We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good breakfast”
Review of Roncalli House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roncalli House
Ranked #51 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The breakfast was delicious and served in a very lovely room. The owners were very nice and helpful and our room was very nice and well equiped and the bed was very comfortable.
We enjoyed very much our stay at Roncalli House.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We unfortunately arrived late, but the owners were very nice and understanding. The room was clean and spacious. We were given great recommendations for dinner in the promenade area. Breakfast was very good. It's about a 10 minute walk to Quay Street. Great location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyDreamTrip_01-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Looking for accommodations in Galway during an unplanned visit, we were fortunate enough to come across Roncalli House. It is located within walking distance to town centre, on the corner of a major road. Mrs. O'Halloran was very nice and extended many little courtesies to us. The rooms are older but clean and pleasant, and her price for bed and breakfast is very reasonable for being so close to Galway town centre. The next time we come back to Galway, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deedeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Every trip to Ireland should include a trip to Galway. And other than my first trip to Galway, Roncalli House is where we stay. Carmel and Ann are wonderful and the home is just a quick walk to the center city where hotel lodgings are very pricey and can be subject to city noise. The breakfast is very good and a past B&B contest winner.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OleMissbanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed in the same room that Chelsea Clinton stayed in! This was by far the most comfortable B&B we stayed in. The bed was so comfy! Carmel was wonderful. And our view was beautiful.
We walked down to Quay Street (which was an easy walk from the B&B), and enjoyed the night life.
Breakfast was served in a sunny room overlooking her garden.
Thank you for the lovely visit :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loretta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Me, my sister and our friend stayed here for two nights, while visiting Galway. It's location was great. It only took about 10 minutes to walk to town, and it was very scenic as well. Carmel, the hostess was incredibly kind and inviting. She made an excellent breakfast too! The room was small for three of us, and we had to take turns in the small bathroom, but we sort of expected that, throughout our trip, and we made it work. The room and bathroom were clean and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquelineLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed for three nights at Roncalli House. Our room was comfortable and we had a view of the ocean. This B&B is in Salthill, a 10 minute walk from Galway, but very close to the ocean and on the way to the Connemara area. The breakfast was great and Carmel was always very helpful. Make sure you get tickets for Trad on the Prom, a music and Irish dancing show. It was amazing and 10 minutes from the B&B. Galway is a bustling city and college town. We like Salthill because it is smaller and a quieter. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilove2travel005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Sli Na Mara
Sli Na Mara
#23 of 189 in Galway
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Lodge
Sunrise Lodge
#8 of 189 in Galway
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glencree Bed & Breakfast
Glencree Bed & Breakfast
#74 of 189 in Galway
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lawndale B&B
Lawndale B&B
#70 of 189 in Galway
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Adare Guesthouse
Adare Guesthouse
#38 of 189 in Galway
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roncalli House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roncalli House

Address: Roncalli House 24 Whitestrand Avenue | Lower Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: £61 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing