We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left 5 minutes after checking in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sleepzone Hostel Galway
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was by far one of the worst hostels we've ever seen. We checked in, were shown to our private room and immediately wanted to leave. There wasn't enough floor space to leave our bags, let alone open them, the bed itself was rock hard with the mattress about a centimetre thick and thin pillows that even doubled over provided no support or comfort. The noise from the street however was the worst part. The room was located on street level right next to the hostel entrance which generated more noise. You could easily hear the general noise of people passing by and the many cars on the road. We managed to find somewhere else to stay and checked out losing the nights accommodation but it was definitely worth it in our eyes. The staff however were very helpful with a tour checking in ahead of us and with us checking in and back out. We've both stayed in many hostels around the world so we know what to expect however this was by far the worst room we've ever seen.

Room Tip: Maybe request a room not facing the street, this may help with the noise issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alanmurphy_83!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepzoneManager, Manager at Sleepzone Hostel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. The room you reserved was a Double standard room in an apartment next door to the hostel.

We are sorry our room did not meet your expectations at the time of your booking but we do not agree with your description of our room e.g. the mattress is not 1cm thick or anything like it.

Sleepzone is highly rated by thousands of experienced reviewers on all Hostel websites.

We were happy to refund you for the second night’s accommodation which you had also booked

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great location, at walking distance from train and bus station, in the city centre and 5-10 minutes walk from a 24hours big Tesco supermarket. Very friendly and helpful staff, clean toilets and rooms. I had a great experience and I'll gladly come back if I'll be again in Galway. Just one minor thing: the upper bed of the bunk bed was very near to the ceiling and if not paying attention it was easy to hit the head (as I did, twice).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenika I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This stay was awhile back but this Hostel was wonderful to us!! I toured with the New Mexico Tech rugby club on a playing tour of Ireland. As a team we stayed together in Galway at this lovely accommodation where we were treated nicely!! The continental breakfast was great and the location of this Hostel was within walking distance to everything!
Plan to return to Galway and when I do I will stay at Sleepzone Hotel...!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Friendly and helpful staff welcomes you in this big modern very clean hostel.
Everything is made to make you comfortable. Private room is big and clean.
Key card and 24 hour reception. The big and well organised kitchen serves free breakfast in the morning including bread and jam, cereals and hot drinks. Complementary tea or coffee 24 hour. Several lobbies with sofa.
Free wifi everywhere. free bed sheet and towels. Comfortable mattress
Close to city centre - Free Parking between 6pm - 8am.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I booked 6 day around Ireland tour and this was by far the nicest hostel that we stayed at, close to supermarket and restaurant, the kitchen and rooms are very clear, plenty of shower and bathroom for public use and private one's in the room, love this place and will recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailorchao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Everything was pleasant about my stay here. The price was mid-range, the staff was very helpful, the rooms and common areas were extremely clean, and the location was just right.The lunch room doubled as a nice mingle spot. They book tours for you at the front desk, and if you plan to take a trip to see the cliffs, they have a sister hostel nearby that you can transfer your reservation to...very convenient. Also have hot showers and functioning washer/dryer. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Great place, clean and everything! Good location, just a stone's throw from the main area. The kitchen is handy a d a great way to mingle with other travelers. Staff were very helpful. The shower is dumb and frustrating as all hell but that's been said in this reviews.

Recommended for sure.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
0.3 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 60 in Galway
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barnacles Hostel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#6 of 60 in Galway
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Snoozles Hostel
Snoozles Hostel
#4 of 60 in Galway
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galway City Hostel
Galway City Hostel
#7 of 60 in Galway
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepzone Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepzone Hostel Galway

Address: Bothar Na Mban | Woodquay, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Price Range: £20 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleepzone Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleepzone is Galway's leading hostel for over a decade. Much imitated but still not matched! Leading hostel in Galway on TripAdvisor. Clean, safe, friendly - and always great value for money. Daily discounted tours to Connemara and The Cliffs of Moher with Galway Tour Company departing from our front door daily. Free internet and Free Wifi (with international socketing). Superb, fully-equipped self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Sleepzone Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing