We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing meal at the Galway Bay Hotel”
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Galway Bay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Recently stopped in to the hotel bar for food and drinks and could not recommend it more. The bar was very busy at the time but the staff managed this very well. We ordered garlic mushrooms and chowder and they delicious and well presented. I would go as far to say the mushrooms were the best I have had. Our servers Jacinta and Shane were lovely and attentive and no ask was too much. Overall great atmosphere in the bar and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sinead O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Sinead O,

Thank you for this wonderful review and thank you most sincerely for choosing to dine here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am very encouraged to read your review and I have passed this on to all on the team especially to Jacinta & Shane who you personally mention. I am more than thrilled to see that the food you received was amazing and that you really enjoyed our garlic mushrooms. They are very popular with many customers.

Thank you again and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,971 - 1,977 of 3,440 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

When I made reservations for this hotel I was sure it would be a top experience...it was also the most expensive reservation for our Ireland tour...I was very disappointed: small, ugly room...no wifi in the rooms, only access to eirecom in the entrance hall (not very fast and not very stable)...The breakfast "buffet" was also not up to what I expect from a 4 star hotel: the "full english" was cold, the selection of fruits was not very tasty...the hotel is "pretentious" but does not live up to it...we ate at the hotel restaurant and it wasn't very good and rather expensive as well...I suppose you pay because it's on "The Promenade"...we won't go back there...No problems with the staff though: they're all very friendly and helpful...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank harperWaitforit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear harperWaitforit,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently and thank you also for your feedback. Needless to say I am terribly disappointed to see that you did not experience the true Galway Bay Hotel experience for which we are renowned for. I am terribly sorry to view that there were aspects of your stay where we did not deliver our normal very high standard and I apologise to you most sincerely. I would also like to assure you that this is definitely not the normal standard of service we strive to offer any guest of the hotel at any time.

We are currently upgrading our Wifi across the hotel and whilst the technicians have been working on it we have had poor coverage, I am very sorry for the inconvienence that this has caused you. Our new system will be up and running shortly.

I would like to assure you that I have addressed the issues you encountered with the Restaurant with the relevant management and staff and collectively we will work together to ensure that we do not have a repeat with any further guests of the hotel.

I would welcome the opportunity to regain your confidence with us here in the Galway Bay Hotel and I would also welcome the opportunity to liaise with you in person. Should you wish to do so my direct e-mail address is dmurphy@galwaybayhotlel.com.
Kindest regards, Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent 3 nights over race week at the Galway Bay Hotel. Had a great room overlooking the sea. Staff were great and really helpful. The restaurant has a good menu and Patricia took great care of us during our stay. The food was of a high quality as expected so we were not disappointed. After a day at the races it was lovely to sit and relax in the lounge. The atmosphere was great. We are looking forward to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.Magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank PAULB90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear ‘PAULB90210’,
Thank you sincerely for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently and thank you also for your super feedback. I am most pleased to see that you had a very pleasant time whilst staying with us. Your positive feedback is most welcome and also very encouraging. I am delighted to see that all on the team were great and really helpful. I have a really wonderful team here in the Galway Bay Hotel who genuinely enjoy looking after people. I am also delighted to see that you found the quality of the food throughout the hotel to be at a very high quality and the atmosphere around the hotel very good. Patricia is delighted to be mentioned in such a positive manner through such a public medium and she passes on her sincere gratitude to you. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at some stage in the future. Warm regards, Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Large hotel situated on the seafront overlooking Galway Bay. The hotel is further away from Galway town centre than we had been led to believe and reckon it is a good 30 minute walk. It appeared to be the sort of hotel that attracted coach parties and families.

We stayed for two nights on a B&B basis with dinner on the first night. We were sufficiently satisfied with dinner to eat in the second night as well rather that find somewhere in Galway. Breakfast was self-service with plenty of variety on offer including a pancake machine. We were happy with the breakfast on offer.

The hotel has a large car park and it is worth noting that, at the far end, there is access to an underground additional parking area. We were warmly welcomed by reception and to our surprise were allocated a sea view room on the first floor. The weather was very warm so we slept with the windows open but were undisturbed by passing traffic or any other noise The room met our requirements and was what one would expect from a 4 star hotel.

We found the staff to be efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: To one side of the hotel (the right if looking from the beach) there is a fairground with the inevit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Raymond,
I am most pleased to see that you had a very pleasant time whilst staying here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. Thank you for your valued feedback and thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay here when visiting Galway.

I am delighted that you found the staff to be efficient and friendly and that you enjoyed dinner on both nights. Thankfully we consistently receive very positive reviews regarding the food quality throughout the hotel; Executive chef Robert and his team pass on their gratitude to you. I am also delighted to see that you enjoyed our pancakes at breakfast, these are proving very popular with all guests.

Thank you again Raymond and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again at some stage in the future.
Kind regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Visited the hotel On a bank holiday Saturday for bar food and were very impressed. The food was amazing and the service from Trevor Our barman was top class. The hotel was packed but we were made feel that nothing was too much trouble and we left as two very happy customers.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank timzer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear ‘timzer_8’,

Thank you for this wonderful review and thank you most sincerely for choosing to dine here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am very encouraged to read your review and I have passed this on to all on the team. I am more than thrilled to see that the food you received was amazing and that the service you received was equally as good. You mention Trevor and he certainly is a character!

Thank you again and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Myself & my husband recently had lunch at the Galway Bay last Saturday. We were greeted with a warm welcome & happy staff. The bar was busy with people but service was prompt & efficient. The new bar menu was great. On recommendation from Trevor, I ordered the chilli chicken which was delicious & tender. It was a great choice & I thanked Trevor for his help. My husband had the prawn scampi which was equally delicious. We will be back for more, thanks for a lovely meal.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Galwaygirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear ‘Galwaygirl72’,

Thank you very much for this wonderful review and thank you for choosing to dine here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am most pleased to see that you had such a pleasant experience with us. Your positive feedback regarding the quality of the food you received is most encouraging and this has been passed on to Executive Chef Robert and his brigade. They all pass on their gratitude to you. Trevor is also ‘chuffed’ (as he says himself) to be mentioned in such a positive manner and he also passes on his gratitude to you.

Hopefully we will see you again and until then thank you sincerely.
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent one night at this hotel and found it to be somewhat expensive, but good value. Our room was very nicely appointed and spacious. The view out over Galway Bay was a wonderful sight to wake up to. Thee dinner in the pub the previous night was average and the breakfast the following day was good. Above all, the staff in every department, in particular the delightful ladies at reception, who too the time to point out places to see and stay in the region. All in all we highly recommend the Galway Bay Hotel.

Room Tip: The front rooms while more expensive offer stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank tomuPhuket_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear ‘tomuPhuket’,

Thank you for your feedback and thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel on your recent trip to Galway. I am most pleased to see that you had a very pleasant time whilst staying with us.

Your feedback is most encouraging and I am pleased to see that you found the hotel bedroom nicely appointed and spacious, with a wonderful view to wake up to. I am delighted to see that you found the staff throughout the hotel, particularly at the reception desk to be excellent. Positive Personality is our main Core Value within the hotel and I am so lucky to have such a wonderful team whom have bought into this.

I am also delighted to see that you found us very good value and we all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to us again at some stage in the future.

Sincerely,
Dan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,775 reviews
2.8 mi away
No photo provided
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,141 reviews
2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
1.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: £69 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing