We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant but overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prairie House-Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prairie House-Boutique Hotel
Ranked #43 of 46 Hotels in Galway
HCMC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We probably made a major mistake in going to Galway during the Arts festival as everything seemed either booked up or ridiculously expensive. I got what seemed to be a reasonable deal at the Prairie Townhouse but felt it was a bit of a rip-off when we arrived. Our room (7) was ridiculously small- we had several pieces of luggage and could hardly open our cases. There was nowhere to hang clothes either. It was a Sunday and all the local parking spaces were occupied so we had to park some distance away and stagger with the cases to the door. (Tip for drivers: get your free parking place on the seafront after 9pm and before 10am). The wifi signal (from the Black Cat bar below) was far too weak so I had to take my laptop downstairs every evening to catch up with my work. This was actually good as I discovered a fantastic bar/restaurant (see separate review). On the plus side, the power shower was fantastic and the towels large enough and changed every day (though not bedlinen). The bed was comfortable. There was only cheap liquid soap in the bathroom, another disappointment. Our room faced the street and we needed the window open because it was otherwise too hot, but we got awakened every morning at 6am by some kind of industrial machinery whining for an hour. Very unpleasant, and after that, lots of noise from the street.

Basically this is a guest house without breakfast or any kind of service apart from a person there to take your money and clean your room. (Unlike some other reviewers, I was not asked to pay in advance). Having said that, rooms are cosy, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated, but this does not compensate for it being ridiculously overpriced. Salthill is a rather shabby suburb of Galway - convenient for us, with a car, and has a nice beach, but a good long walk from Galway city. On the whole, however, I think the owners of the guesthouse need to consider the lack of amenities and adjust their pricing strategy. I booked in advance for 3 nights because the booking sites seemed to be suggesting nothing much was available- on arrival, I found plenty of B & B's with vacancies advertised and I bet many were cheaper than what we paid for the this place. My advice would be to stay here if you do not have much luggage and plan to be out all day, but only if a special deal is offered, and definitely shop around first.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bathtub, they seem to be bigger. The wifi signal is better on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank residentexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    24
    34
    25
    35
See reviews for
4
75
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here our first time in galway/salt hill, we had room 10 it was a cosy little number with a nice bath in our room it was a lovely bright n airy room with a very comfy bed, also bernie the hostess was a lovely lady and very helpful, we had a wonderful relaxing time and would return again. Lisa and Fred

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Southsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights whilst on our honeymoon. I was really disappointed with the place actually. My grievances were:

- not a particularly friendly welcome, and we were asked for payment upfront (before we had even seen our room) which I thought was in bad taste.
- there was no tea/coffee in the room, or a welcome booklet about the area or anything
- we hadn't realised there was no breakfast included, so it didn't feel like very good value for money.
- our room was above an alley way and during the early hours of the morning we could hear the restaurant emptying their rubbish into the bins. It woke us up the first two nights, and on the third we asked the hostess if she could ask the restaurant to be a little quieter; to be fair to her she must have done as it was a lot quieter that evening, but she seemed liked she really didn't want to, which we didn't like.
- the wifi didn't work! Really annoying.

The hostess has a lot to learn about hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaMc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galway hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Yes, it's tiny. But it's impeccably decorated and refurbished. Our room (2) was small but cosy, we had a good TV, a comfortable bed, room to hang our clothes and a modern bathroom in perfect working order (great power shower, btw, but an extra hook on the back of the door would have been extra handy) and no bathtub in the room. The room was warm, the towels were a good size (not standard in many hotels) and to the back of the house, so quiet (except for 40 seconds of empties being dropped into the recycling bin just before midnight by the restaurant staff downstairs). If you can help it, don't take hard cases and opt for a travel bag you can fold. You pay when you get your key.
Although they say they have it and you get a password, we were unable to use the wifi. Not sure if it was down or the walls are two thick or there are two many networks around, but we found it impossible to connect to the Internet.
Obviously this is not a place for a long stay, because Salthill is not the place for a long stay. I do think it's overpriced for the location, though. Salthill is a tired and not pretty holiday resort, and that's on a sunny day. That said, the view of the bay is just round the corner and it's fantastic. It's a long long (but very pleasant) walk to Galway so factor the taxi rides or the bus into your budget if you think you might need them. Again, for the price paid they should have hairdryers in all rooms and not have to ask for it when you check in. I say this because... there is no reception area and there is no staff in the building after hours -unless they stand under the stairs all night- so if you need something in the middle of the night, you probably have to call someone on a mobile for it. Also, some complementary toiletries would be appreciated. One final thing, if you're turning up before the 4pm check-in time, call in advance because there's nobody there until that time and there's nowhere to sit and wait. The restaurant downstairs is an independently run business, they know nothing and so they will tell you. There are plenty of places for breakfast and a reasonable choice of eateries in Salthill, though.
In all we enjoyed our one night but I have to say next time we're in Galway we'll look for a place in Galway city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back. They're probably even smaller but the front of the house is on a bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elsatrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here. The rooms are CLAUSTROPHOBIC. Very NOISY as right above a taxi rank so continuous noise all night. Window was broken, sink didn't empty, shower door not possible to open if shut completely. No tea / coffee / water. A horrible experience. When we decided to leave early we weren't asked how our stay was - just that we had to pay for extra night as we were giving such short notice. We met a couple in Galway the night before we left who had the same experience.
Don't stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Even if there is no proper reception, our stay in Prairie House was very comfortable!
The owners are really nice, and the room with the big bath was so cosy for two nights!
We could suggest maybe a partnership with the restaurant black cat downstairs for breakfirst and special meals for residents !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

cannot understand why this is advertised as a hotel. we got a shock when we say our room as it was so small. it did'nt have any thing in the room only a small double bed. there were no bedside lockers/tables and no place to hang clothes also no tea/coffee facilities. there is no breakfast. it was nearly impossible to walk around the bed. surely a health/safety risk. we cancelled our second night there as we were claustrophobic.

Room Tip: there is no tip to chose a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#29 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Crest  B&B
Ocean Crest B&B
#33 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
0.5 mi away
Rockbarton Park Hotel
Rockbarton Park Hotel
#34 of 46 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ardilaun Hotel
The Ardilaun Hotel
#17 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prairie House-Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prairie House-Boutique Hotel

Property: Prairie House-Boutique Hotel
Address: Prairie House 179 Upper Salthill | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Prairie House-Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing