We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service”
Review of Ming Garden Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

Ming Garden Chinese Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Escape the hustle and bustle of Galway’s busy shopping streets and enjoy some quality Chinese cuisine in the truly unique and tranquil surroundings of Ming Garden Chinese Restaurant.The restaurant boasts an impressive interior with soaring ceilings and period sash windows. Overlooking busy Shop Street, it has been described by many as one of the best places to sit after your meal and enjoy a glass of wine or cup of coffee while watching the world go by.With its central location, it’s the perfect spot for a quick business meeting, lazy lunch or dinner with friends.Tucked away on the first floor of the landmark Colonial Buildings on Eglinton Street, Ming Garden is a true hidden gem!
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Terrible service. We were a party of 8. 4 ordered spring rolls, two vegetarian and two duck. They were unable to tell us which spring rolls were which, we had to cut them open to find out what we were eating. One of them turned out to b pork which we didnt order at all. They cleared the table after the starters before one of the girls had received her veggie spring roll. They are unable to tell us which curry dish was yellow curry or which was green curry. They ran out of the two different types of wine we were drinking( we only had three bottles of wine all were different) one of the bottles was corked. They gave us filthy dirty plates with incrusted food on them. Food was good but Never again the staff were not friendly it was not that busy ether.

Helpful?
5 Thank proftadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ming G, Owner at Ming Garden Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear proftadv
Thanks for taking the time to write a review even if it comes across as being overly negative and some of it hard to believe. However we shall respond to your comments as best we can below.
1. Regarding the mix-up with the spring rolls all we can do is apologise once again. Mistakes do unfortunately happen. Our staff are human after all and race week is our busiest time of the year.
2. Regarding not being able to tell the difference between yellow and green curry I’m afraid we can’t help you with your vision and suggest you see an optician.
3. Regarding running out of wine all we can do is apologise once again. Unfortunately this was caused by an error in our wine suppliers ordering system which resulted in our wine order not being delivered.
4. Regarding the comments about the filthy dirty plates with incrusted food on them I really find this hard to believe as all our plates are hand washed first before being put through a hot dishwasher. I don’t know about you but if I was handed food on a dirty plate I wouldn’t eat it and certainly wouldn’t write on trip advisor saying the food was good. Please see point 2 above regarding seeing an optician.
5. Regarding the comments made about our staff being unfriendly I refute this as it is the friendliness and good customer service of our staff that brings customers back. Please see some of the other reviews here which support my view.
6. Regarding the comment about the restaurant not being busy I find very hard to believe as it was race week here in Galway with approximately 250,000 visitors here for the races. This is and always has been our busiest week of the year. Please see point 2 above regarding seeing an optician.

Kind Regards

Ming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    35
    14
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
317 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Good choice if you are craving Chinese- BEAUTIFUL dining room and great service”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We ran across this restaurant which is on the first floor, up the stairs. We were very very impressed with the decor of the restaurant- quite fancy, but still comfortable. The food was good- we had quite a few dishes. Very nice service too.

A good choice if you are craving Chinese.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ming G, Owner at Ming Garden Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear JPM
Thanks for the kind review. We’re delighted you were impressed with the comfort and décor of our dining room and the good food and service. We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Ming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The decor and ambiance was nice.The service was good and the food arrived promptly;it was hot and well prepared.I had Chicken Satay for starters and honestly it was the best chicken satay I ever tasted.Also had Singapore noodles for main,and that was tasty and well presented too.
My companion had Thai green curry;excellent.
I enjoyed my lunch,have no complaints and will definitely go back there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Touristbee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ming G, Owner at Ming Garden Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi Touristbee 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our restaurant. Were delighted you enjoyed the service, ambience and excellent food. I will pass on your compliments to both the service staff and chefs and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Ming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good !”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Saw this place the first night of our trip and said we would visit here later in the week, then I stumbled across the reviews on here and had second thoughts. However we decided to risk it and I'm glad we did! The food was fantastic and we eat a lot of Chinese food! Spare robs fell off of the bone and the chicken in the main dishes was lovely! Sauces were obviously home made and delicious!! :)

Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ming G, Owner at Ming Garden Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi Kylie C,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We're delighted you were impressed by our food and look forward to seeing you again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Early Bird Option”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Food was lovely and large portions. Reasonable in price but was a slight delay between main course and our coffees. Found the staff overall very obliging and willing to help.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LeaneE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ming G, Owner at Ming Garden Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi LeanneE,
Thank for your kind review. We're delighted you enjoyed your meal and found our restaurant good value. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ming Garden Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing