We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Kai

Kai
Ranked #13 of 474 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, New Zealand
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
northern ireland
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We had the most fantastic meal at Kai recently. I couldn't recommend it highly enough. The food was absolutely amazing - I am still dreaming about the home made sea salt ice cream! Can't wait for another opportunity to dine there again.

Helpful?
Thank armccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    159
    60
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I was recently in Galway and went to Kai twice while I was there. The food was great. They have a great selection for all tastes. The bread they make is just the best. The first time I went, I had soup and bread, which was delicious, and the next time, I had the fish, which was amazing! The deserts are 'to die for' I thought the atmosphere, staff and service were great. If I get back to Galway again, I will definitely go back. Very reasonable prices as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nazGisborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“class act”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

From the moment of arriving outside I like the whole building ,the decor , the ambiance . It is so relaxed for a city venue , with lovely,friendly staff to make you at home immediately there is non of that artificial haughtiness that some restaurants like to engage in . The menu is always interesting and different it is a well deserved winner of many food awards . Little wonder it is nearly always booked out I think this speaks for itself. Well worth a visit .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jessie587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in Galway”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I love this restaurant. The menu changes but whatever you have, it will be good. They do seafood very well but as I am a vegetarian, I can also say that they cater for veggies. The downstairs is lovely, stone interior with low hanging lights (like tea lights) which is charming. They do have a larger room you can book for bigger groups up stairs (no more than about 10 but it is a nice separate area). Go!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CavKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The owner of our B&B told us about Kai and it took two days to get a reservation. It was worth the wait. The restaurant is very relaxed, both in it's decoration and the pace of service, something we appreciated. All the dishes we had were flavorful and the portions were generous. I had the Connemara lamb shank which was delicious and included a large portion of well prepared vegetables. If you get to Galway, call immediately for a reservation!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kai also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing