We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - but boring hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Galway
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location - but boring hotel”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Staying there 1 night only. But more than enough to find out that - it was first & last time. Only good thing is the location. In the middle of everything - town square with train station just 5 minutes walk. Rooms clean and basic - but very small and more less no windows at all. Biggest dissapointment is the price and breakfast. Out of season (february) 110,- euro per simply double room with very poor breakfast its a RIP OFF. Breakfast included only: Toast and soda bread,(with option to burn it to DEAD BLACK on toaster set on max heat only), croissants, boiled eggs, jam and butter, white and red cheddar cheese, slices of ham and salama, Bewleys coffee and tea, 4x juice from the machine, bananas. Thats it. Nothing less-nothing more. ( Nothing fried or something more IRISH... ) There is no parking space at the front-just taxi stays there-not sure about the back entrance. The staff is OK, cleaners friendly.

Room Tip: Better find any other hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob2010_SVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    211
    154
    56
    37
See reviews for
80
217
36
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed here in January for a girls weekend away. Got the lift up from reception and then a good hefty walk through 3 sets of double doors to our rooms. Bad starting point was the white sheets on the second bed had a big black stain on it, I called housekeeping and they obliged straight away and changed the sheets. Room itself was fairly average, bit worn and not much redecorating done in recent years! Bathroom quite aged, no toiletries provided except a shampoo and shower gel pump in the shower, shower curtain was also worn and stained. Breakfast was disappointing in that there was no full Irish, it was a continental which we didn't find out until we sat down that morning. Overall a pleasant stay here but very basic, we were lucky and got a very good deal for 2 nights but I would not pay the standard rates they were charging. Saying all that, if location is key to your stay then this is right on eyre square, within walking distance to pubs and restaurants, which is definitely a big plus!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traceycork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed in the Imperial Hotel on a stag party and if you're travelling for that kind of trip or just fancy a hotel with a livlier atmosphere then this is the place to go. Probably wouldn't be the best place to stay on a family trip.

The hotel had a few large groups staying on the weekend we were there and there was good craic in the bar each evening. Staff were friendly enough and rooms were decent and not too expensive. Location is very central near all pubs, shops, etc. in what is a cracking city. Parking was across Eyre Square and was €10 per night as advertised on the website.

For what if offers I'd be happy to recommend. I know all of our group are looking forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Stoic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I picked this hotel for it's very central location in Galway city centre as a good base for the city and the short distance to the rugby ground for the Heineken Cup match. I had stayed in the hotel a number of years ago and was pleasantly surprised by the upgrade the hotel has undergone since then. The hotel was an ideal location for strolling down Shop street and the excellent Christmas market in Eyre Square. Room was clean and satisfied my requirements. Staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I have stayed at this hotle many times over the past 10 years. The hotel has made some very nice changes over those years. However in August of this year I was disgusted by the attitude of the manager. He is on a power trip and would want to come down off his high horse. We paid nearly €300 for one nights stay here this year.I will sleep on the street rather than to return to this hotle due to ths mans disgusting attitude. How dare he be so rude and condecending. Its a hotel you are running not a playschool. I intend to write to the owners of this hotel about this matter. The owners can surely find a more suitable manager.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galway hotels

Mid Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The choice of this hotel was dictated by nearness to the railway station and situation in the middle of town. There is a pub/restaurant on the ground floor but this did not offer any disturbances as the rooms are situated far enough away to buffer noise/smells. The room (single) was small, although large enough, with a well fitted bath good hot water and adequately supplied with towels etc.. In September the heating was not an issue, the bed linens were good and the duvet warm.The staff were very considerate, attentive and alert. The breakfast room was rather institutional in layout and appearance, the usual cold offerings, with cheese and cold cuts, but good Irish bread. Overall: good bang for modest bucks and no complaints to share.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloudseleyshovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hotel is conveniently located on Eyre Square and is easy walking distance to all the shops and cafes of the pedestrian mall on Shop St. An adequate breakfast was included, but the room it is served in is small and loud. Our room was decent and the bed was pretty comfortable...too bad we couldn't sleep in it for all the cigarette smoke rolling under the door all night. When I called the desk she confirmed that this is indeed a nonsmoking hotel but that people do sneak smokes out the window and "there wasn't anything they could do about it". The hallway was full of smoke and in my opinion there was plenty the manager could have done but didn't. We had a voucher for this hotel so I don't know how much they charged. I'm sure there has to be better than this in Galway.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#30 of 45 in Galway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#28 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Galway

Property: Imperial Hotel Galway
Address: 35 Eyre Square | Galway City, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits all visitors to the Imperial Hotel, with it's impressive location on Eyre Square in the Heart of Galway City. Within walking distance of the Train/Bus Station and Galway University(NUIG).The Imperial Hotel Galway City is the height of modern comfort. Every care has been taken to ensure guests feel right at home. We are the gate way to all that the West of Ireland has to offer with day trips arranged from the reception of the hotel. We offer a great selection of Accommodation types to suit all of your needs from rooms to accommodate 2 to 4 people. Excellent food is served in our Bar/Restaurant from 10am till 9pm. A short walk from the Imperial Hotel will bring you down the winding streets of Galway City onto the water front of Spanish Arch and the Claddagh region with plenty of shops/pubs & Restaurants on the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing