We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect venue for Irish traditional music”

Tunes in the Church
Ranked #3 of 18 Concerts & Shows in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Wellesley, MA
1 review
“Perfect venue for Irish traditional music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

A very friendly, well-presented concert of traditional Irish music. A nice change from pubs where hearing the music can be difficult.

Helpful?
Thank KLB1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    17
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is the venue for folks who want a quiet, relaxing evening of excellent Irish music and dance without the pub scene. St. Nicholas church is beautiful and filled with history. The performers are all first class. These are the best of the best, who are happy to share their talents with others. If you're looking for the real deal in Irish music, this is it. Loved our evening there and would go again in a heartbeat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank LuvIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good exposure to traditional Irish music.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great music, from traditional Irish instruments and musicians. Very talented bunch. A little too soft spoken for the church atmosphere; we could barely hear them talk from the back row of seats. But the music came through clearly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stumbled upon this concert, and it ended up being the highlight of my stay in Galway. Fantastic music, friendly people, and a history lesson all in one. I wish I could go back again before I leave Ireland.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful music in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We found out about the Tunes in the Church concert series when listening to some local music CD's in a shop. We were fortunate that there was a concert that night. The musicians were engaging and the setting felt intimate. We got to see a very talented group of musicians who were clearly dedicated to traditional music.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MariaKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tunes in the Church also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Tunes in the Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing