We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, let down by some staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Galway
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, let down by some staff”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We just recently stayed in the Imperial as a party of four. We are regular visitors to Galway city, and having reaslied we had not yet stayed in the Imperial, we decided to give it a go. I think we have stayed in most Galway city hotels now, and this is definitely bottom of my list unfortunately. Thank goodness I got a good deal through a third party website, otherwise I would have been a lot more upset...The location is great, but some of the staff really let the place down. We arrived in reception waiting to check in, when all we were met with was a head sticking around the corner asking us what we wanted! This particular staff member was totally disinterested in us. Now I'm not one of these people that expect the reception staff to be bending over backwards, but a simple smile or even a hello would have been nice. It really set a poor tone for our stay, and as soon as we turned around the corner, all 3 others in my party remarked on how strange our check-in process had been, and how disinterested and borderline rude the receptionist had been.
The hotel itself is fine with regard to rooms and facilities, maybe needs a spruce up here and there in terms of decor, but for what we paid I found it okay.
The staff we encountered in the morning were a bit more pleasant, but to be honest I doubt if we would return here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KeldaWelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    225
    162
    56
    38
See reviews for
84
226
44
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

i was in galway with friends over christmas we met in eyre square as it was handy for all of us,we decided to go to the imperial for a drink we walked in to bar area and were met by probably the rudest bar man i have ever come across we were 3 mature respectable men in for one drink and the way we were spoken to by this person was down right shameful sad really..we will never return to this place again stay away

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank joe o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galway hotels

Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed there one night with girlfriend , earlier this year overall a very unremarkable hotel, some of the staff are very rude and i would avoid staying there again.
A bit of a tourist trap.
Hopefully it has improved since, as its a great location .
But when staff are almost loutish its not good for irish tourism.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rockfield1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed at the Imperial for a staff Christmas weekend. The location was handy to the train station, shopping and pubs. The continental breakfast was okay and offered a small selection of cheeses and cold meats. We had a very spacious, clean room with three singles, and huge bathroom. The carpets looked to be new and you could smell fresh paint on the 2nd floor. The residents bar appeared busy both nights we were there. The staff at the front desk were excellent at check-in.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the back which we figured would be quiet. Unfortunately, early both mornings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maura Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This hotel has a great location, however when comparing to many similar priced hotels in same vicinity it did fall down on a number of areas. our room was very cold, it was in at the back of the hotel, through numerous freezing cold hallways! despite asking 4 times over weekend for heating to be turned up / the air con to be put on warm, this did not happen. On one occasion a manager was to call to our room to sort it out... wonder did he/ she turn up yet? To be honest the staff didn't give a care. The staff on reception were inattentive and aloof, some training in cusomer service wouldn't go astray! The self-service breakfast dining area was grubby and could have been staffed better, it just didn't seem that clean. As a regular visitor to Galway, i would advise unless you are travelling as part of a group / party, check out the other smaller hotels dotted around eyre square, at least you will feel welcome, and be listened to.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ei80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I have to say we enjoyed our stay. Good size room comforable bed, very clean room breakfast was good, (you can get an irish fry up in the bar all day if you want i think its €8) nice staff, i would recommend this hotel to anyone, yes its city centre of course there will be noise what else would you expect in any city in the world. Every thing is on your door step from pubs, shops & restaurants even Galway bay is a 10 min walk away. Excellent rates for being in the heart of the city what more could you ask for. Staff are very down to earth but very good at helping and making sure everything is okay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Everything was good, bed , size of the room excellent and bathroom facilities and breakfast good as well. One comment : i do not think it is neccesary to have clean twowels evrey day, they might give the option to use it more day,s if the customer wants it. Better for the environment!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Marion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#28 of 46 in Galway
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#27 of 46 in Galway
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#33 of 46 in Galway
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
887 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#32 of 46 in Galway
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Galway

Property: Imperial Hotel Galway
Address: 35 Eyre Square | Galway City, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits all visitors to the Imperial Hotel, with it's impressive location on Eyre Square in the Heart of Galway City. Within walking distance of the Train/Bus Station and Galway University(NUIG).The Imperial Hotel Galway City is the height of modern comfort. Every care has been taken to ensure guests feel right at home. We are the gate way to all that the West of Ireland has to offer with day trips arranged from the reception of the hotel. We offer a great selection of Accommodation types to suit all of your needs from rooms to accommodate 2 to 4 people. Excellent food is served in our Bar/Restaurant from 10am till 9pm. A short walk from the Imperial Hotel will bring you down the winding streets of Galway City onto the water front of Spanish Arch and the Claddagh region with plenty of shops/pubs & Restaurants on the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Imperial Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing