovery.

Needless to say, I am extremely concerned to view your comments. I do sincerely apologise for the short comings you encountered with service in our Lobster Pot Restaurant. I would like to assure you that both myself and management of the restaurant have addressed customer service with all members of the Restaurant team as part of our comprehensive in house training programme, whereby all team members attend daily training sessions in their respective departments with the main focus being on customer service; this is a structured, daily, ongoing programme managed by the Human Resource Manager and the respective Departmental Manager.

I am working on the basis that you stayed with us recently and over the course of the last twelve weeks I can confirm that we served an average of 192 people each night in the Lobster Pot Restaurant, made up of both hotel residents and regular local diners. The feedback has been overwhelmingly positive regarding both customer service and indeed quality of food; with comments being received such as exquisite food quality, superb flavours, great meal, fantastic, and great value for money. Over the course of this twelve week period we served an average of 18 portions of mussels each evening and also an average of 23 portions of Seafood Chowder, which also contains mussels. We have not received any negative feedback regarding these dishes; infact the feedback received has been superb.

I would welcome the opportunity to liaise with you in person and should you wish, please feel free to drop me a line at dmurphy@galwaybayhotel.com

Sincere regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Galway Bay Hotel sits just across the road from the beach at Galway Bay, and the views are beautiful!
Breakfast was a stand-out: each table was personally seated by a staff member, and the offerings -- both hot and cold -- were plentiful and delicious. The seafood chowder in the grill area was outstanding!
Comfortable, spacious rooms and an accommodating front desk staff made this a great stop on our trip!

Room Tip: Hotel entry is actually from the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QRooBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear ‘QRooBound’,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. Thank you also for your very positive feedback.

Your positive feedback regarding the location of the hotel, the quality of the breakfast you received, the seafood chowder, the comfortable spacious bedrooms and the front desk staff is most welcome and very encouraging. I receive approximately 250 pieces of guest feedback on a weekly basis from guests of the hotel and your feedback is a replica of the overwhelming majority of the feedback. Like all of our food served to guests, the O‘Rourke’s Seafood Chowder’ receives a huge amount of positive commentary from both hotel guests and local regular diners in both our Lobster Pot Restaurant and our main bar. Thankfully, the same can be said of our breakfast and we are always looking at ideas to tweak these also. The team at the Front Desk pass on to you a sincere thank you.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.
Warmest regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Lovely hotel. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, Special mention should go to Jiri, Annabel, and Bridget. They could not have been more helpful when I had to change my arrangements at short notice. Highly recommended. I shall certainly return when next in Galway.

Room Tip: Aim for a room with a view over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Photoprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear ‘Photoprof’,

Thank you very much for this lovely feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. Your positive feedback is most welcome and quite similar to the huge amounts of feedback I receive on a regular basis from guests of the hotel. All on the team pass on a heartfelt thank you – especially Jiri, Annabel and Bridget whom are all chuffed to be mentioned in such a positive manner through such a public medium – you have made their day! Thank you for recommending us to all and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Sincerely,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,681 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,357 reviews
1.8 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Property: Galway Bay Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing