We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel, wonderful staff especially patricis over all a great manager who made our stay a memorable! !”
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galway Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great location and brilliant food, all organised by exceptional staff! The hotel itself is on superb grounds with a most fabtastic view of the bay which the hotel captures magnificently with their sun room! The bedrooms are a credit to the staff who clean them as is the hotel as a whole! If you want a break where you are made special then this is the hotel for you! No request is too big or too small and again a special mention to patrice our morning staff and Tina our dinner host! Thank you very much peter maureen moran and family :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moran25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear ‘moran25’,
Thank you for this wonderful feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am very pleased to see that you had such a nice time with us.

Your positive feedback is most welcome and indeed most encouraging particularly in relation to our location, the exceptional staff, the quality of the bedrooms and the brilliant food. This certainly is feedback which I receive on a regular basis and I have passed this on to all on the team.

Thank you once again and we all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again at some stage in the future.
Kind regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,205)
There are newer reviews for Galway Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,832 - 1,838 of 3,205 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night & had a great time, hotel is set in a splendid part of Galway the view from hotel is stunning, the hotel is lovely & all our needs were met, would defiantly return hopefully for a longer stay next time :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoeChilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear 'Zoechilli',
Thank you for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently and
thank you also for your very positive feedback. I am very pleased to see
that you had a very pleasant time whilst staying with us.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed the views from the hotel. They
certainly are superb as we are overlooking the beautiful Clare Hills
and the famous Galway Bay...I do hope you had the opportunity to sit and
relax in one of our sea view lounges or sea view conservatory and watch
the sun go down on Galway Bay as the old and famous song goes...

Thank you again and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome
you back again at some stage in the future.
Best regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We held our Wedding Reception at the Galway Bay Hotel and it it did not disappoint! Our guests were raving about the friendlyness of the staff and the lovely setting. Our wedding night went perfectly. Our guests said the food was the best they had tasted at a wedding. What a great Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny1032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Jenny,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback and thank you also most sincerely for choosing the Galway Bay Hotel to host your wedding reception recently. I am delighted to see that your good self and indeed all of your guests had such a fantastic time with us.

Your positive feedback is most encouraging, particularly in relation to our location, the friendliness of all on the team and indeed the quality of the food received by all. As I say, this is most encouraging and I am very pleased to mention that this is feedback which I receive back from all brides, grooms and indeed from all wedding guests. Our location, on the promenade in Salthill, overlooking the scenic Clare Hills and the famous Galway Bay is a perfect backdrop for all occasions - especially wedding receptions. The excellent quality of food is very important to us and Executive Chef Robert and his team work to constantly tweak and improve the quality. I am delighted that you found the team to be excellent - a special occasion for you is most definitely a special occasion for all on the team here and we all really enjoy going that extra mile to provide the little extras to ensure that it is the most special of days for you and all your guests.

Thank you once again Jenny and I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again at some stage in the future.

Kindest regards,

Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Loved my stay at the Galway Bay Hotel. The staff were so polite and helpful, food was amazing and our superoir sea view room was gorgeous. The only thing I will say is that if you book a superior sea view room at the weekend and there is a wedding on then you will be kept awake until the early hours with music and the wedding is just below. Not the hotel's fault just one of those things I suppose.

Room Tip: Beware of the Sea View rooms if there is wedding on. Very noisy!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinFairCityLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I attended a wedding here recently & from the moment we arrived at the hotel we were looked after really well. From john the manger who welcomed us when we arrived, to the waitress serving us, sorry forget her name, to Trevor the bar manager who was looking after the wedding until the late hours, we could not find fault. The staff were very helpful & constantly smiling no matter how busy they were. It really goes to show how happy the staff are that work here. The food was delicious & it was a nice surprise to see them offering seconds also. would definitely recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fixitnow X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was meet with a smile in the reception, got a perfect quiet room with a nice view.
The Gallway Bay Hotel is located perfect - away from the noisy part of Galway but still close enough to enjoy the city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Modpol01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear 'Midpol01',
Thank you for this wonderful feedback and thank you for choosing to stay
here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am very pleased to see that you
enjoyed your time with us. Your positive feedback is most grateful and I
have passed this on to all on the team. Thank you again and hopefully we
will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at some stage in the
future.
Warmest regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I have just returned from a great weekend break in the Galway Bay Hotel.We were there as part of a communion party,and I'd thoroughly recommend it. From the moment we arrived both kids and adults were catered for,adults were treated to a beautiful lunch in the lobster pot restaurant,while the kids were entertained by clowns,balloon shapers,and face painters,!! There was also a great kids menu supplied too. Hassle free for everybody:-)
After lunch while we enjoyed our post lunch banter,the kids were taken downstairs where a room had been set aside,again fully staffed with marvellous friendly helpers,Lego,several games,and even a mini disco!! Happy kids,happy parents:-))
The room we stayed in was spotless,and thankfully for us,absolutely huge !! It also had a lovely sea view,and everything we requested was supplied without delay.
The following morning we had a wide and varied brekkie,which really set us up for our two hours swimming and fun in the hotels leisure centre! Then following check out we went for a quick sandwich in the cafe,where a really helpful staff member cut us a deal on our four plain sandwiches because they were for the kids!! An incredibly light blueberry scone and latte for myself and we were ready to hit the road.....but to my rugrats delight,four free ice cream cones were presented after lunch!!! Happy kids,happy parents:-)
Delighted with our stay,highly recommend it,nothing was too much hassle . Totally chilled after it:-))

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear ‘CorkPolly’,
Thank you for this wonderful review and thank you for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am delighted to see that you had such a pleasant time whilst staying with us.

Your positive feedback is most welcome and I have passed this on to all on the team. I am delighted that your children enjoyed the ice cream cones given to you in our Harvest Café on Sunday – we have a policy that on Sunday all children receive a complimentary ice cream cone if they dine in the Harvest Café for lunch and this is proving very popular indeed.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again at some stage in the near future.
Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,567 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,726 reviews
3.2 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: £87 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing