We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleepzone Hostel Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
219 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A good hostel”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights on our Ireland trip and booked two beds in a 6-bed mixed dorm. For some odd reason, we had to change room after the first night, otherwise everything was just as we expected it.

The hostel is close to the city center and has a typical hostel feeling about it. The staff was helpful and can organise tours for you (which was great). The beds and the shower was clean, the rest was average. Breakfast is included, there was cereal, toast, butter and marmelade provided.

During the night we often heard people coming or leaving in the early mornings, sometimes they were very loud. It did not seem that anyone from the hostel took any action when there were people shouting around, which was a bit of a nuisance.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    194
    64
    17
    22
See reviews for
31
59
102
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My boyfriend and I arrived at Sleepzone exhausted and hungry. We had been traveling since the morning and were eager to lay down for a few hours. When we arrived, the friendly staff said that we were in the apartment next door. "An upgrade!" I said eagerly. The man behind the counter gave me a confused look.

The minute we stepped into the room we understood his reaction. It. Was. Awful. I have stayed in hostels since I was a baby and I now live in a tiny NY apartment. In other words, I know what to expect when booking a hostel and am used to cramped living conditions. This room managed to make our 100sf bedroom in brooklyn look like a palace. It was literally the size of a double bed--a very uncomfortable and dirty double bed. That was it. Our suitcase practically didn't fit. The only (usable) outlets were beside the bed in such a way that we had to either sleep with our phones charging or drop our phones into the abyss between the bed and the wall and pull them up by the cord in the morning. Worst of all, we were right on the street. Again, we live in a first floor apartment in New York. We understand that cities come with noise. But our window was literally on the sidewalk next to the entrance of the hostel in such a way that we could hear everything coming and going at all hours of the day. We had to choose between opening the windows and listening to the rambles of teenagers or suffocating in our tiny room with the windows closed. We (reluctantly) chose the latter.

But at least we didn't get the other room in the apartment. It was literally a bunkbed in a closet. The only airflow (there was no window) came from a window/vent on the door that didn't close--meaning that you could see right into the room and hear everything going on inside. Zero privacy for what I imagine is advertised as a private room.

Our main complaint was the internet. I know that sounds petty, but we booked SleepZone solely on the fact that it advertised free wifi in the rooms. My boyfriend had to do work throughout our vacation, so being able to access email was essential. Unfortunately for us, the internet does not work in the apartments. As I pointed out we didn't book an apartment and wouldn't have booked SleepZone if we had known about the wifi situation. Apparently all the double rooms with shared bathrooms exist in apartments, a fact that they do a good job of concealing (or just straight-up lying about).

The staff was nice and gave us a very small refund for the misunderstanding, but having a few nice staff members doesn't bump this place up to two stars.

Overall--DON'T BOOK!

p.s. Notice in the photo that there is no way to capture the whole room in a single picture. The room is so small and the angles are so extreme that we struggled to fit it in one shot. One of us needed to hold the door open while the other stood in the living room. The room looks NOTHING like the private/double rooms on the website.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abby_S17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.John's
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and my mother stayed here for 2 nights. I appreciate how the hostel has good security, you need to use your key card not only to get into your room but to get into the stairwell that leads to the rooms.
Our room was right off the stairwell, where most rooms are off a hallway separated by a door from the stairwell. Our room window also faced the terrace outside. Because of this we did get a lot of noise from people talking in the stairwell and on the terrace. If I were to stay there again I would request a room off the stairwell.
The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable on the area. The kitchen facilities are quite large and clean. No complaints, other than the bit of noise. It's in a great location and has everything you need for a budget stay!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganR07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Westmeath, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here for a couple of days with a few friends and found our stay very comfortable and enjoyable! The staff were really helpful and we found our experience to be much better than promoted on the website!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Booked a double room and got really lucky by getting an apartment with a kitchen and bathroom. The room was spacious and clean as was the shower, v hot.!! Felt like we could have stayed much longer but the road beckoned..
However, it is not without one minor but certainly important fault. Dun dun dunnnn... Paying for parking!!! Sleepzone informed us that parking would cost us €4 each day, which is was BUT little did we know we had to get up at 8.30 each morning to renew the parking ticket.

Overall, we could not praise the sleepzone apartments highly enough. As for the main hostel, common rooms and kitchens etc we did not see much of those.
Highly recommend this hostel to couples. <3

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floreffe, Namur, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We went to Galway during a trip around Ireland and we're glad we chose Sleepzone to stay. The staff was very welcoming and people inside the hostel are nice too.

The rooms are a little bit too small for our large group but that was not a problem for us as we were out all day. Location is good too, just a few steps to the very center of Galway and with a Lidl at a few hundred meters.

Room Tip: Wifi everywhere and the elevator make all the rooms good even on the last floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was by far one of the worst hostels we've ever seen. We checked in, were shown to our private room and immediately wanted to leave. There wasn't enough floor space to leave our bags, let alone open them, the bed itself was rock hard with the mattress about a centimetre thick and thin pillows that even doubled over provided no support or comfort. The noise from the street however was the worst part. The room was located on street level right next to the hostel entrance which generated more noise. You could easily hear the general noise of people passing by and the many cars on the road. We managed to find somewhere else to stay and checked out losing the nights accommodation but it was definitely worth it in our eyes. The staff however were very helpful with a tour checking in ahead of us and with us checking in and back out. We've both stayed in many hostels around the world so we know what to expect however this was by far the worst room we've ever seen.

Room Tip: Maybe request a room not facing the street, this may help with the noise issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanmurphy_83!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepzoneManager, Manager at Sleepzone Hostel Galway, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. The room you reserved was a Double standard room in an apartment next door to the hostel.

We are sorry our room did not meet your expectations at the time of your booking but we do not agree with your description of our room e.g. the mattress is not 1cm thick or anything like it.

Sleepzone is highly rated by thousands of experienced reviewers on all Hostel websites.

We were happy to refund you for the second night’s accommodation which you had also booked
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.4 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 50 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepzone Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepzone Hostel Galway

Property: Sleepzone Hostel Galway
Address: Bothar Na Mban | Woodquay, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleepzone Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleepzone is Galway's leading hostel for over a decade. Much imitated but still not matched! Leading hostel in Galway on TripAdvisor. Clean, safe, friendly - and always great value for money. Daily discounted tours to Connemara and The Cliffs of Moher with Galway Tour Company departing from our front door daily. Free internet and Free Wifi (with international socketing). Superb, fully-equipped self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sleepzone Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing