We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money - Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Galway
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value for money - Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

This hotel is in city center, in the exact center of Galway, great to visit the city.
The hotel provides a 10euros rate for 24H in a private parking nearby. Rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast is a continental buffet (not irish) and is ok (not plenty of choice, but ok if you spend just the night there). It is served until 11am, which is very good to have a nice sleep on a Saturday morning! The receptionist was lovely and he found 2 rooms on a Friday night for us without having booked before ! Really nice stay for one-night in Galway, we will be back in our way to Connemara! We slept with windows opened and it was completely fine (rooms 341 and 342) even if the Hotel is in the city center.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamoizelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    206
    147
    56
    35
See reviews for
75
211
34
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed at the Imperial Hotel for one night while we were in Galway, during the Galway Arts Festival. The hotel was nice, clean, and quiet. Good place to stay if you are looking for something right in the center of everything in Galway. The only problem was parking. There is no parking near the hotel. We had to use a parking deck a few blocks away. Overall, deal is great, and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreac0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Comfy/warm/central. Noisy though at back-bar staff chuckin bottles in skip all night.tired.Do it tomorrow ta, we paid for a break.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryanairhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Rooms were clean, beds comfortable, and the staff was very helpful. The hotel is right in the heart of the Galway action. Walking most places from this hotel is easy. The only drawback was that the parking is about 1/2 mile away. Nevertheless, a wonderful place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beach137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Decided to sample some of arts week last wednesday night so myself and my better half satyed here as i got goo deal online. On arrival we were greeted by wonderful receptionst(jill i think) who was so helpful. Room was clean with tea/coffee facilites and adequate size. Toilet was clean. Hotel is excellent situated right in heart of city within walking distance of all the major hotspots and ideal for couples wanting to let there hair down for night or two. The only thing i was so dissappointed with was breakfast. It was like being in a hostel. You were in a small cramped room on first floor. everything was self service and there was no hot food. While i understand the concept of a continental breakfast i was so dissappointed that i did not have the choice to order a cooked breakfast. I was even prepared to pay the usual extra €10 but for the 20 mins i was in the dining room there was no member of staff to ask! To sum up well doe to your receptionist but please improve your breakfast service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dycole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

Stayed here when in Ireland for a friends wedding. Found the staff friendly and helpful.Location was v good for our purpose.Prices were fine and we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Very centrally located for the city. Great value, friendly staff. Room very comfortable and clean. Restaurant good. M. Wiltshire. Surrey. UK.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilts100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#33 of 46 in Galway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#27 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Galway

Property: Imperial Hotel Galway
Address: 35 Eyre Square | Galway City, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits all visitors to the Imperial Hotel, with it's impressive location on Eyre Square in the Heart of Galway City. Within walking distance of the Train/Bus Station and Galway University(NUIG).The Imperial Hotel Galway City is the height of modern comfort. Every care has been taken to ensure guests feel right at home. We are the gate way to all that the West of Ireland has to offer with day trips arranged from the reception of the hotel. We offer a great selection of Accommodation types to suit all of your needs from rooms to accommodate 2 to 4 people. Excellent food is served in our Bar/Restaurant from 10am till 9pm. A short walk from the Imperial Hotel will bring you down the winding streets of Galway City onto the water front of Spanish Arch and the Claddagh region with plenty of shops/pubs & Restaurants on the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing