We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“barnicles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barnacles Hostel Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“barnicles”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

barnicles is one of the best hostels i have ever been to and i would advice people to go there it has the best quality staff nice and easy going. their staffs are friendly, their rooms are always clean you get to meet new people it is very close to the city centre, also very close to pubs, nightclub, shops and etc.

Room Tip: 200 that way you would meet new friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    184
    90
    35
    33
See reviews for
27
81
126
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Passau, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I used Barnacles as a place to stay while i was searching for accommodation in Galway some time ago. Now that I am about to leave I think that it will be the place I will use in case I will need to spend some time in the city in the future.

It offered me a homey atmosphere and I still recall the people who were every night watching Braveheart in the common room. Every night of the four I spent the same people were watching Braveheart and were enjoying it same much as the day before.

I hope I will meet them again there in the future!

Worth any cent of the price they will give you!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbit2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I went there during a UCC trip, sleeping there two nights! Our room was clean and big enough for the 8 people placed there. We had the bathroom in our room, hot water only for two showers in a row. The hostel is really well located, in one of the main street of Galway, perfect for living the irish athmosphere and the pubs just in front of it! Restaurants are all around.
The service was not so helpful and kid, but we were 40 people, it could be justifiable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alberto1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Spent a night here at the beginning of March and would highly recommend to anyone visiting Galway. The Hostel is in a brilliant location with lots of bars and shops just around he corner. The Hostel do organise pub crawls so if you want to socialise and meet new people I would recommend joining in. Finally, the Hostel was very clean and the staff all friendly.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here with some friends for one night. Place was great. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful (particularly Donnacha). Rooms were clean, affordable, wifi access was good, location was great. Even though our room faced out onto a busy street with pubs, it was very quite. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Such a great location for a hostel with everything at the doorstep. The guy at reception when we arrived (Donnacha I think) was extremely helpful and friendly and gave us some great ideas of things to do. Clean rooms and facilities with wifi and amazingly powerful showers made it really good value for money. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We had a room that looked right on to the street and had no trouble with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great location - city centre.
We stayed in the one bed apartment that was really nice, clean and warm with towels and a hot shower. We were well looked after by the staff even after our check out. They allowed us to use the internet, store baggage and even kept my knee ice pack in the freezer. Thank you, I would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: If they are available the apartments are nice if you want a bit of privacy. A bit more expensive usu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,829 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#29 of 45 in Galway
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,430 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
860 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 54 in Galway
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnacles Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacles Hostel Galway

Property: Barnacles Hostel Galway
Address: Quay Street House 10 Quay Street | The Latin Quarter, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Barnacles Quay Street House)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Barnacles Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your Irish experience at Barnacles Hostel Galway, the perfect location to explore the West of Ireland. Barnacles hostels in Galway and Dublin are specifically designed for you, the modern day global backpacker - with state of the art facilities, superior comfort and a relaxed and friendly vibe, all at affordable rates. You can find the Barnacles team 24 hours a day, ready to give you tips and local knowledge on how best to enjoy your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barnacles Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnacles Hostel Galway Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing