We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cappa Veagh Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eilat, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The gracious hosts, Catherine and Pat manage a beautiful facility. We were traveling with our 3 adult children and they went out of their way to accommodate and assist us . And while you're there, you must try Catherine's porridge made with a bit of Irish Mist..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
127
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Prior to arriving at Cappa Veagh B&B we had emailed asking if it would be possible to get an appointment with a physiotherapist as one of our party was having major back problems. Upon arrival we were made most welcome with an enjoyable afternoon tea. We were then advised that an appointment with a physio had been made for the next morning for which we were most grateful. After a great breakfast Pat very kindly piloted us to the physio whose treatment proved most helpful. A second appointment was available the next morning which was willingly accepted.

We would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Cappa Veagh B&B to anyone looking for accommodation in Galway which is clean, comfortable, very welcoming and homely and with great breakfasts.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolindaduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

When we arrive we were greeted by Catherine and Pat who were very friendly and welcoming. The room we stayed was lovely on the top floor of the house with a great view of the Ocean. They provided great options for places to eat in Salthill. The Irish breakfast provided was excellent, try Catherine's homemade porridge it's delicious. Only a short 5 min walk to downtown Salthill and Galway Bay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

You cannot go wrong staying at this wonderful B&B! Catherine and Pat are lovely hosts! Our room was spotless. We had spent the two previous nights in a noisy B&B in Kilkee and staying here in a quiet B&B was relaxing. Pat assisted us with various tourist options in the area and even offered to make ferry boat reservations to the Aran Islands. Catherine made us a wonderful breakfast. Her Irish porridge was delicious! If we have an opportunity to return to Galway, we know just the place to stay!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Las310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We came to the Galway area specifically because my husband's ancestors had lived here up until a century ago. Years have passed, the old folks are long gone. No one in the family has known connections in Galway and Spiddal anymore, but we still wanted to feel close to those who'd never let their children and grandchildren forget how much they loved Ireland.

Catherine and Pat made us feel as welcome as any family members could have, taking time to have thoughtful conversations and coming up with suggestions for brilliant ways to get to know the area better. Our room was great, impeccably clean and very comfortable. Our luggage had been delayed, and Catherine not only set us up with the necessary missing toiletries, but she shooed us off for a day of sightseeing with no concerns about the safety of the late delivery.

The guest house is charming, with plenty of evidence of Ireland, combined with interesting artwork from other countries. The only challenging part of our stay was keeping from eating too much at breakfast, as everything always tasted so good and was presented so beautifully. Fortunately, it's just a bit of a nice walk from the guest house to shopping and the promenade along the bay, so we had a chance to walk off some of those delicious calories.

It's nice to do business with two such very nice people!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vistachio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This was our first trip to Galway, though my wife and I had been to Dublin numerous times. Given the number of B&Bs in the Galway area, it was difficult to select one that would meet our standards and not end up detracting from the trip. I came to Tripadvisor and began my search. The selection of excellent B&Bs was very limited at the time of my search, but I came across Cappa Veagh, saw the reviews and immediately made a reservation before they were sold out, too. It was the best decision!

Catherine and Pat could not have been nicer and more gracious hosts, from the warm welcome to the very clean and welcoming home. Pat insisted on taking out bags up to the room, though they must have weighed a ton. He was very helpful in giving us tips on what to do in Galway and how to navigate our way into town. He mentioned the bus that stopped just across the street, but we're walkers, so he got out a map and outlined a few routes that would take us into town. The walk, by the way, is not too long and gives a glorious view of Galway Harbour from Salthill to downtown Galway. Pat was very patient with us being suddenly "directionally challenged" and made sure that his directions to wherever we wanted to go were clearly understood.

The room was a bit small, but that's because there was a private bathroom. That's fine with us. Catherine's breakfasts were exceptional in their flavor and presentation. Her "specials" were excellent and even the traditional Irish breakfast was 'spot-on'. The coffee was very good!

I think we have found a new "home" in Galway the next time we travel. We were delighted with Cappa Veigh and would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: our room faced the east and unless you like being awakened by the sun, keep the shades closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank novadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern France
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

It's difficult to add anything to what other reviewers have written. The warm welcome from Catherine and Pat, the clean and well-appointed facilities, the excellent breakfasts (including Catherine's wonderful porridge) made our five-night stay a real treat.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brits_abroad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,064 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,474 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
845 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Sea-Breeze Lodge
#3 of 187 in Galway
686 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 187 in Galway
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cappa Veagh Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cappa Veagh Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cappa Veagh Bed & Breakfast
Address: Cappa Veagh 76 Dalysfort Road | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cappa Veagh is a 4 star Failte Ireland Approved family-run bed and breakfast. Your hosts Catherine & Pat Quinlan are dedicated to maintaining a high standard of accommodation while providing excellent personalised service. Off street parking, Wifi, lounge and garden are available for guest use. It is only short stroll to Salthill's promenade and just 2km from Galway city centre. A selection of bars and restaurants are within walking distance. Your hosts on request can book daily tours to Connemara, the Aran Island and the Cliffs of Moher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Cappa Veagh Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing