We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Ireland”
Review of Roncalli House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roncalli House
Ranked #44 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed in the same room that Chelsea Clinton stayed in! This was by far the most comfortable B&B we stayed in. The bed was so comfy! Carmel was wonderful. And our view was beautiful.
We walked down to Quay Street (which was an easy walk from the B&B), and enjoyed the night life.
Breakfast was served in a sunny room overlooking her garden.
Thank you for the lovely visit :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loretta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

Me, my sister and our friend stayed here for two nights, while visiting Galway. It's location was great. It only took about 10 minutes to walk to town, and it was very scenic as well. Carmel, the hostess was incredibly kind and inviting. She made an excellent breakfast too! The room was small for three of us, and we had to take turns in the small bathroom, but we sort of expected that, throughout our trip, and we made it work. The room and bathroom were clean and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquelineLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed for three nights at Roncalli House. Our room was comfortable and we had a view of the ocean. This B&B is in Salthill, a 10 minute walk from Galway, but very close to the ocean and on the way to the Connemara area. The breakfast was great and Carmel was always very helpful. Make sure you get tickets for Trad on the Prom, a music and Irish dancing show. It was amazing and 10 minutes from the B&B. Galway is a bustling city and college town. We like Salthill because it is smaller and a quieter. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilove2travel005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

rooms: comfortable and clean, but a little bit small, especially if you have big luggage.
breakfast: you can choose between different kinds, pancakes and eggs were delicious
price: paid 30 € per person in twin room
the owner was very nice!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DinitaBonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I stayed for just one night here but Carmel made me feel right at home. She was so friendly and helpful and chatted with me a bit during breakfast the next morning because I was the only guest having breakfast at that time. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The best part is the location...far enough away from downtown Galway to be quiet at night but only a short 5-10 minute walk to town. I would recommend Roncalli House to anyone traveling on a budget and looking for a nice B&B experience with a wonderful hostess and quiet, clean rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed at Roncalli for a weekend in august. Booked for 3 nights but ended up wanting to stay longer. Carmel is a great host and very helpful, she organised day tours for us and arranged for us to be picked up which was great! Our room was really comfortable and we had constant hot water. The bed was made up daily and fresh supplies of milk were left in the room for tea. Traffic noise didnt bother us as the bed was that comfortable we slept soundly each night.Breakfast was really lovely and there was a great choice. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Nice address in galway to stay one night. Good Pancakes for breakfast and really nice hosts. Comfortable rooms and modern equipments. Bathrooms are quite old.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
950 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,788 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roncalli House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roncalli House

Address: Roncalli House 24 Whitestrand Avenue | Lower Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: £51 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Roncalli House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing