We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub food and craft beer!”
Review of The Cottage Bar - CLOSED

The Cottage Bar
Price range: US$5 - US$22
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great pub food and craft beer!”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Another guest at our B&B recommended this place and we couldn't have been happier. Great presentation on the locally sourced food and finding out about the craft beers brewed by the owners was a bonus! We had to try the fish and chips, which were great, but do save room for the desserts- they are worth it! Nice friendly local crowd the night we were in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tata4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    22
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good one night, not so good the next”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Visited this pub for dinner based on tripadvisor reviews. Monday was great. Very friendly hosts, excellent service. Food was delicious, micro-brew beer was very tasty. Good night all round.

Went back the next night and the regular hosts were not there. The two (I think) staff couldn't cope and service was poor. Food and beer still tasted good but we had to ask for menus, ask to place orders, ask for dessert menus.

Bottom line is that the food and beer is really pretty good and prices are standard for the area. Hit a night with the right staff and it's great, hit another night and it isn't

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A lovely Experience”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is a bar/restaurant in Salthill Galway, and the bar food is just wonderful, a wide range of food to choose from, and have been here twice and each time, our meal was very well presented and the taste was divine on each occasion. You can order starters mains and dessert all are yums, and local sourced.
The staff are excellent and very helpful and friendly, came to check on us during each course to make sure everything was ok. Its lovely in the winter time they have a big open log fire, very cosy.
So all in all a really lovely experience. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Went here for a family occasion and had a really lovely evening. Lisa and the staff were very friendly, especially to the children. They could not do enough and nothing was a problem. Lovely and relaxed atmosphere! Would not hesitate in recommending here for a get together!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Go here!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Spent a couple of days in galway and this little gem of a bar quickly became my favourite. Great beer and even better staff. Was treated like I was their favourite customer they had known forever, cannot say enough nice things about the place. Lisa you are a legend, thanks for everything.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank conobyrne86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cottage Bar also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing