We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very ok hostel”
Review of Woodquay Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woodquay Hostel
Ranked #27 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a very ok hostel”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

stayed here at the weekend past for a stag do. had heard really positive reviews from friends about this place so was looking forward to staying here.

didnt live upto expectations. rooms were tight for hostel i thought and place needs a good scrub and a lick of paint to bring it out of the 1920s.

also seemed to be a weird guy just sitting in the common room one day who looked and smelt like he was homeless which isnt too inviting either.

Room Tip: stayed in room of 6 with ensuite bathroom was alright
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reynolds88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    33
    27
    17
    32
See reviews for
5
15
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Great hostel and great staff! The space is very clean and so are the en-suite bathrooms. The staff are very helpful, very talkative, and full of information about Galway. Julie even reads tarot cards if you're looking to learn of your future. Just don't try sneaking anyone into the hostel; Woodquay has the "best doorman in all of Galway" ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

i and a friend stayed in galway and found the most friendly woman her Name was julie,,julie is the owner of the oldest hostel in galway,,it has character and very central,,it is clean and has a spacious kitchen area and a comfy t.v.room.,,its like a home from home.the staff are irish and very helpful,,they will go out of there way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible,,,julie goes as far as to give all who stay there a talk on the history of galway and healy tours pick you up at the door and drop you back from one of their tours,,so if you go to galway call in and see a Piece of ireland and the welcome to galway started in the woodquay hostel..thank you julie..clive and Paul for a great stay Birgit and edy

Room Tip: remember your in a hostel in the centre of galway so its a Party City some sleep may be disturbed..b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

very good hostel, perfect location,very friendly staff and julia the owner knows everything you need to know about galway.we hope to be back very soon and hopefully stay even longer as we enjoyed every minute. Thanks so much julia and staff Alan Fahey.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin, Donegal, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed in this hostel last night last minute and they couldnt have done enough for us if I had read the reviews I would never have stayed here in a million years rooms basic (its a hostel!!) but spotless beds comfy great location and cheap what more could you want

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

If in Galway be sure to check this place out, you will experience first hand the lovely hospitality the Irish are renowned for. Nice location easy to reach from the main bus and train stations, would stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Owner was lovely and down to earth, needed a place to stay at the last minute with my girlfriend for three nights and the Woodquay hostel went all out to help us out, night porter was also very friendly. A very warm and pleasant place, would recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeJoe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 58 in Galway
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleepzone Hostel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Galway City Hostel
Galway City Hostel
#7 of 58 in Galway
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Lough Inn
#153 of 187 in Galway
3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 58 in Galway
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodquay Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodquay Hostel

Property: Woodquay Hostel
Address: 23/24 Woodquay Hostel | Woodquay, Galway 0000, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodquay Hostel is ideally situated in the heart of Galway City , two minutes walk from Eyre Square and within five minutes walk to all the general amenities. Recently refurbished this family run hostel offers very clean and comfortable hospitality to all our guests. In addition to our ensuite rooms, guests can avail of our spacious fully equipped kitchen, dining room and common room. An added advantage to our location is that we are situated behind Galway 's main thoroughfares thus ensuring a comfortable night sleep to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Woodquay Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing