We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really not worth it, very disappointing”
Review of Amber Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amber Lodge B&B
Ranked #167 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really not worth it, very disappointing”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Tiny rooms, even smaller en suite
Squeaky beds, and if you are unlucky enough to sleep to the rear of the building a 24hrbsecurity light that fills your entire room with light and stops you sleeping, to top it all off, they don't do a cooked breakfast so you are paying €6 extra for some toast and cereal, their photos are deceptive and the showers are awful. You could do so much better.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    26
    44
    34
    44
See reviews for
27
73
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

No room to swing a cat. Met by guy who was weird and very quickly asked for payment (i understand why now) - place was very noisy as walls were made of paper. We had a room at the back. Bed was broken and not made properly. DIY was full of bodge jobs. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gooielouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galway hotels

Orange County, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My daughter and I stayed here 28 June 2013. Our room overlooked the front driveway, and gave a beautiful view of all the B&Bs across the street. I don't know how they manage to park so many cars in the tiny front yard. We were travelling by train, so it didn't matter to us, but I wondered what would happen if the inmost car belonged to the people who had to leave earliest in the morning.

The room was pretty small, but I found that to be true almost everywhere in Ireland, except at the Lombard in Dublin. I think it's because over the last twenty years every B&B in the country has retrofitted bathrooms into the bedrooms so they can advertise that the facilities are en suite. I don't know what I would do in a large room anyway. Probably just strew my belongings over a wider area, which makes it more difficult to pack in the morning.

As well as being small, our room at the Amber was bright and clean. The shower would not shut off, though, and the staff had to summon the owner to fix it, for the third time this week, while we went out to dinner at Aniar.

College Street is an easy walk to the downtown area, through a respectable neighborhood and a large park.There is a monument at the far end of the park, the plaque of which has a spelling error immortalized in brass. Be sure to have hot chocolate at Butler's on William Street, half a block from the park.

My daughter accidentally left something behind in the room, and the B&B staff mailed it to us as though it were no trouble at all. I would stay here again if I ever have the opportunity to return to Galway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building on the street. The clerks told me about the other building in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jefffster83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timrat, Emek Izrael, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Paul met us at the door after 9pm, when most of the other B&B's on the street turned us away with their "NO vacancy" signs. We were alarmed - why does this one still have rooms? Apparently it had one family room. We're just the two of us, honeymooning, following the wind and the open road. We checked the room out and it was to our liking! We took it - two nights.

The lodge has plenty of rooms and we were in the attic with a lovely skylight and lots of privacy. The room was immaculate and the service was great. We were able to use their laundry room for a measly 3 Euros (at a previous hotel it was so expensive to do laundry we just bought more socks and undies!), including dryer!

Breakfast was a light, cold buffet, which was a relief after days of eggs, sausages and bacon. We're not used to this amount of meat in the morning.

We were less than 10 minutes from the heart of Galway and even after we checked out, the staff let us keep our car in their car park as long as we needed.

It's a good place for a great price and in a great location.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the attic room! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoniBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Easy walk from bus station. Room and bathroom are small, but clean. Electric kettle and coffee/ tea available in room. Located on busy street so ask for room in back. Breakfast not included, it costs 6 euros for continental breakfast. Grocery market located in short walk. Tourist information office and hop on/off bus (8 euros) located within easy walk. Can walk to shopping area. Friendly hosts

Room Tip: Ask for room in back to be off busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLORIDAKATY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed in this B&B for three nights. I was going to give 4 points to it, because it's a lovely place, and the staff was very helpful and kind to us, the room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was the best we had in Ireland... But the last night we spent there ruined it all...
There were a bachelorette party, and these 10-12 (maybe more, maybe less...) "girls" screamed all the night long, so we couldn't sleep at all from 4.00 a.m.
I told the guy at the reception in the morning that we wanted our money back, for that night, and he answered me that he wasn't in charge for that kind of things... But he didn't call nobody to speak with us. He told me it wasn't their fault if the girls screamed all night long, but it wasn't even our fault, we just wanted to sleep, we payed to sleep, and we didn't!
They shouldn't have accepted their reservation at first...
At least we didn't pay our last breakfast...

Room Tip: When you do your reservation, ask if there's a party or something in the date you're looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

This guesthouse had nice accommodation, clean and adequate, staff friendly and helpful. We were just airtke disappointed as DVD player wasn't working and we brought some to watch. It was advertised. Staff said they were having it fixed. It wasn't too close to city centre, hard enough to locate. We got a nice continental breakfast in the morning. There was parking at house.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcas21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Lynfield B&B
Lynfield B&B
#101 of 188 in Galway
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 188 in Galway
678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
#21 of 188 in Galway
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons B&B
Four Seasons B&B
#40 of 188 in Galway
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
College Crest Guest House
College Crest Guest House
#35 of 188 in Galway
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Copper Beech Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Lodge B&B

Property: Amber Lodge B&B
Address: 26a College Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amber Lodge B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the city of Galway, this purpose-built bed and breakfast offers bright, comfortable and attractive en suite rooms in a great location. Amber Lodge B&B is just 3 minutes’ walk from Galway’s bus and railway stations. The lodge is also within easy reach of Galway’s shops, pubs, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amber Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing