We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleepzone Hostel Galway
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This was the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in. Had a lovely 2 nights here. The location could not be more perfect, a few minutes walk from all attractions, the staff went out of their way to be helpful (each and every one of them but a special thanks to the little French girl who always made sure that everything was ok). Nothing was too much trouble for them. The kitchen facilities were superb (tea and coffee always available) and the little seating areas were so cosy. Even though the hostel was fully booked on both nights I stayed, guests still got personal attention and helpful information when required. Definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyWexfordIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

This was our first stay in a hostel and we were surprised at how clean the rooms are and how quiet it was at night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshnedaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Cheap clean hostel but thats as good as it gets. There was 10 of us staying there and as well as paying for the accommodation they also needed 25 euro off each of us as a security deposit, amounting to 250 which was absolutely ridiculous as the rules they had were insane including no drinking ( which is fair enough) but also no eating and no storing of drink in your room. The staff weren't that friendly on arrival. The kitchen closed early so it was impossible to eat in the hostel if you got hungry later in the evening. Would not recommend this hostel. Luckily we got our security deposit back but there was also the risk of them "catching us" eating a snack in the room. The handle on the window in our room was also broken so we could not pull in the window the whole way at night time. Notified the staff at reception but he was not helpful telling me there was nothing he could do. Will not be going back there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeancttr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepzone2011, Manager at Sleepzone Hostel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Our House Rules are strict.

This is a 200 + bed tourist hostel .

Our aim is to offer a clean, safe, friendly , value for money place for tourists – we are not trying to cater for groups of young people who want to drink and party all night in their rooms.

If you want to drink and party all night in your room we encourage you to book somewhere else in Galway.

Thank you.

Sleepzone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I enjoyed my stay here because it was bustling and we met a lot of great people in the hostel. It wasn't my favourite hostel when referring to the place itself as it is so big and busy - the staff are helpful but not as friendly as a smaller hostel (mainly because they are busy I think). The dining area is big, clean, plenty of places to sit, but the kitchen is far too small. When we stayed it was packed, at dinnertime there seemed to be the whole hostel in the dining area. There was a large group who were eating at the same time, and then other individuals trying to cook in between - so there was really no way we could begin cooking! We prepared our food at the table, waited until we saw a free hob, then dived in to the kitchen and spent the next half an hour dancing around the other guests who were trying to cook at the same time. Space, hobs, and cutlery running out were a bit of an issue. It was busy in the kitchen at peak times and around - the rest of the day pretty quiet. We ended up preparing food during the day, eating main meals then so we wouldn't have to access the kitchen too much at dinnertime. However this was mid August so it would be a busy time of year.
There is seating outside round the back which is good, and a small but adequate lounge area attached to the dining area. I don't remember there being any other communal areas but this was plenty really as the dining area is a really sociable place - we met a lot of nice people here.
The hostel is a bit like a hotel in the way it is layed out. We had a 6 bed female dorm en suite - it was fine really, no complaints. The room was on the first floor and had sort of french windows leading to a little balcony that looked over the front of the hostel. This was nice but some of the people in the room were concerned about security if we left the door open overnight to get some air in, and there was the occasional issue of noise in the middle of the night as people drunkenly returned to the hostel!
Overall I would say it is a really sociable place, a mixed bag of people staying so not pretentious or cliquey at all in terms of meeting people. Otherwise it was not very characterful at all - and the main problem was the size of the kitchen at busy times. Depending on what I wanted from my trip I think I would be happy to stay here again, but I believe there is another perhaps more interesting and smaller hostel in town that my friend changed to (having stayed a few nights at Sleepzone) - so I would probably try there instead next time. Having said that, memories of my stay at this hostel are positive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

5 friends (girls) decided to go to the Galway races and Sleepzone was recommended to us, from the moment we arrived we were greeted with a very bad attitude from the staff, I felt they were not very welcoming at all. It was 12.30pm in the afternoon We were told that our room would not be ready until at least 3pm!!!!! we explained that we were going to lady's day and needed to get ready, we were told to get ready in the communal toilets like everyone else!!!! Horrified we had no other choice. we had to leave our bags in a communal luggage room which didn't appear to be supervised in any way which means if we had any valuables in our bags anyone would be free to help themselves. Not impressed. The rooms in fairness were spotlessly cleam, bed linen, carpets bathroom - all spotless. Beds very comfortable. The next morning though at 10am SHARP there was a loud knock at the door - staff telling us that it was time to check out. 10 mins later another knock at the door reminding us to leave.......these are the same staff that couldn't have our room ready for 12.30 for us the previous day!!!!!! Again seriously NOT impressed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vanaree56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepzone2011, Manager at Sleepzone Hostel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

This is a 200 + bed hostel and the summer months (particularly Race Week in Galway in late July) can be very busy.

Unless the room has not been used the night before it’s not possible to get people into rooms at 12.30. The later the check-out the later the rooms will be ready for arriving guests.

We aim to have rooms ready by 3 p.m. but guests can arrive anytime and use all our common facilities including bathrooms, self-catering kitchen , free Wifi in lounges, luggage storage , while rooms are being prepared.

In quieter months and by pre-arrangement we can sometimes get rooms ready earlier , especially for those just off long-distance flights.

We feel this review was unfair and unreasonable.

Sleepzone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

transited one nite in Galway. Picked Sleepzone reason is cheap & the galway tour pickup from this hostel. Not much expectation on this hostel.

Very friendly receptionist/ public PC/great location walking distance to tourist areas of Galway/big & clean private bathroom

1 nite stay is perfect okay for me.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Openrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

More like "Party til 5AM-zone"
Yes it was clean, and most of the staff were fine.
But NOBODY did anything about the unbelievable racket that went on downstairs from us until after 5 in the morning. We tried to ask for quiet and were laughed at, and there was no evidence of an occasional patrol to accomodate the other guests.
Never Again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cineKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronan2011, Manager at Sleepzone Hostel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

The hostel is staffed 24/7 - with an extra security presence on weekends/other busy nights.

In a 200+ bed hostel it's not possible to completely eradicate late night noise - especially on busy weekends with lots of young revellers in town.

The night staff do regularly patrol the hostel - and are able and willing to deal with problems of this sort when it's brought to their attention.

Sleepzone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,039 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
0.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,860 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 60 in Galway
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#4 of 60 in Galway
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepzone Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepzone Hostel Galway

Address: Bothar Na Mban | Woodquay, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Price Range: £15 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleepzone Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleepzone is Galway's leading hostel for over a decade. Much imitated but still not matched! Leading hostel in Galway on TripAdvisor. Clean, safe, friendly - and always great value for money. Daily discounted tours to Connemara and The Cliffs of Moher with Galway Tour Company departing from our front door daily. Free internet and Free Wifi (with international socketing). Superb, fully-equipped self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sleepzone Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing