We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family stay”
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galway Bay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is a fine hotel right on the seafront in the Salthill. It's an attractive, well-kept hotel with friendly attentive staff and comfy beds and duvets. It's not going to get your pulse racing (unless you count the view of the bay on a fine day) but it's well-priced, clean and has everything you need in an excellent Salthill location. The pool area was more functional than luxury, but it was clean with nice warm water. Extra thanks to the staff who kindly posted my baby son's small soft toy back to us when we realised we had left it behind!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muireann77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear 'Muirean77',
Thank you sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel
recently and thank you also for your valued feedback. I am very happy to
see that you had such a nice time whilst staying with us.

Your positive feedback regarding the location of the hotel, the quality
of the bedrooms and indeed the team with whom you came in contact with
is most welcome and has been passed on to all on the team.

Thank you again and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you
back again at some stage in the future.
Warm regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,998 - 2,004 of 3,243 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in January. I stay in a lot of hotels for work, but rarely have I been made to feel as welcome as here. Everyone seemed to go out of their way to make sure that we were enjoying our stay. Which we were!
Lovely location overlooking Galway Bay. Salthill and Galway city are a walk away to the left, and for contrast you have Barna and Connemara a drive to the right as you leave the hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear 'Ray T',
Thank you for this wonderful feedback and thank you for choosing to stay
here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am delighted to see that you
had such an enjoyable time with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our location, on the outskirts both
Galway city whilst being the Gateway to Connemara and overlooking the
beautiful Clare Hills and famous Galway Bay.. Your feedback regarding
the team is most encouraging and I have passed this on to all.

Thank you again and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you
back again soon.
Kindest regards, Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just returned from a fabulous two night break in the Galway Bay, from the moment we checked in and were greeted by an extremely friendly receptionist, right through to the efficient checkout we enjoyed everything about our stay the room, the food, and especially the quality of the staff, well trained and without exception very friendly and professional.This is what would bring me back to stay again you can have the most perfect of hotels but if you do not have the staff to match then it is all wasted, so thank you to all for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, Front Office Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear 'Collessie',
Thank you for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently and
thank you for this wonderful feedback. All on the team are delighted
that you had such a nice time with us.

Your positive feedback regarding the quality of the hotel and the
excellent quality of the food are most welcome. However your feedback
regarding the quality of the team and the service is most encouraging -
this is feedback I receive daily!! I am so lucky to have such a
wonderful team whom are so focused and motivated when it comes to
delivering top class, friendly service consistently.. They certainly do
make my job do much easier!
Thank you again.
Warmest regards, Dan Murphy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We recently got married in the Galway Bay Hotel and are delighted with our choice. We had more than 200 guests, the majority of whom were travelling, and were keen to secure good rates for our guests. The hotel was very accommodating and offered a good number of rooms at a great rate. All our guests were very happy with the standard of the rooms and the breakfast is fantastic. Everyone loved the bar inside the hotel, you almost forget that you are actually in a hotel and not a public house! Only complaint would be that it closes too early at night and our guests were required to move out to a lounge.

In terms of the wedding day itself, the hotel were super. The food was fabulous and the hotel were very generous with the amount of wine provided to all the guests. The drinks reception was also fantastic, the prosecco and canopes kept coming! I would definitely recommend this hotel for a large wedding.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room when booking as many of our guests expected this with a beach hotel yet had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galway282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear ‘Galway282’,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing the Galway Bay Hotel to host your very special day recently. We were honoured to be part of such a very special day and are thrilled to read your feedback.

Your feedback is most welcome and extremely encouraging particularly regarding the excellent quality of food you received, the standard and quality of the hotel bedrooms and the excellent team. We are so lucky to have the ideal wedding venue with a fantastic team whom are so focused when it comes to delivering top calss service to all guests.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again at some stage in the future.

Warmest regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

From checking in to checking out our stay here very much enjoyed.
The breakfast had an excellent selection and the staff were very attentive at all times. In particular, Trevor and Patricia asked us on numerous occasions if there was anything they could do and also arranged a late check out without any fuss, which greatly helped us on the last day. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear 'Dawn032',
Thank you for this super feedback and thank you also for recommending us
to all.

Your positive feedback is most welcome and I am delighted that you had
such a nice time whilst staying with us.

Both Trevor and Patricia pass on their regards to you. Hopefully, we
will have the opportunity to welcome you back again at some stage.
Regards, Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Recently stayed here with my partner for our anniversary. Really enjoyed everything about this hotel, rooms were comfortable and spacious, beautiful view from our room. We dined in the ''Lobster Pot Restaurant'', the chowder was out of this world and the desserts were mouth watering!!! The service was quick and efficient. We were served by Nora who was attentive, professional and looked after our every need. We will definitely be recommending this hotel to our family and friends.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MLP T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear 'MLPT'
Thank you for this wonderful feedback and thank you also for choosing to
stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel for your special occasion recently.

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time. Nora passes on her
gratitude you and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again
soon.
Kindest regards, Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here in January....not much crowds. Excellent price. Breakfast was included and was delicious. Patricia did a great job fixing a minor problem for us. My only complaint (minor) is that there was no wifi in the rooms.
A beautiful hotel in a great location!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank BT777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear 'BT777',
Thank you sincerely for choosing to stay here in Galway Bay Hotel
recently. I am delighted to see that you had such a nice time with us.

All of your feedback is most welcome and has been gratefully received.
Patrica is delighted to be mentioned in such a positive manner through
such a public medium - you have made her day!

We are currently in the process of refurbishing all of our guest
bedrooms which includes phrasing all of the complimentary bedroom wifi.

Thank you again and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back
again in the future.
Warm regards, Dan Murphy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,607 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,035 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,859 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,748 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: £83 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing