We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steak plate”

The Western Restaurant
Ranked #107 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$37
Cuisines: Irish, European, International, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Western Restaurant in Galway City Centre is the place to be if you want to enjoy good food in a friendly atmosphere. Nestled behind the traditional Irish Pub in a fully restored Georgian Building, The Western Restaurant provides the perfect Galway city centre dining experience with its up to date decor and excellent choice of menu dishes. With its own car parking, our family friendly restaurant is a perfect choice for family lunches, dinners and all other special occasions.
Boynton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steak plate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

my husband and I visited Ireland and used a groupon we purchased at The Western. The waitress as well as the bartender was extremely accommodating and opened the restaurant early to suit us. The steak plate was great and had a lot of food, which even without the groupon was worth the price (it is the most expensive thing on the menu). Thank you!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcouturier89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    38
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent all round.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We had groupon deal. We had an excellent meal and really lovely friendly staff. So pleasant and helpful. Thank you Michelle and Emma. You are both a great asset to the Western. Would highly recommend your restaurant. Good wholesome food and very good value.. long may you continue and keep offering the great meal deals.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ATKGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“great value,great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Had a meal here on the 20th Feb as had purchased a groupon deal for 2 steak dinners for €21.95. Didn't know where it was as was just staying in Galway for a few days, but found it just off Eyre Sq. Wasn't expecting a lot due to the price I paid, but I was completely wrong. Upon entering the very nice & well laid out restaurant, was met by friendly staff who immediately advised us that we could choose whatever we liked off the menu, it didn't have to be the steaks. We had 1 starter, 1 desert, 2 half bottles of wine & the 2 steaks. We received lovely breads, bottle of water, generous proportions of veg,salads,chips,etc and I still only had to give another €30 for everything, unbelievable value for the quality of everything we had. Would absolutely recommend this place for great food & great value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laney07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Situated just off Eyre square, we found this restaurant by chance, walking back to our hotel. Had a lovely evening meal with my wife and in-laws, we chose from the €20 3-course set menu. Incredible value for money, very generous portions you certainly won't go home hungry! I had the roast beef (3 thick slices) which melted in my mouth! The dining room is formal, elegant and clean. The staff are very friendly and attentive, i would happily pay double for this quality of food & service!! Would definitely return, a hidden gem!!

Helpful?
Thank Mezzie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Valentine's Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Myself and my other half just ate here for Valentine's Day. We had never eaten here before but were so impressed we decided to write a review. The service was great, all waiters/waitresses were polite and friendly. The restaurant venue was comfortable and relaxed. The restaurant was great value, we went for the valentine's deal wich was a three course meal and a glass of wine for two at 39.00 euro. This works out at just €19.50 each, however, the best part was the food. Plates were cleared for each course, the food was delicious and even though we were stuffed with the amount we were eating we found ourselves finishing every plate because of how good the food was. We will definately be back again and will be recommend this place to others.

Helpful?
Thank baby-beag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Western Restaurant also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Western Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing