We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreal views and good craic”
Review of Kayakmor

Kayakmor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Galway Kayak Tours Experience the untamed West Coast of Ireland on a kayak touring adventure along the Wild Atlantic Way. Take a guided kayak trip, enjoy the craic and discover the enchanting waterways of River & Lough Corrib and the stunning coast around Galway. We look forward to seeing you afloat! Tours starting from €40 per person (subject to group size)
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unreal views and good craic”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Jim is Kayakmor and is an excellent guide. My fiancee and I headed out to Lough Corrib with him for the afternoon and had a fantastic time. As others have said safety is a concern of his, and my fiancee is typically nervous around deep water but was immediately put to ease. We then had a great few hours seeing all manner of wildlife and scenic views. Stopped for some nice drinks and snacks and then paddled home. Jim had said something about the water and being around it bringing up serotonin levels and I can attest to that, right now I'm so chilled out and laid back I'm horizontal. Will make a point of coming back to the area with family and giving Jim a call again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    9
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent kayaking afternoon!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Paddling with Jim was a unforgettable experience. The trip started with a very good intro to safe and safety. Once we were ready we started the trip around the Lough Corrib he made himself sure that everyone was having a good time. The views and the paddling between the reeds were awesome. Before heading back Jim took five plastic glasses and poured a delicious hot drink in them, he also gave us a chocolate bar to fill the batteries before the last paddling. If I return to Galway I will call him again.

Ahora en Español:
Hacer kayak en Galway fue una experiencia estupenda. Los paisajes eran preciosos y el instructor (Jim) fue muy amable y se preocupó de que todo el mundo se lo estuviera pasando bien. Sus explicaciones y atención hacen que esta actividad sea apta para la mayor parte de la gente. Cuando creíamos que ya volvíamos Jim sacó el termo de te y unas barras de chocolate para todos. Muy recomendable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day made even more enjoyable thanks to Jim”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Three of us had never been kayaking before and we could not have been better looked after, Jim is highly entertaining, knowledgeable and a great guide. He even had hot drinks and choclate bars for us when we had a break! Its a beautiful area of Galway to visit and we would highly reccommend to anyone who wants to see a differnet side to Galway. Next time we are back in Galway we will be ringing Jim.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“An awesome experience!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were lead to Kayakmor by some friends who kayaked with him a few years prior. The reviews on Trip Advisor were nothing but positive too so we decided to spend our only afternoon in Galway with Jim. From the beginning, Jim was nothing but helpful. I had undergone knee surgery 6 weeks prior to the trip and was a bit concerned about the safety of getting into and out of the kayak but Jim assured me that he would help me as needed. We met Jim at Menlo Pier for our tour for a beautiful afternoon on the water. As promised, getting into the kayak was a breeze with Jim's help. He was very thorough and informative and has a great sense of humor! He also took many pictures of us kayaking the River Corrib to Lough Corrib (Ireland's biggest lake) and back which we appreciated since we left our camera onshore to avoid potential submersion! All in all a great afternoon! Highly recommend and would be great for beginners too! PS - Would recommend eating prior to activity - it is a decent workout and although Jim brings a snack, you'll need your energy. Also, be sure to use the bathroom prior to going out. At least at Menlo Pier, there were no bathroom facilities.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great evening activity! ”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We're just back from an evening of kayaking with Jim and had to write a review. We had such a lovely time. Jim is a gentleman, he explains everything you need to know and has endless patience. The views around the lake were lovely and we would highly recommend this activity. Suitable for beginners.

Helpful?
1 Thank LynneKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kayakmor also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Kayakmor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing