We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A BEAUTIFUL HOTEL WITH A MAGNIFICANT VIEW OF GALWAY BAY”
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Galway Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
241 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A BEAUTIFUL HOTEL WITH A MAGNIFICANT VIEW OF GALWAY BAY”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for just one night in the Galway Bay Hotel.
We found the staff very welcoming, the room was clean and spacious and the foyer is spendid.
The conservatory overlooking the sea is brilliant!
We dined in the Labster Pot, where the efficient Nigel showed us to our seats.
We were served by the lovely Petra, and our meal was memorable.
The breakfast the following morning was very good, and we appreciated the freshly squeezed orange juice.
I would recomment the Galway Bay hotel to anyone, but not if you are watching the pennies!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noelglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear ‘noelglee’,
Thank you for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently and thank you for your very valued feedback. I am delighted that you had such a pleasant time with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the views from the hotel. Guests mention this daily – even on a very bad day, looking out at the Atlantic Ocean can be a very relaxing experience. I am also delighted that you enjoyed the service you received and the quality of the food for breakfast and dinner.

Thank you again and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at some stage in the future.
Warmest regards, Dan Murph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,998
    589
    267
    76
    44
See reviews for
841
1,036
107
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I stayed as guests of this hotel as we were attending a friend’s wedding. This hotel is on the sea-front overlooking the beautiful Galway Bay.
We were very impressed on arrival to the hotel, beautiful setting, ample parking and loads of underground parking.
Hotel foyer and entrance very grand and impressive and reception staff very helpful and polite. Prior to our arrival we communicated via e-mail with the reservation staff, they were very prompt with their responses and extremely helpful.
Hotel décor very sophisticated and rooms were lovely and clean.
We have to give enormous credit to the staff that catered to everyone’s needs at the wedding. As well as working extremely hard, nothing was ever too much trouble and it was a pleasure to be greeted with a smile, the staff are truly a credit to the hotel
Special recognition has to be given to Brian Oliver the Banqueting Manger who co-ordinated the whole evening so eloquently and made the day so special for the Bride and Groom. We were amazed he was still on the go the following morning for breakfast after working so hard the day before.
Breakfast was an absolute feast for the eyes, attention to detail was very obvious and food was fresh, colourful and plentiful.
A huge well done to everyone for the making the weekend so magical and definitely worth another visit in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nettie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear ‘nettie1974’,
Thank you for this wonderful feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am delighted to see that you had such a wonderful time.

Your positive feedback is most welcome. I have passed this on to all on the team and all send on their gratitude to you. Brian is delighted to be mentioned in such a positive manner through such a public medium and he also passes on his gratitude – you have made his day!!

Thank you again and I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again at some stage in the future.
Sincerely, Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed in the Galway Bay in March of this year, it was an excellent stay which I would highly recommend. Everything from the welcome, food, staff and facilities within the hotel were all fantastic. I have planned a return stay again later this month!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Bernie,
Thank you for this wonderful feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time whilst staying here. Your very positive feedback regarding the welcome you received, the fantastic quality of the food, the team and indeed the hotel itself is most encouraging and I have passed this on to all on the team. Thank you again Bernie and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Best wishes, Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed for three days. The Staff is very friendly, the Breakfast was very good. We got a very large room with sea view. The spa was not very large and older. In the city center of Galway one runs about 20min, bus stops outside the hotel.The hotel is excellent!

Room Tip: It is best to ask for a room on the left side (sea view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thorsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear ‘ThoMey75’,
Thank you for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. Thank you also for this wonderful feedback. I am delighted that you found the team and the hotel to be excellent and I am delighted that you had a very enjoyable stay with us. I have passed your feedback on to all on the team and all pass on their sincere gratitude to you.
Warmest regards, Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is all that is wrong with hotels that simply depend on their view ....where service has been completely over looked. Felt like a number not a guest. Problems experienced were key card issues, over charged and very very out dated rooms all of which were greeted with an air of annoyance by staff. We felt as though we were an inconvienece rather than paying guests. A real shame.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drogo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear 'Drogo123',
Thank you for your feedback and thank you also, most sincerely for
choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am terribly
saddened to read that you did not have a pleasant time whilst staying
with us.
I receive an average of 250 guest comments each week and I have to say
that the overwhelming majority are overwhelmingly positive. Obviously
this was not the case with your good self and I would like to apologise
to you most sincerely - for this reason I did send you a private message
on tripadvisor to no avail unfortunately as I was hoping to assure you
that your experience us certainly not the norm and the exception to the
rule.

Thank you again.
Dan Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We had the most wonderful stay at the Galway Bay Hotel. The views from the hotel are spectacular and our room was really spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was great too. There is a bus stop to the city in close walking distance and a few really nice cafés and bars in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Djameela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear ‘djameela’,
Thank you for this wonderful feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable experience with us.

Your positive feedback is most welcome and indeed very encouraging, particularly regarding the views from the hotel, the quality of the breakfast we serve and indeed the quality of the team and service – this is feedback which I thankfully receive on a daily basis.

Thank you again and best regards, Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A huge, heartfelt thank you to the professional and friendly staff of the Galway Bay Hotel for making our wedding day so relaxed and enjoyable. It was a pleasure to work with such a dedicated team of people who shared as much interest in the finer details of the day as much as the bride! It is wonderful to find a Hotel whose ethos is 'whatever the customer wants the customer gets'!! The wedding management team including; Declan Sharkey, Dan Murphy, Brian Oliver and John Fraser were personable, efficient and enthusiast throughout the entire planning process putting us at ease each step of the way. Thank you for all the top quality care on the day and over the whole wedding weekend. Wishing you many more wonderful weddings in your lovely hotel!
Kind Regards,
Maria & Alan Gibbons

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are well worth booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Maria & Alan,
Thank you most sincerely for choosing to host your wedding reception here in the Galway Bay Hotel and thank you also for this wonderful feedback. I am delighted that you and indeed all of your party had such an enjoyable and memorable day with us.

Your positive feedback is most welcome and all on the team pass on their gratitude to you. A very special day for you is indeed a most special day for all on the team here and we get great satisfaction working with brides and grooms ensuing all of the little details are in place to ensure perfection at all times. I am so lucky to have such a wonderful team of people here in the Galway bay Hotel whom are so focused, motivated and passionate when it comes to delivering top class service to all guest consistently.

Thank you again Maria. All on the team look forward to welcoming you back again very soon and wish you all of the very best of health, wealth and happiness.
Sincerely, Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
2,414 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,821 reviews
3.2 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Property: Galway Bay Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing