We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big room with good location”
Review of Hanley Oaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanley Oaks Hotel
Ranked #170 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were upgraded to a really huge suite (more like an apartment) that came with 2 bedrooms (1 double and another 2 singles), 1 bathroom and a kitchenette. The room was clean and had the necessary amenities - kettle, soap, shampoo, towels, tv. The hotel (Glen Oaks and no more Hanley Oaks) is near the Westside shopping mall (10min by foot, 1 min by car). Lots of food and stores there. It is near to the city and even nearer to Salthill Promenade. Took us 5min by car. If you prefer a quiet hotel/B&B not too far from the city with a really reasonable price, go for this. Great B&B if there are 4 of you.

Room Tip: We got a room facing the back of the hotel (and the car park). We had a lovely view of the residenti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carplaneshiptrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

Now known as GLEN OAKS. This was good value if you are just looking for somewhere to sleep. The bus directly outside takes you to eyre square every 20 mins up until 12 midnight. Receptionist was very helpful and it was very easy to find.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

First off i must point out that this is now called the GLEN OAKS HOTEL and not the Hanley as this might confuse people completely as we could not find any reviews for the Glen Oaks and i hope this is sorted out by T.A. or whoever is deemed at fault.
My wife and i stayed here for three nights as part of a six day surprise holiday booked by our children to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and we cannot thank them enough.
We arrived at Dublin airport and picked up a hire car there and travelled via the remarkably quiet motorway over to Galway which took a relaxing two hours and with thanks to the sat-nav we found the hotel without problem,it's located on fairly busy road but the hotel is set back off this a wee bit so road noise is not a problem.We were given our room key at reception by the friendly staff member and directed to our room which was located on the 1st floor to the rear of the hotel overlooking the spacious hotel car park.
The room was a good size with a double bed,large wardrobe,two bed side cabinets,chest of drawers,tv and thankfully a kettle and well stocked tea and coffee supply.The bathroom was a fair size with a good working shower.Both rooms were very clean and towels were changed daily.
Downstairs there is a large bar/lounge with a seperate dining area for breakfast.The bar offers a variety of hot food all day and a well stocked bar of drinks.We used the bar everyday as it's ideal for an early drink before you head down into the town and also very handy for a nightcap or two,the barmen were both very friendly and helpull with any local info you required and theres apparently no hurry to close the bar.
The full Irish breakfast served is a must,you can start with cereal,juices,fruit and yoghurt and a plentifull supply of tea or coffee,the traditional Irish comprises a couple of rashers of bacon,sausages,fried egg,beans and black or white pudding and a rack full of toast.Excellent.
The hotel is located around a 5-10 minute drive from the city centre although there is a bus that runs from nearby,we also used the local taxi's for nights out down in the Quays area and these cost €9-10 each way,the barman will book you a taxi outwardbound and there are plenty of taxi's available around the Quays area for your journey back to the hotel.
All in all a very good choice of hotel for a stay in the city of Galway,the city itself is wonderfull and the countryside surrounding it is stunning,i would reccommend a drive up through the rugged beautiful Connemara and also down to County Clare and take in the Burren and the cliffs of Moher both absolutely stunning.
Many thanks to all the staff at the Glen Oaks for a memorable stay and i'm sure we'll venture back soon.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scaffolder1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed here at an excellent last minute rate to break up a long journey and have a mooch around Galway. While the 1.8km may be as the crow flies, there is a public bus in and out of town from just outside the hotel and it runs to just before midnight.

The hotel has everything you need for a short stay including friendly and helpful staff and I would recommend it as a stop over if you want a hotel with free parking close to Galway.

Room Tip: On main road so if light sleeper as for room facing back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cider_with_rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel in march for just one night. We booked direct and to be fair to this hotel we had no problems. There was no deposit asked for and we paid on departure which was 29 euro for the room, this did not include breakfast which could be purchased for 5-8 euro depending on a full Irish or cont. There is a bar downstairs aswell but can not comment on this. There is a lift and this hotel has had some refurb applied. The rooms are clean and basic and has a shower/tea/coffee in rooms. The TV could do with a new set up as the picture quality is not good. Overall, I would stay that I would stay there again.
The hotel is quite near Salthill and around 15-20min walk to central Galway.
The staff here were helpful as I forgot to add.
You can book directly with the hotel.
I have rated this hotel very good based on the price and value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FawltyTowers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer in Richtung Parkplätze buchen (rückseitig, da vorne eine hauptverkehrsstraße vorbeiführt)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Husteguzzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.9 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 189 in Galway
725 reviews
6.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,129 reviews
3.0 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
937 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,750 reviews
2.1 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanley Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanley Oaks Hotel

Address: Bishop O'Donnell Road | Rahoon, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanley Oaks Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hanley Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing