We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My alma mater and a lifelong love!”

National University of Ireland-Galway (UCG)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$475.07*
and up
Private Guided Bicycle Tour of Galway City
More Info
US$14.25*
and up
Historic Galway City Tour Hop-On Hop-Off
More Info
US$35.63*
and up
Guided Bicycle Tour of Galway City
Ranked #27 of 137 things to do in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
An Cheathru Rua
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“My alma mater and a lifelong love!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I spent five of the best years in my life in college here between 1988 and 1993. In the years since the college has grown hugely, i have had the honourto teach a few modules here. I like to speakto members of staff here and use their generosity of time and knowledge in my job.

I married a graduate and my girls are learning to swim there. To understand Galway and Galwegians you have to wander around the quad, pause by the aula and soak in the unique nature of the college's relationship with the city and it's people.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MairinAnCheathruRua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    43
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good to see the campus”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Galway's population increases by 30+% when the students arrive each fall, so it's worth seeing where a lot of them go. The campus has one magnificent gothic quadrangle, but the rest of the enormous campus is composed of various recent buildings of mor modern and less interesting style.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Beautiful university in the heart of Galway”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

NUIG (formerly known as UCG) is a beautiful campus to walk through, very safe, and there are gorgeous old buildings to view. However, the layout might be a bit confusing for visitors, so I would advise going to the quad and getting a map from the visitors office that is located there. Beware though: do not park illegally and make sure you pay for your parking at the meters. They taking clamping serious on campus and that comes with a hefty fine!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank greyhoundymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, NH
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, buildings and flowers”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Take a walk through the grounds on your way to or from downtown Galway and enjoy the beautiful buildings.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjws2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Luck of the Irish was with me at festival!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I was so lucky to be able to squeeze on the tour from Sew Many Places and The International Quilt Festival. I couldn't believe the gorgeous quilts on exhibit and the wonderful entertainment the organizers arranged. First rate first class all the way! I'm definitely going again next year. The Irish hospitality was amazing. Wicked fun!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Quil10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National University of Ireland-Galway (UCG) also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to National University of Ireland-Galway (UCG)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing