We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Expensive leaving you hungry” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aniar Restaurant

Aniar Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$43 - US$71
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The food is based on our terroir, the ensemble of natural influences that give a food a sense of place. In the west of Ireland we are surrounded by lush ancient woodland, bountiful shorelines, thriving farmlands all heaving with some of the best ingredients in Europe but unique to us. Aniar obeys the seasons and lets nature decide our menu.Recently returned from Noma, the Danish restaurant, voted the World’s Best Restaurant 2011, Enda McEvoy heads the kitchen. He works closely with local producers while also gathering wild herbs, plants and seaweeds each day from the woodlands and seashore around the area to produce a cuisine based around light clean flavours.Light sauces and stocks, properly reared animals (utilizing all of the animal), sustainably caught fish with an eye to the future of the fishing industry and evolving with the seasons using vegetables, herbs, fruits and berries, either from the wild or cultivated, all encompass the Aniar philosophy. The Chefs pickle and brine as much as is bountiful during the spring and summer to see the restaurant through the winter. Enda explains “we use modern culinary techniques to obtain the best out of the ingredients, while never losing sight of the integrity of the produce”.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Elegant Expensive leaving you hungry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We went to Aniar 2 weeks ago.
After being almost obliged to have dinner at 6 pm or having to postpone again our booking, we went to Aniar full of expectetions , after all in the last year we dined in some of the best restaurants and we wanted to keep the high standards.
The head waiter is a professional, we can't say the same about the waiters who are promising but can't open properly a bottle of wine unless it is a screw on cap.
The menu' was interesting but the reality was Very Good Quality ingredients served very simply and in small quantities to the point that after spending 130 euros we had to go down the road for a proper dessert.
The place is not impressive for style or for its furnitures, but as a famous Irish Painter said, it is a case of children portions prepared from an Interior Designer.
I personally believe as well that the place is very small for the amount of seating they fitted in.

In the end ?
too expensive for what you get, very difficult to understand what make it so special.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrico L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    60
    37
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Definitely deserves its Michelin Star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Excellent meal and excellent service. The food was fresh and unusually matched together that worked really well. We tried the tasting menu which was excellent - not too much, not too heavy and a good taster of most of the dishes on the menu. Excellent wine list and recommendations too. The restaurant isn't very large and not formal, but the nice thing is the tables aren't too close together.
Probably best to reserve in advance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hope0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Chef's Tasting Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We tried Aniar while in Gallway for its Michelin Star award. We liked the casual atmosphere of a small restaurant. We tried the five-course chef's tasting menu with wine pairing and it was very good. We enjoyed the choice of ingredients but some of the dishes lacked flavor, with a very small amount or dry sauce option on the plate. We felt like we could use salt or some kind of seasoning in some cases. We did enjoy the meal and the plates were beautifully put together. The restaurant was booked on a Thursday evening and reservations are most likely required to get in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alethea16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great irish food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

My wife and i ate here in may on a culinary trip to galway.we found it very good.nice clean flavours on tasting menu.good use of ingredients.service,decor and ambiance good.would recomend aniar for luxury irish dining.its a must when in galway.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank curlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb food in great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We ate here a couple of months ago with my fiance and both had the tasting menu which was excellent. The somelier made a great effort to choose only red wines for my fiance who is not a fan of white. The food was stunning - some the best we have we best have ever had. We cant wait to go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Black_Labrador2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aniar Restaurant also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Aniar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing