We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy customer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Galway Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Very happy customer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My overall experience with The Galway Bay Hotel was exceptional. I enjoyed my stay and the staff were so helpful and polite. I must give Barbara a mention, because she welcomed my family and I with such warmth and could not have made us feel more welcome. It makes all the difference having someone with such great manner to deal with and I must thank her again. Also, Orla was great and so helpful. I will be staying in this hotel again, without a doubt, and most defiantly recommend this to everyone. Jo & Sam

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Jo and Sam,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am most pleased to see that you had such an enjoyable and memorable time with us.
Your positive feedback is most welcome and also very encouraging, particularly in relation to the very helpful and polite staff. Thank you for mentioning Barbara and Orla. They certainly are two stars here in the Galway Bay Hotel and are real examples of leading by example – they really do make my job so much easier. Thank you again and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at some stage in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,898
    551
    255
    74
    40
See reviews for
790
982
102
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Was just passing through and met a friend for tea and scones in the lobby. I have eaten dinner here a few times years ago.
We were greeted and served by a lovely lady called Barbara. I'm delighted to see the Galway Bay hasn't lost it's friendly and warm atmosphere from when I was last there. Thank you Barbara.
Everything was lovely and nicely presented.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear ‘Nic H’,

Thank you for stopping by for tea and scones recently and thank you for your valued feedback. I am most pleased to see that you had such a nice experience whilst with us. Positive personality is our main Core Value and it is so pleasing to see it being carried through throughout the hotel. Of course I am not surprised as I have such a wonderful team, all of whom are so motivated, focused and enthusiastic when it comes to delivering top class service to all guests consistently – they really are a credit and make my job so much easier. You mention Barbara in person; she is delighted and passes on her gratitude to you as you have made her day! We all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Galway Bay Hotel again at some stage in the future.

Sincerely,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I recently stayed in this beautiful hotel. It's location is idle with a fabulous view out at the bay. Food in the restaurant was lovely and staff were very welcoming and friendly especially Barbara who could not but do enough for us.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mangles33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear ‘mangles33’,

Thank you for this wonderful review. I am most pleased to see that you had such an enjoyable time whilst staying with us recently. I am thrilled to see that you really enjoyed the views of the bay from the hotel along with the lovely food along with the very welcoming and friendly staff. Thank you also for mentioning Barbara in person – she is thrilled and passes on her gratitude to you. Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at some stage in the future.

Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a fantastic dinner at the Galway Bay Hotel during our Coast Guard conference. The staff were very friendly. The restaurant manager Barbara even organised a special desert for one of the members, Declan, for his birthday. He was extremely impressed to say the least. I will certainly recommend to the Coast Gaurd to come back here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback. I am most pleased to see that you had a very positive experience here whilst attending a conference recently. We really enjoy marking special occasions such as birthdays in some way whenever it is made known as a special occasion for you is most definitely a special occasion for all here in the Galway Bay Hotel. Of course Barbara is delighted to be recognized by your good self and she passes on her gratitude to you. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at some stage in the future.

Best regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I attended a wedding here in April and as soon as I walked in the door we were welcomed by the manager and a member of staff which I thought was a lovely touch. Great rooms and facilities. Meal at reception was top class I cannot praise enough. .very friendly and helpful staff. I'm considering having this hotel for my wedding as i really was so impressed. I would have to highly recommend staff member Barbara Hehir who really couldn't do enough for us. A+

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailbheinwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear ‘Ailbheinwonderland’,

Thank you sincerely for this wonderful feedback. I am very pleased to see that you had such a pleasant time whilst attending a wedding reception here in the Galway Bay Hotel in April last.

I am thrilled to see that you found the quality of the meal served to be top class with very friendly and helpful staff. Barbara, whom you mention in person, passes on her gratitude to you as she is delighted to be mentioned in such a positive manner by your good self. Thank you once again and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at some stage in the future.

Warmest regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed at the Galway Bay a few weeks ago and could not go without sharing my experience. I truly had a wonderful stay, the bed was the comfiest I've ever slept on in a hotel! I must thank Barbara who I met when I arrived, she was extremely welcoming and helped me with all my queries. Breakfast the following morning was more than I expected. I even got a courtesy call to make sure everything was ok. The staff really shine and are a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Colm,
Thank you for this super feedback, I am delighted that you had such a pleasant time whilst staying with us. Your positive feedback is most welcome, particularly in relation to the comfi bed and the quality of the team – I am delighted that you feel that they are a credit to the hotel – they certainly are and I am so lucky to have such a wonderful team of people whom are so motivated and focused when it comes to delivering top class service to all guests consistently - they make my job so much easier! Barbara is thrilled to be mentioned in such a positive manner by you – you have made her day. Thank you again Colm and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at some stage in the future. Best regards, Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Recently ate at the bar and was very impressed with the standard and quality of the food. The menu varied and suited my friend who is coeliac. Bar staff, particularly Brian and Trevor were very helpful and attentive even though the bar was very busy! I was glad they offered dessert menus because the sticky toffee pudding was one of the best I have had! Will definitely be back and will recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear8950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear ‘Bear8950’,
Thank you for this wonderful feedback and thank you also for choosing to dine here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am very pleased to see that you had a very pleasant time whilst here.

Your positive feedback is most welcome, particularly in relation to the quality of the food you received and also the quality of the service. Thankfully this is feedback which I receive on a daily basis and I am so lucky to have such a wonderful team whom are so focused when it comes to delivering top class service to all guests consistently. Brian and Trevor are thrilled to be mentioned in such a positive manner through such a public medium and they pass on their gratitude to you – you have made their day!

Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at some stage in the future.
Kindest regards, Dan Murph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
1.8 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#12 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Property: Galway Bay Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing