We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and large rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Galway
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Sydney
Level Contributor
128 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great location and large rooms”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Easy to find & convenient location by Galway's main square. The main train station is just over the other side of the square which is also very convenient. The main pedestrianised shopping strip begins just to the right when walking out of the hotel. As for our room, I'm pretty sure they upgraded us because we only booked a standard room but it was absolutely massive, soo much space to spread out and relax, nice couch, comfy bed, bathroom also very large. If it was an upgrade then it was very nice of the staff to do that without us asking, and if not....then their standard room is very large! Breakfast was included in our rate & was good. There was a bit of construction noise from the neighboring building in the morning so hopefully that won't be going on for too long. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laguida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelgalway, Manager at Imperial Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Laguida,
Thank you for your comments on trip advisor we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us. We have a great team at the Imperial Hotel, Eyre Square, Galway City and I will be delighted to display your review as we do with all reviews on the staff notice board. Hope you had an enjoyable time in Ireland and a safe journey home to the wonderful city that is Sydney - Loved it when I was there..

All the best and hope to see you again at the Imperial Hotel, Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland.

John Gannon
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    214
    157
    56
    38
See reviews for
81
221
37
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I have stayed here a few times over the years and love it have stayed in a few other hotels in galway but always come back here (great craic always had esp in the residents bar) the staff and management are very friendly and very helpful and will go out of their way to help you, the rooms are spacious and clean the beds are comfy and the bathrooms are clean, the hotel is centrally located just minutes walk from train an bus station and close to restaurants and bars, and for late drinks you cant beat the craic in the residents bar its popular with hens andstags so as you can imagene there is plenty of craic to be had, breakfast is good its continental breakfast but theres a fry up available from restaurant if needed, I highly reccomend this hotel for hen/stag party or for a weekend away with ur mates, I will most definatly be returning

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel earlier this week. Our bus got us into Galway around 4 hours prior to the published check in times, we went to drop our bags off and the helpful receptionist managed to check us in early. Our room was massive with a large double and a single bed in our room. The bathroom too was huge with a bath and shower. Unfortunately the cleanliness levels were average.

The hotel is a few minutes walk from the bus/train station and about 5-10 minutes walk from the shops, bars and restaurants.

We came back to the hotel about 11pm and were surprised that the lobby was locked up. The night porter was rather abrupt and short with us, reluctantly letting us have a drink in the bar (and shortly disappearing again after we'd paid)

Breakfast the following morning was a cold buffet, not the best range. Ours was included in the room rate. I wouldn't recommend paying for the breakfast (if not included) there are plenty of places nearby to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

exellent hotel,absolutely loved everything about this hotel from the staff which were brilliant couldn't do enough 4 us ,to the food and athmosphere in the residence bar which was great crack.hotel is very central right across from the train station and supermacs is next door plus lots of other shops.would definately recommend this hotel,loved it and will be staying there next time im in galway.thanks to all the staff at the imperial hotel for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank lorrained484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
161 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

lovely well run hotel right in the centre of galway
food great ,bar is buzzing and a great feeling of people meeting and greeting there
lovely staff and service was excellent
i would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athenry, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Have not stayed in this hotel, but if the food is anything to go by , would be well worth a visit, my wife and I have eaten in the Imperial hotel on a number of times, and have yet to be disappointed , the staff are very friendly, it is clean and bright , and the food is great and not overpriced, would recommend this hotel for dinner .

Room Tip: Multi car park few minutes away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickLeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel could do with a facelift inside. Hasn't been renovated in about 20 years I'd say. Still, you're really paying for the location here - right bang in the middle of Eyre Square. Pricey for the state of the place (€140 per room). Still, it was clean and dry and the bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly. Shower was weak though. After all is said and done, I would stay here again if I was on a stag or needed a central location. Othersie, no.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#28 of 45 in Galway
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#27 of 45 in Galway
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 45 in Galway
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
859 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#29 of 45 in Galway
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#32 of 45 in Galway
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Galway

Property: Imperial Hotel Galway
Address: 35 Eyre Square | Galway City, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits all visitors to the Imperial Hotel, with it's impressive location on Eyre Square in the Heart of Galway City. Within walking distance of the Train/Bus Station and Galway University(NUIG).The Imperial Hotel Galway City is the height of modern comfort. Every care has been taken to ensure guests feel right at home. We are the gate way to all that the West of Ireland has to offer with day trips arranged from the reception of the hotel. We offer a great selection of Accommodation types to suit all of your needs from rooms to accommodate 2 to 4 people. Excellent food is served in our Bar/Restaurant from 10am till 9pm. A short walk from the Imperial Hotel will bring you down the winding streets of Galway City onto the water front of Spanish Arch and the Claddagh region with plenty of shops/pubs & Restaurants on the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing