We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fancy a pleasant nights snooze...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flannery's Hotel Galway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fancy a pleasant nights snooze...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed for one night and enjoyed the stay. It fitted the purpose, having got into Galway late at night and not being familiar, it was just before entering town so navigating there was straight forward. The room price was very reasonable, though most places would include breakfast in the room rate. The room was comfortable, bed too, nicely decorated ( no curtains matching bed covers) , just white bed duvet and a sheet between , which is always nice in a hotel bed. The bathroom was spotless and the glass bath/shower door was a plus, unlike hotel shower curtains which can be a hive for collecting dirt if kept unclean. Room was very spacious, bathroom a bit tight, power shower and clean. The tv in the room had many channels and was rather big, which was nice for a tv lover live myself. I can't fault this hotel at all. I had a nice sandwich served in the bar as it was late and it tasted great. I did notice there were more mature folks in the hotel and bar, so it’s a quiet hotel. A one man band was playing, and he was pleasant to listen to.
The hotel is not too far from the city centre, it however is not handy for quickly getting in and out of the main attractions without thinking of how to get in and out. It is not walking distance, so staying here you have to consider transportation. Check in and out was swift and staff at reception were pleasant.

Room Tip: Room near the back on second floor look out onto a soccer pitch, however the hotel generaters are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P5aula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    410
    205
    76
    49
See reviews for
246
431
67
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CORK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here in October just gone for one night.....We informed the hotel we would be arriving early (1030am) and to be fair when we arrived our room was ready,check in was a breeze as the girl we dealt with was as efficient as a swiss clock.....Our room was fine clean with a generous size ensuite,along with many extras and the room temp was just perfect as i find sometimes hotel rooms can be like saunas....We dined in the Hotel that night and were served some excellent fare by Mai,who to be fair was an excellent waitress chatty knowledgeable and pleasant a credit to herself and her trade.....Breafast was also top drawer stuff which we could not fault....Overall the Hotel is well worth a visit and stay,the only negative is finding the place approaching from the Cork side and a bit of signage would not go astray if the council will allow it.............................

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THOMAS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

One our favorite stays on our trip to Ireland. Friendly service, accommodating, nice room. Would recommend to anyone! Great value, clean and updated rooms, restaurant & bar.... They even made two night of dinner reservations for us. We told them what we were looking for and we ended up at some of the best eaters in Galway. When come back again, we'l be staying here, hands down.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Excellent hotel. Comfortable, clean and quiet room. The restaurant provided us with great food. Staff friendly, helpful and courteous. Location was exactly what we wanted. The bus service into and out of Galway picked us up across the street and dropped us off in front of the hotel. Wonderful value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Flannery's one night during our honeymoon in Ireland on recommendation from a hostess at a restaurant we ate at earlier in our trip. We found a deal through Booking.com (69 euro) which made this absolutely lovely room a great deal. I'm not sure how much the rooms would normally cost. The room was the best we had during our trip. Very spacious, even by American standards, spacious bathroom, very comfortable beds. There isn't a view but the hotel is located on Dublin road, close to the main roads heading south, north, and east if you're coming in with a car on a roadtrip. It's about a 30min walk downtown. Breakfast wasn't included which coming from the U.S. is unusual but with everything else they did I wouldn't say that was much of a drawback. There are many wonderful places to eat in Galway. There was a bit of noise (Friday night) and we had to use earplugs to fall asleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We (a couple, 42 and 51 yrs) stayed for three nights in this gem of a hotel. From the first minute till the last our stay was great! Room was large, cosy and quiet, beds comfortable, bathroom a bit worn but very clean. WiFi in room worked perfectly. The staff is fantastic: genuinely friendly, extremely service minded and attentive without ever being obtrusive. We recommend the bar and the food served there, as well as the different breakfast options. To sum up: this hotel is something special. We will definitely return and are already looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyEri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

I went with a group of seventy of our more senior citizens for a four day break. On arrival we were greeted with a lovely afternoon tea and scones at no extra cost. The food was excellent and plentiful. The staff were ALL highly professional, friendly and helpful. The list if staff I would like to mention is really everyone but in particular Michelle Siobahn Stefan Connor Dermet went out of their way to ensure we all had a fantastic time. I recommend this hotel without reservation ( no pun intended ) and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julianne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
3.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flannery's Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flannery's Hotel Galway

Property: Flannery's Hotel Galway
Address: Dublin Road | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Flannery's Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flannery's Hotel is Galway's finest family run hotel. Facilites include 134 modern luxurious Bedrooms, Frankie's Bar & Bistro, The Galwegian Restaurant and 4 purpose built conference suites. The hotel offer free on-site car-parking and free Wi-fi throughout.The hotel is ideally situated for visiting Galway City and the famous attractions of the West of Ireland including; Connemara, the Aran Islands, the Burren & the Cliffs of Moher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Flannery's Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galway
Galway Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing