We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Special”
Review of Galway Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Galway Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here for one night and having read other reviews and comments on the hotel's own site, I was disappointed. Check in was fine and the hotel staff were all friendly enough. The room was fine, though nothing special for a 4 star hotel, and it was clean. The most annoying thing with the room was the under sheet on the bed, felt like a plastic sheet. Hotel is a fair way out of Galway, but we were aware of this and the location is good for walking on the promenade.

What disappointed me most about this hotel was the service at meal times. We were on a dinner bed & breakfast package and it was not particularly cheap and so expected good service, but it was rather poor. Quality of the food was nothing special, service was slow. Breakfast was a buffet, again pretty average, but there were just not enough staff to clear away the dirty dishes from our table, we had to move them ourselves on more than one occasion.

The hotel makes a lot of the awards which it has won but many of these are quite dated and so not really relevant.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moon159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Moon159,

It is with great regret that I read of your disappointment in relation to your visit to the Galway Bay Hotel. Please know that all on the team are very concerned and to hear that your assessment of the hotel fell well below expectations.

As a business we are very much aware that ‘we are only as good as our last performance’. It is our goal to exceed the expectations of all of our guests at all times and should we fail as appears to be the case in your experience we do our utmost to resolve the matter. I would like to assure you that the majority of feedback recieved from guests is overwhelmingly positive regarding all aspects of the hotel.

I do again apologise to you that your stay did not live up to our normal high standards and please feel free to drop me a line at any time at dmurphy@galwaybayhotel.com as I would welcome the opportunity to liaise with you in person.
Warm regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,961
    578
    265
    76
    44
See reviews for
820
1,022
106
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Galway Bay for 3 nights with extended family and had a fantastic time. The accommodation is really comfortable and the place has a real buzz about it. We travelled with a 6 year old and it was a great example of how well Ireland treats its young guests. The food was excellent and its location perfect. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Wifi signal was very patchy....our rooms overlooked the side garden which was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear ES,
Thank you for choosing the Galway Bay Hotel recently and thank you also
for your feedback. I am delighted that your family and indeed your
good self had such a nice time.

Your positive feedback is most welcome and very encouraging - I have
passed this on to all on the team.

Hopefully, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the
future and hopefully you will have improved weather to enjoy our super
location.

Thank you again and best regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Amazing place to stay, lovely staff, great atmosphere, comfortable rooms, an amazing view and great food. Would definitely recommend to a friend. Would gladly come back for a romantic break, would even consider getting married there.!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandralyne93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear ‘sandralyne93’,
Thank you most sincerely for your wonderful feedback and of course thank you also for choosing to stay here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am most pleased to read your very favourable review.

Your positive comments are most encouraging. I am delighted to see that you are very complimentary regarding all aspects of your stay. I have shared your feedback with all on the team and all have requested that I pass on their gratitude to you.

Thank you again and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again at some stage in the near future.
Warmest regards,
Dan Murph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Galway Bay with our two young sons. We were very impressed with the attentiveness of the staff, the facilities at the hotel, the food and the warm welcome. During our stay our little boy celebrated his birthday and we have to say a special thanks to Patricia for helping to make his day so special. We definitely plan to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irish004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Irish004,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback following your recent stay with your family here in the Galway Bay Hotel.

Your positive feedback is most welcome and also very encouraging. All on the team pass on their gratitude to you, especially Patricia whom is thrilled to be mentioned in person by your good self. I am so lucky to have such a wonderful team whom are so motivated and focused when it comes to delivering top class service to all guests consistently.

I am also delighted that your son enjoyed his birthday with us, i do hope he had a great day.

Thank you again and we all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again at some stage in the future.
Best regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

After all the hype and excitement of our wedding day, family coming home and spending the best day of our life's together it is now time to thank everyone at the Galway Bay Hotel for hosting our spectacular day. So where do we start? From the first day of our show around with the wedding co-ordinator Siobhan up until the actual day, the staff at the Galway Bay Hotel did everything in their power to make sure that this was one of the wedding details we did not have to worry about. There are so many people we have to thank, Siobhan for helping us with all the little details, John, Barbara and Orla for the smooth running of everything on the day. The banqueting ladies who catered to everyone of our guests needs, and did so with such professionalism, especially Bridie, Chris, Marie, Chris and Emma to name but a few,a huge thank you to you all. To all the chefs in the kitchen for the outstanding meal ( our guests are still talking about it to this day).Last but not least we would like to say a huge thank you from the bottom of our hearts to the general manager Mr.Dan Murphy who we also had the pleasure of meeting and obviously runs a tight ship, for hosting the best day of our lives at his hotel. It's safe to say we would highly recommend your hotel Dan to everyone for any occasion. Our apologies if we have forgotten anybody once again thank you.

Regards,
Mr&Mrs Derek and Mary O' Loughlin

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eilish o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Eilish O,

Thank you for this magnificent feedback and thank you most sincerely for choosing to host your wedding reception here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am delighted to read that you and all of your guests had such a wonderful time with us.

A special occasion for you is most definitely a very special occasion for all here in the Galway Bay Hotel and we really do enjoy making sure that it is one of the best days of your lives. I have a wonderful team of people here in the Galway Bay Hotel whom are so motivated and focused when it comes to delivering top class service to all guests consistently – they really are a great team and they are all delighted to get a special mention in your review.

We all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to us again at some stage in the future.
Warmest regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We held our wedding reception in the Galway bay hotel recently and we were really delighted with everything- from the day we booked it right up to checking out a couple of days after the wedding.
The staff are exceptional. Very friendly and helpful.
Many guests commented on the food at our wedding saying that it really was lovely. The meal was exactly what we had asked for following our tasting, down to the finest detail.
Any request we had given the hotel for our wedding day was looked after without any problem.
Barbara was so nice on the day of our wedding, looking after our every need in a very discrete way.
I recommend the Galway bay hotel without hesitation to any couple considering having your wedding here. I'm looking forward to going back there in the near future to relive some of our wedding day and to experience the lovely hospitality of the Galway bay hotel staff again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Acar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Acar14,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback following on from your wedding reception here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am delighted that you held your most precious day with us and even more delighted that your experience with us was excellent.

Your positive feedback is most welcome and also very encouraging. All on the team pass on their gratitude to you, especially Barbara whom is thrilled to be mentioned in person by your good self. I am so lucky to have such a wonderful team whom are so motivated and focused when it comes to delivering top class service to all guests consistently.

I am also delighted that you and your guests found the staff so friendly and the food to be delicious. Thankfully, this is feedback which I receive regularly and we are constantly tweaking and altering our menus and dishes with the ultimate aim of constantly improving.

Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back again at some stage in the future and help you relive some of your happy wedding day memories.
Best regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Offaly, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Recently stopped in to the hotel bar for food and drinks and could not recommend it more. The bar was very busy at the time but the staff managed this very well. We ordered garlic mushrooms and chowder and they delicious and well presented. I would go as far to say the mushrooms were the best I have had. Our servers Jacinta and Shane were lovely and attentive and no ask was too much. Overall great atmosphere in the bar and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinead O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danmurph, General Manager at Galway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Sinead O,

Thank you for this wonderful review and thank you most sincerely for choosing to dine here in the Galway Bay Hotel recently. I am very encouraged to read your review and I have passed this on to all on the team especially to Jacinta & Shane who you personally mention. I am more than thrilled to see that the food you received was amazing and that you really enjoyed our garlic mushrooms. They are very popular with many customers.

Thank you again and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Kindest regards,
Dan Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.1 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
1.8 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galway Bay Hotel

Property: Galway Bay Hotel
Address: The Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Galway Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Europe's Top 20 Resorts by the prestigious travel magazine Conde Nast, the Galway Bay Hotel is situated in Salthill overlooking breath-taking views of the famous Galway Bay and Clare Hills. The hotel is only 5 minutes from Galway City and is within easy access to Connemara and the Wild Atlantic Way route. Facilities include fully equipped gymnasium, pool, steam room and sauna. The Lobster Pot Restaurant offers modern style cuisine with fresh fish and lobster from the tank. 'An Scadan Caoc' Bar has an informal dining experience with live music at the weekends. Complimentary broadband access in all guest bedrooms and conference suites is available also. The hotel provides an array of complimentary activities to all guests including; Wine Tasting, Ballroom Dancing, Beauty Demonstrations and more. During school holidays the Galway Bay Hotel offers family packages that include kids camp and family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Galway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing