We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New fave eatery in Galway”
Review of Kai

Kai
Ranked #12 of 484 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, New Zealand
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New fave eatery in Galway”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We got a tip-off to head here from a friend, and seeing as the dinner menu was a bit pricey for us we decided to try Kai for lunch on our first day of two in Galway. Oh boy, were we glad we did!! My new favourite eatery in Galway, and possibly Ireland overall.

Fresh, local ingredients and a menu that changes daily to suit these ingredients. Food was superbly presented, well thought out and everything went together brilliantly. Coffee and cake were both superb too, making our visit a highlight of our trip!

I'll be making a concerted effort to visit Kai every time I head out to the West now, and it was so good that we went back the next day for lunch before we left on our journey home!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    160
    61
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Kai, nice but pricey”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Managed to get a late seating on a Friday night in Galway. It was a lovely meal albeit a little pricey. However I do believe in that you get what you pay for and the food was local, fresh and delicious and value for money.

The restaurant itself had a great atmosphere and the generally the staff were attentive and the service was good. Chap with the moustache was a bit off but didn't deter from the enjoyment.

Nice menu, changed daily in a good surrounding, if you're a foody then you'll love it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Whiskywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Charming and delicious”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a terrific little restaurant on a quiet street on the west side of Galway, out of the hustle and bustle of the center of town. It's small, with beautifully set tables, lots of fresh flowers, an open kitchen, creative lighting, and a stone floor, which makes it feel both old and contemporary at once. We went early, but the place filled up quickly with eager diners. It's a small menu, with a few fish and meat and vegetarian entrees, wonderful appetizers (we have the wild salmon and avocado, superb) and lovely desserts. Nice wine selection, casual and caring service . . . one of the best places we've eaten not just in Galway, but anywhere in the world.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSD57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALWAY
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quite simply: best food in Galway”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

There is no point writing too much about this place. It is definitely the best in Galway. Clever without the extremism of the Michelin starred place around the corner; sensible without oproducing regurgitated bar food; reliable without being boring. What is most impressive, though, is the way the quality is maintained. In fact, over the last few years it has actually got better: a testament to aggressive attitude towards high standards both front-of-house and in the kitchen. Haven't tried Sunday lunch there, but going by the queues outside at 12:30, quite a few other people haven't managed to get in either! Start booking.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salthillres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value and varielty”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Loved the food and enjoyed the atmosphere!
It has a good menu of variety, fresh food cooked
with care and creativity...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bhbjafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kai also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing