We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, somewhat outdated building.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Gormanston
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice staff, somewhat outdated building.”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed here recently. It was a Saturday and on entering the premises the first thing that struck me was the sheer number of men in the bar for a Saturday afternoon. They were mostly in Galway for a stag weekend. The staff in the bar and at reception were friendly and helpful. The building is fairly old and the rooms can be noisy. It was built in 1969. You probably need to get a taxi into town. I suppose you could say this hotel is basic nothing fancy. There are no minibars in the rooms. But for a stag weekend I suppose it has all that people need.

Room Tip: If you want to get a good night's sleep ask the helpful staff to locate you away from the stags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montysheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanFarragher, General Manager at Flannery's Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Flannery's Hotel Galway. Thank you for saying that our staff are friendly & helpful. We take all reviews on board and endeavour to ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable stay with us. I hope to welcome you back to us, if you are ever back in Galway.

Kind Regards
Siobhan Farragher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    431
    212
    83
    51
See reviews for
263
454
70
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Upon on arrival we were greeted warmly and checked in with no hassle. The hotel itself was extremely busy with communions, stags etc.

We attempted to eat in the bar but there was no seats so we were kindly redirected to the hotel restaurant, where we ordered from the bar menu.

The room itself was clean and spacious. It was roughly a 10 minute drive into the square. A taxi in cost us 10 euro.

Hotel would probably be best suited to groups of young people wanting a good night out. I would not recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet, relaxing weekend away!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigtumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanFarragher, General Manager at Flannery's Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Flannerys Hotel Galway. We were pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your room and found our staff friendly & helpful. Bank Holiday Weekends tend to be the busiest time in Galway but rest assured they are plenty of other opportunites to avail of a quiet weekend in Galway. I hope to welcome you back to us, if you are ever back in Galway.

Kind Regards
Siobhan Farragher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have stayed in this hotel many many times over the past few years, I have always remarked to myself just how fabulous this hotel is. Every single person in this hotel must have been on a friendly and hospitable course! They can't seem to do enough for you...always checking if you need anything else....and delivering if you do! The rooms are bright and spacious with a big comfortable bed...tea/coffee facilities provided along with a safe. I decided not just to remark to myself this time on what a great experience staying in Flannerys is....but to share it with you. I brought my little girl with me this time. I have never experienced the kindness and utter familiarity...with one member of staff remembering my little girls name from the last time we stayed. Many little touches of kindness and excellent food and service makes ths hotel the only place to stay in Galway! One word..."Excellent!"
True Irish hospitality at its best....

Room Tip: All rooms are good...great soundproofing, I never experienced noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I had a nice stay here with the lads last weekend. It's a fine clean hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. The bar is nice with a tasty pint of Guinness. The breakfast was very good and if you wanted a little more there was no problem. The waiting staff were very helpful. I would not recommend this hotel for someone with a young family for it is a lively spot with stag and hen parties. All in all it was perfect for what we wanted, which was a place to put the head down after a lads night away in the city of Galway.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank terrysligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms were extremely clean and spacious especially in comparison to other hotel rooms that I've stayed in. The hotel was about ten mins drive from eyre square, €8 in a taxi and also has a bus stop located right at the front door. Lovely carvery food. The staff were very accommodating. Excellent value for money. Recruited two others to stay in the hotel on our last night there for a wee Galway night out. Really quiet hotel with very little noise from other occupants or from the bar. Will definitely stay there again and indeed recommend it again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungThornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We enjoyed several delicious dinners when recently visiting Galway ... Flannery's was a haven of piece and quiet as our own hotel was very noisy at meal times.

Particular thanks to the 2 young ladies working in the dining room ... excellent service and wonderfully nice young women. Thank you for making our visit so pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizetteT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

WE recently spent the easter bank holiday here and were very pleased with the hotel,. It is a 3 star - no pool no sauna etc but very pleasant. The heating when it came on early in the morning was a bit noisy but he ho it is a 3 star hotel situated on the main Dublin road.

Very reasonable so would suit people on a budget - no facilities for children which we feel is an advantage as it discourages families.

Room Tip: we were facing the main road so it was a little noisy - maybe ask for a room at the back of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marypartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,521 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,821 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,059 reviews
3.2 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
2,968 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flannery's Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flannery's Hotel Galway

Property: Flannery's Hotel Galway
Address: Dublin Road | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Flannery's Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flannery's Hotel is Galway's finest family run hotel. Facilites include 134 modern luxurious Bedrooms, Frankie's Bar & Bistro, The Galwegian Restaurant and 4 purpose built conference suites. The hotel offer free on-site car-parking and free Wi-fi throughout.The hotel is ideally situated for visiting Galway City and the famous attractions of the West of Ireland including; Connemara, the Aran Islands, the Burren & the Cliffs of Moher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flannery's Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galway
Galway Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing