We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best hotel in galway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Galway
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best hotel in galway”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

i stayed here paddies weekend with my husband an 2 kids. its a very clean hotel, all staff are very helpful. hotel in the heart off galway. would recommend to anyone very inpressed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aishling m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    219
    159
    56
    38
See reviews for
83
223
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Great location, and great hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly. Eyre square and Shop street on your doorstep.
Rooms simple and clean.
Breakfast was a bonus, tasty and great start to the day.
Would def stay again, planning on a return trip soon.
Loretta, Sydney

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loretta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I stayed here with my partner and son and whiel the staff were pleasant enough, the rooms were very old and dated. Food wasnt up to much either.

The only good thing going for this hotel is the location as its very central but then so are lots of hotels in Galway

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just back from a hen weekend at the Imperial Hotel. Location is brilliant. Staff are all helpful & friendly. Rooms are basic but have everything you need, afterall in a busy city like Galway all you need the room for is to sleep!! Continental breakfast to be honest isn't that exciting but enuf to take the hunger off you. Supermac's next door or cooked payable breakfast available in hotel restaurant. Ate in hotel restaurant on 1st night & there were 15 of us. Everyone was happy with the menu & the food was lovely. Good value for money, would go back to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed for a stag... Staff nice, location excellent but ats all downhill after that... Had to stay with breakfast included... No option for room only... Breakfast typical overpriced continental style... hotel style is a modern bar and reception but rooms and corridors need some fresh air and updating... I don't think I'll be back... Not good value for money... But then again if its location and a bed... You could do worse ... Its also beside the first supermacs in Ireland... There's a unique selling point if ever there was one

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazman_0079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galway hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Staying there 1 night only. But more than enough to find out that - it was first & last time. Only good thing is the location. In the middle of everything - town square with train station just 5 minutes walk. Rooms clean and basic - but very small and more less no windows at all. Biggest dissapointment is the price and breakfast. Out of season (february) 110,- euro per simply double room with very poor breakfast its a RIP OFF. Breakfast included only: Toast and soda bread,(with option to burn it to DEAD BLACK on toaster set on max heat only), croissants, boiled eggs, jam and butter, white and red cheddar cheese, slices of ham and salama, Bewleys coffee and tea, 4x juice from the machine, bananas. Thats it. Nothing less-nothing more. ( Nothing fried or something more IRISH... ) There is no parking space at the front-just taxi stays there-not sure about the back entrance. The staff is OK, cleaners friendly.

Room Tip: Better find any other hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob2010_SVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed here in January for a girls weekend away. Got the lift up from reception and then a good hefty walk through 3 sets of double doors to our rooms. Bad starting point was the white sheets on the second bed had a big black stain on it, I called housekeeping and they obliged straight away and changed the sheets. Room itself was fairly average, bit worn and not much redecorating done in recent years! Bathroom quite aged, no toiletries provided except a shampoo and shower gel pump in the shower, shower curtain was also worn and stained. Breakfast was disappointing in that there was no full Irish, it was a continental which we didn't find out until we sat down that morning. Overall a pleasant stay here but very basic, we were lucky and got a very good deal for 2 nights but I would not pay the standard rates they were charging. Saying all that, if location is key to your stay then this is right on eyre square, within walking distance to pubs and restaurants, which is definitely a big plus!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traceycork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#27 of 45 in Galway
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#28 of 45 in Galway
477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#33 of 45 in Galway
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 45 in Galway
876 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#30 of 45 in Galway
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Galway

Property: Imperial Hotel Galway
Address: 35 Eyre Square | Galway City, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits all visitors to the Imperial Hotel, with it's impressive location on Eyre Square in the Heart of Galway City. Within walking distance of the Train/Bus Station and Galway University(NUIG).The Imperial Hotel Galway City is the height of modern comfort. Every care has been taken to ensure guests feel right at home. We are the gate way to all that the West of Ireland has to offer with day trips arranged from the reception of the hotel. We offer a great selection of Accommodation types to suit all of your needs from rooms to accommodate 2 to 4 people. Excellent food is served in our Bar/Restaurant from 10am till 9pm. A short walk from the Imperial Hotel will bring you down the winding streets of Galway City onto the water front of Spanish Arch and the Claddagh region with plenty of shops/pubs & Restaurants on the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing