We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
County Offaly, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in November, check in was smooth and efficient, I asked for a water view room and was given a lovely room with a great view. I found the staff in the bar very pleasant and helpful, breakfast was very good, a wide selection of everything you could possibly want to eat. We didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment. Had some great,ends in the spa which is just magnificent, total relaxation and the staff were very helpful, they may have been a little pushy on selling product but it was manageable! Definitely if you have the time book a treatment or two and spend several hours relaxing in the spa, lovely outdoor hot tub and good swimming pool. The hotel is in a very central location, you can just park the car and walk everywhere. I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to my next visit.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sparkely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonHotel G, Social Media Coordinator at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate you writing this kind review and like to thank you for your recommendation.

I hope that we will now be your first choose in Galway and look forward to having you back.

Best regards,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    884
    368
    165
    101
See reviews for
432
1,007
85
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Arrived by train Sunday afternoon and had a bit of a queue with all the other train riders, Hotel did a good job of clearing the backlog. Room was satisfactory and had a nice view of water (inlet?). All in all a good room with no issues.

Good WiFi - a must for me. Breakfast was "full Irish" so speaks for itself.

After traipsing around Galway, I opted to eat at the hotel - very delightful dining experience.

Would stay again and have stayed before.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red-Badger-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonHotel G, Social Media Coordinator at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your very kind review.

We are always delighted to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We are also thrilled that you have chosen to remain a loyal customer of the Radisson Blu,Galway.

We look forward to have you back soon.

Best regards,

Sarah O Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here two nights November 2013. Parking 5 euros/night. Room was very comfortable and clean. Staff was very friendly. About a ten minute walk to the city centre with lots of shops, restaurants and pubs. Eyre Square is about 5 minutes from hotel. Walk through the park to Williamsgate St which turns into Shop St as the name implies, lots of shops and pubs! Only had breakfast here, buffet was typical of this type of hotel, plenty of choices with eggs made to order.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mad58285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonHotel G, Social Media Coordinator at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will choose to stay with us for any future trips to Galway.

Best regards,

Sarah O Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The trip was part business part pleasure. The hotel is located about one block from the transport station (great for people traveling from Dublin Airport by bus). It is located a few easy walking blocks from the main shopping/downtown areas of Galway. Room faced the courtyard.

Plus: Quiet rooms
Comfortable bed
Professional and accommodating staff
On-site restaurants and bar/lounge
Proximity to city center and transportation
Newspaper at breakfast (if you get there early)
Outside deck area with water views

Minus:
Room size seemed small but this may be a European standard
Housekeeping was not up to snuff and was inconsistent
Issues with heat (either too much or too little) in the room
Exhaust fan in bathroom did not function at a high level

Room Tip: Water views are nice but the cost somehow doesn't seem worth it - take a walk to see the water a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2HVTRAV4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonHotel G, Social Media Coordinator at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to offer my sincere thanks for the time you have taken to write this review.

I would like to let you know that we are currently undergoing a large investment which includes upgrading our air conditioning units. I apologise that you had issues in this regard and hope that it did not upset your sty too much.

I will also pass your feedback on to our Housekeeping Manager and make sure all necessary steps re taken to assure this is not an issue in the future.

I hope that the positive aspects of your stay have outweighed the negatives and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.

Best regards,

Sarah O Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We went to Galway for the start of the Christmas Markets in Eyre Square. The Radisson was ideal as it was just around the corner and it had it's own parking underneath the hotel (€5 for hotel guests).

We booked a room on level 5 as the rooms are bigger. The room did not disappoint. There was a big TV, comfortable seating area and a big comfortable bed.

The only down side to our stay was the breakfast the following morning. The hot breakfast was cold and the sausages looked barely cooked. I got a scone instead and it tasted like is was made two days previously. The only thing that was edible was the fruit and the toast. Very disappointing as they charge €17 per person. My husband and I had to get breakfast in a cafe in the town. I mentioned this at checkout and the gentleman at the front desk said he would pass it on to the kitchen staff.

I would stay again but I would go room only and go to one of the many local cafes for a nice breakfast.

Room Tip: Go room only and stay on level 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ...........
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonHotel G, Social Media Coordinator at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review.

We have received feedback from the front desk regarding the breakfast and have taken steps in the past number of weeks to make improvements. We have changed the type of sausages we are serving and I will again bring all other points to the attention of our Restaurant Manager & Head Chef.

Again thank you for your feedback.

Best regards,

Sarah O Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We got a great deal in this hotel and upgraded rooms. My room had was large and very comfortable. Bed was very comfortable and my only complaint was the very soft pillows.
View from my room was fantastic overlooking the water.
Location was handy - easy to get to, close to the city centre, bus and train terminals.
Breakfast was gorgeous - lots of variety, fruit, pastries and hot food.
We had drinks in area beside reception - service was friendly and efficient,
I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the water was beautiful and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonHotel G, Social Media Coordinator at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please make sure to let us know when you are coming back to us, we would be delighted to arrange a different pillow type for you.

Many thanks for your review.

Best regards,

Sarah O Mahony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

First of all, I do not usually stay in high-end hotels. Plans to go on a longer holiday in fell through, so I decided to visit Galway for a weekend and treat myself with a stay in the Radisson Blu. By the time of booking there were only Business Class rooms available and after having a quick look on the hotel’s website, I decided to treat myself not only by staying in the Radisson, but even in a Business Class room. My point is, usually my budget is 50 Euro/night and I am used to expect what I pay for. So when I stay in a 2-3 star hotel, it’s ok to have some minor disturbances.

However, when a 4 star hotel like the Radisson Blu promotes a luxury hotel experience and charges more than 150 Euro per night, I think it’s ok to expect some pretty good value for the money.

The first surprise was the size of the room. It seemed like a standard hotel size room one would get in the Holiday Inn or elsewhere. Judging by the fire evacuation plan there is no difference in size between regular rooms and Business Class rooms. The most prominent difference would be the Nespresso coffee machine in the room and a bathrobe.

When getting comfortable in the room I noticed that cables where hanging out of the TV and that it wasn’t working. After failing to fix it myself, I called reception and 10 minutes later it was all fixed. But this got me thinking and then I started to notice that the room wasn’t really cleaned properly.

- The TV remote was downright disgusting. It was full of dust and grease. I have put it prominently on the desk for the room service next day to see, but it wasn’t cleaned.
- The pages of the little book with information about the hotel were full of dirt fingerprints.
- The box which contained the coffee for the Nespresso machine contained some coins from I guess a previous guest.
- The bathroom tub had mould on the side.

The room itself would have been ok but if a “luxury hotel” fails at the basic room cleaning procedures, that has me worried. Especially if the product sold is in a high-end category, a supposedly business class.

The hotel writes in their info book that “After all, it’s the small things that matter” Yes indeed. But again, cleaning a room properly is a pretty basic service.

When checking out, I was waiting to be asked how my stay was. As this didn’t happen I decided to write this review. Please find pictures attached.

My final verdict is: I regret paying that much money, as I did not receive the expected value for it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georg454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonHotel G, Social Media Coordinator at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I really appreciate you taking the time to write this review as it is from our customer feedback that we make our improvements.

I am really disappointed to read about your experience with us.

We strive to offer our guests 100% satisfaction and I am sorry that we have let you down so badly.

I have brought each of the points you have raised to the attention of both the General Manager and the relevant department managers and will follow up with each of them to ensure the correct action has been taken.

If you would like to contact me directly, I would be happy to go through your experience in more detail.

I hope to hear from you in the near future.

Best regards ,

Sarah O Mahony
sarah.omahony@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,921 reviews
2.0 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,124 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
1.2 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
4.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Address: Lough Atalia Rd, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Galway
#10 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#17 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#17 Business Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are guaranteed the best of all worlds when you stay at the luxurious four star Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Galway. Scenic Galway Bay views, luxury city centre hotel accommodation, excellent food, world class spirit one spa & leisure facilities, superb conference & meeting venue and elegant wedding facilities.Take advantage of some of Galway's great shopping streets, making it easy to explore the area's best attractions and fit some shopping in along the way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Galway
Radisson Hotel Galway
Radisson Galway
Galway Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Galway
Radisson Sas Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing